Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
6
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A clever pairing by Edsel of the UK - Todd's Prog Rock masterpiece "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" from 1974 and "Another Live" - the atmospheric live album that followed in 1975 - that concentrated primarily on new material from within the same 'Utopia' band. But as one reviewer has pointed out - there's a mastering error on the "The Ikon" from "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" that's been carried over from the 1990 Rhino Remaster CD of old. But frankly Frank - it lasts five seconds at the most and I can live with it. Here are the Freedom Fighters and Freak Parades...

UK released 27 February 2012 (6 March 2012 in the USA) - "Todd Rundgren's Utopia/Another Live" by TODD RUNDGREN’S UTOPIA on Edsel EDSD 2127 (Barcode 740155212735) is a 'Collector's Edition' that offers straightforward transfers of 2LPs (1974 and 1975) onto 2CDs and plays out as follows:

Disc 1 (59:22 minutes):
1. Utopia
2. Freak Parade
3. Freedom Fighters
4. The Ikon [Side 2]
Tracks 1 to 4 are the album "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" by TODD RUNDGREN'S UTOPIA - released November 1974 in the USA on Bearsville BS 6954 and November 1974 in the UK on Bearsville K 55501. Produced and Engineered by TODD RUNDGREN - it peaked at No. 34 in the USA (didn't chart in Britain). "Utopia" (aka "Utopia Theme") was recorded live at The Fox Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia in November 1973 - the rest of the album is studio.

The Band:
TODD RUNDGREN - Guitars and Vocals
MOOGY KLINGMAN - Keyboards
(Jean-Yves) M. FROG LABAT - Synthesizers
RALPH SCHUCKETT - Keyboards
JOHN SIEGLER - Bass and Cello
KEVIN ELLMAN - Percussion

Disc 2 (46:09 minutes):
1. Another Life
2. The Wheel
3. The Seven Rays
4. Intro/Mister Triscuits
5. Something's Coming
6. Heavy Metal Kids
7. Do Ya
8. Just One Victory
Tracks 1 to 8 are the album "Another Live" by TODD RUNDGREN'S UTOPIA - released November 1975 in the USA on Bearsville BS 6961 and October 1975 in the UK on Bearsville K 55508. Produced by TODD RUNDGREN - it peaked at No. 66 in the USA (didn't chart in Britain).

The Band:
TODD RUNDGREN - Guitar and Vocals
ROGER POWELL - Moog Synthesiser, Trumpet and Vocals
RALPH SCHUCKETT – Keyboards, Accordion and Vocals
MOOGY KLINGMAN – Keyboards, Harmonica, Glockenspiel and Vocals
JOHN SIEGLER - Bass
JOHN WILCOX - Drums
DAVID LASLEY, ARNOLD McCULLER and PHILLIP BALLOU - Backing Vocals

The 20-page booklet is a fabulous thing to look at – original artwork, press clippings, band photos, trade adverts, live shots, lyrics, concert posters – and all of it washed down with new liner notes from Rundgren expert PAUL MYERS – Author of "A Wizard A True Star: Todd Rundgren In The Studio". Although its credited at a PHIL KINRADE master (at Alchemy) - Edsel have used and licensed the Rhino 1990 Remasters complete as we've already said with a mastering error on "The Ikon" between 16:15 and 16:20 minutes where the music pours into the right speaker for five seconds in a very bad panning mistake. Personally I can live with it - but I can wholly understand the rage of fans that could have expected Edsel to notice this and perhaps correct it (their reissues are normally spot on). As the February 2016 "Bearsville Albums Collection" Box Set for Todd Rundgren 'doesn't' include Utopia material - original 1990 Rhino and 2012 Edsel reissues appear to be the only place you can get the "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" album digitally – and both with the mastering error. There are no Audio issues with the "Another Live" set. To the music...

When I bought "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" in November 1974 on Vinyl – I was already steeped in ELP, Yes, Genesis, Camel, Van Der Graaf Generator, East Of Eden, Greenslade and god knows what all from the preceding five years. Its long tracks didn’t make my musical resolve buckle - in fact I found it utterly mesmerising. I loved everything about the LP - the cover art - the virtuoso playing – the hippy-babble lyrics that talked of inner exploration - never mind the sheer deluge of musical ideas and themes going on in Side Two’s 30-minute opus "The Ikon". Along with "The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway", Greenslade's "Spyglass Guest" and "Relayer" by Yes (all 1974) - Rundgren's first "Utopia" LP represented the height of Progressive Rock for me (and the end of its golden era too). It still feels that way.

It opens with "Utopia" (co-written with Dave Mason) – a difficult 13-minute guitar driven Progster recorded live in Atlanta, Georgia at The Fox Theatre – a full year prior to the album's release. The three/four minute Todd Rundgren "I Saw The Light” pop songs of old had gone for good - and in their place had come 'exploratory' pieces – many of enormous length and complexity and primarily based around his guitar and a bank of four uber-fluent keyboard players - Moogy Klingman, Ralph Schuckett, M. Frog Labat and Roger Powell (Powell would join him for the live set and all Utopia albums afterwards). Given that it was not the norm – huge guitar passages that had more to do with Zappa than the Brill Building - the crowd’s roar of approval reaction at the end of "Utopia" with it's "City In My Head" lyrics is celebratory – like they’d heard the beginnings of something new and exciting. As the crowd applause fades at the beginning of "Freak Parade" we segue into a brilliant funky keyboard riff that's very Stevie Wonder but soon settles into a drunk Bluesy guitar thing. It's 10:18-minutes chops and changes from slow to Rock to Funky and are utterly brilliant. The four-minute riffage of "Freedom Fighters" is the nearest the album comes to what could have been a single - but it's "Soldier Of The Mind" lyrics and manic pace and wall-of-sound production keep it firmly in the 'we don't play this Progressive stuff on the radio' category.

But then comes the monster - the 30-minute Side 2 magnum - "The Ikon". Because they owned the studio - they spent months preparing the multiple segments before recording and editing the lot. There are fast parts - slow parts - trippy parts - freak-out passages - finally ending in an instrument-builder passage like Mike Oldfield's "Tubular Bells" did. I can't be rational about - as a Progressive Rock piece its without peer - think "The Gates Of Delirium" from "Relayer" only 10 minutes longer and musically more imaginative. According to the liner notes there's another 30 or 40 minutes of it that couldn't be fitted onto an almost 60-minute vinyl LP (unheard of at the time). I once inflicted this 30-minute density on The Grove in Clontarf before the dancing proper started (forgive me Cecil)...

After the hard work of "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" - the "Another Live" set comes as a clever musical counterpoint. Mostly all new material recorded 'live' instead of in the studio to give it that 'oomph' – but as far as I'm concerned it only partially worked. This is one of those infuriating live records that could have been a masterpiece but doesn't get there. But man-oh-man that good stuff. "Another Live" has moments of undoubted brilliance like "The Wheel" and stunning emotional finisher "Just One Victory" and even features a cool cover of The Move’s “Do Ya”.

The album opens with the trippy Brass Funk of "Another Life" complete with backing Singers and Roger Powell giving some Herb Alpert on the Trumpet as Todd sings of "...certain things affect me certain ways..." But that's soundly trumped by the beautiful melody in "The Wheel". As the crowd are settling and shouting from the excitement of the previous Prog Rocker - Rundgren is impervious to their demands and opens with an Acoustic Guitar. The gorgeous lullaby is soon joined by Moogy Klingman giving it some Fred Neil Harmonica while Powell adds Trumpet and Schuckett does a fairground Accordion refrain as the 'Ferris Wheel' lyrics eventually have the crowd clapping - Rundgren going Acapella for the final passage to huge applause. Although "Seven Rays" is good - you wish it had been a studio recording because somehow this live version lacks something despite its jaunty disposition.

We enter Mahavishnu Orchestra Fusion with the wild keyboard soloing of "Intro/Mister Triscuits" that is both brilliant and dreadfully self-indulgent at one and the same time. This bizarrely but effectively segues into Leonard Bernstein's "Something's Coming" from "West Side Story" which I feel is a cover to far no matter how much fun it must have been to arrange and play. We return to 1974's "Todd" double album for the hard-hitting "Heavy Metal Kids" which features a wild guitar solo and they then do an excellent cover of Jeff Lynne's "Do Ya" (the B-side of "California Man" from 1972 by The Move). But the whole record is redeemed by a fabulous live version of that "A Wizard, A True Star" classic "Just One Victory" where the layered vocals are so well done. The crowd feels it all the way as he sings "...we've been praying for it all day...give us just one victory...and we're on our way..."

To sum up - a clever pairing of albums even if it is a mixed batch of genius, knob and self-indulgence. And sloppy mastering error or no - I love it.

As the pre-amble liner notes to "The Ikon" on the back cover of the "Todd Rundgren's Utopia" LP says - "...men discover themselves to be mankind and joyfully begin to adjust their thinking along these lines..." Amen to that baby...
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
The music, particularly on "Todd Rundgren's Utopia", is outstanding. Somehow this band manages to maintain sufficient discipline to make blistering music without disappearing too far into the ether. However, a previous CD release of this album (the Rhino edition) had a mastering fault during "The Ikon" (around 16:15) where the music leaps in volume in the right channel for a few seconds and drops back down again. Someone obviously upped the volume to check something while they were editing the recording and failed to drop it back down again. This Edsel edition retains that fault and it is such a stupid, irritating flaw to my ears that I cannot tolerate this CD in my house.
Was it an original production idea? No - I've listened back to my vinyl copy and there is no volume leap there. Is there a CD version without this flaw? I don't know - I haven't heard them all. I can only imagine that Todd Rundgren has no control over these products and his music is at the mercy of inept mastering rooms and idiot engineers.
As you can see, I'm fuming.
If you can listen to this music and accept the mastering flaw as an interesting "feature" then you will hear the kind of music that musicians in the 70s aspired to, with an element of spirituality, a proportion of free playing and some wonderful melodies. Todd is one of the great songwriters of the 70s and an incendiary guitarist to boot.
So, Five Stars for the music minus four for whoever messed up the master.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Just a great live album, listened to endlessly while revising 40ish years ago. Never tired of the music esp Another,rate alongside Who Live at Leeds. But remember this is American rock and the culture was very different to the Brits in the 70's so open mind please. Recommended
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Todd cranks the guitar up on Utopia, and this is the first Todd Rundgren's Utopia album, played it to death on vinyl, so when these to releases came out together i had to get them. Another Live is not as heavy, but has some great tunes throughout.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I bought both of these as vinyl on release (they are probably still cluttering my mums attic as I write)

Until this purchase I doubt I had listened to either album in over a quarter of a century and I was a bit dubious but, I needn't have worried, they still sound fabulous. I don't remember particularly liking side 2 of Utopia at the time but now it really does seem to buzz with ideas.

If you're a Todd fan you'll already know that these (particularly Utopia) were a challenging departure from their immediate predecessors and - if you're relatively new to Todd - don't go expecting Something/Anything? style ballads and power pop 'cos it ain't here! But these incarnations of Utopia also revisited the earlier material, live, and anyone who saw them at Hammersmith in November '75 will testify that this was a great, great Todd band: "Another Live" bears this out

Unfortunately after the next couple of studio albums (Initiation and Faithful) which are both worth a gander the Utopia experiment went totally, in MHO, prog-untastic ("Singring and the Glass Guitar", anyone?). Skip them and re-board the train at Hermit.

Sorry wittered on there. This release is well worth buying if you have any interest at all in one of rock's great genii!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
I loved these albums when they first came out - I still do! Timeless masterpeices by a genius rock band
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)