Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 22 August 2015
One of a genre of books that has flourished over the last few years but a good read nonetheless.
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
It shouldn`t have been written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Trusted Supplier
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Time well spent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
I picked this up as I love real life stories of what special forces and similar actually get up to. This book doesn't disappoint in that regard and the stories come across as honest and authentic. However, to push it on to the next level, the stories and missions recounted who'd have benefitted from more detail and insight to further draw you in. Instead, it can see a bit like it's relying on hearsay but with gaps filled in using the author's experience/imagination to paint the picture.

However, there are some fascinating insights and some great real heroic characters and I've enjoyed reading about them. As said by a previous reviewer, the chapters can be a samey as they follow a similar trend. However, I have found this can also be a strength, as you can finish a chapter and go back into the next one at your leisure when you fancy another chunk of it, so it's good for periodic reading.

Personally, I'd like to have been drawn into the battles/missions a bit more, rather than feeling like I was reading an account, but it's still a good read and respect to the author for all he and his mates encountered, which was pretty darn intense.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
It's so easy to be blase about men who go off and carry the flag into war, but anyone who knows anything about the SAS knows that they are an extraordinary band of truly brave men who earn all the praise they so richly deserve, going about their work in an utterly professional manner and not broadcasting their exploits to the rest of us mere mortals. We owe them a debt of gratitude beyond words. May they continue in their fight against terrorism across the globe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Mr Scholey knew most of the soldiers mentioned here personally and the accounts of exploits, some of which are still mostly unknown to the general public, make for enthralling reading. By telling the stories of those within the SAS of the time, to whom he has given his respect, he lets the public know what a fellow SAS soldier values as true courage. These are the unsung heroes who, it could be argued, deserve to be recognised for their daring and bravery, and yet who remain largely anonymous. They have not sought publicity or to make money out of their time in the SAS, some of them having been SAS career soldiers for many years. What comes across is the modesty and true grit of these men and how much we owe them for their unseen battles on behalf of their country.

A book I can recommend without hesitation for its honesty, the careful research and astonishing stories of true-life experiences. A credit to the author.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2015
This is a remarkable series of stories which demonstrate the uniqueness of those who serve in the SAS. I had the privilege of knowing Pete Scholey in Oman in 1973 (although he won't remember me). He is also a remarkable character who possesses the same characteristics as those who he writes about. I still recall him telling me the story about Kev Walsh (who was also there in '73), who referred to his bullet in the backside as a "shot in his upper thigh". I also visited the site of the crashed Belvedere in Sarawak in the early 80s, where a small memorial stands in tribute to those who were killed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Excellent insight into the extraordinary bravery of our special forces. Many of the conflicts come as a surprise as they are not generally known.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Great tribute to friends and colleagues the author lived and fought with, thank God there are men of such skill and courage
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)