Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit Learn more Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
7
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2017
Bought for and sent to a Gurkha comrade who fought in Burma. He rang me from Kathmandu and said it moved him to tears. He was nevertheless thankful that I got it for him and gave it to him as he had requested. It reminded him of those he left behind and I suspect it was for him, at the age of 94 and in the twilight of his life, an act of remembrance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
I purchased this DVD for my Dad, who served with The 14th Army in Burma during The Second World War - and is very proud of doing so. This DVD looks at things from a totally different angle and perspective and contains mostly interviews with Burma Vererans, rather that footage of the War. Having said that, the interviews are very moving and emotional and it is quite clear that all the men who served in Burma are also very proud to have done so.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
As the son of a Burma Veteran I was privileged to attend the premiere of this film in Wolverhampton a year ago. The event was attended by many Burma Veterans, including the Honorary National President of The Burma Star Association. This film is very moving in that it tells the story of several people who wanted to know just what their fathers/grandfathers had been through in this the longest and hardest campaign of WWII. It also features several interviews with surviving veterans who even now find it very difficult to tell their stories, especially the horrors so many of them witnessed. As an Honorary Friend Member of The Burma Star Association having the very great privilege to have met and still meet and talk to veterans in Birmingham, I can very highly recommend this film to all. This should be made available to schools throughout the country as a really good account of what these brave men endured. Having met the producer of this film I know that the project started out as an investigation into his relatives service in Burma which then became a labour of love and thurned into the film now available. Do buy it, watch it, and remember the "Forgotten XIV Army".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
The content of the DVD was very good, however the quality of the DVD was very poor. There is a constant buzzing sound throughout and this spoiled the entire experience. A shame as I bought this as a gift for a person whose father was in Burma during the War.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
To much spent on the Worstershire Regiment and very little on Ops Longcloth andThursday.
would not recommend.Should show more detailto the fighting conditions that the Chindit foot soldier had to go to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
I cannot comment on the content of this DVD as it was bought as a present - however, it arrived very promptly & I am sure will be well received
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)