Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2017
the history of the plantagenets from the normans to Richard II covered in great detail. Every person and event of importance is covered and the various powerplays are explained in an easy to understand fashion and placed in their geo-political context be it English or international. Very well written and an easy and pleasurable book to read.
Dan Jones brings history to life with this book. He is equal to david starkey when it comes to knowing his subject. Great Value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
I love history books and this one was great. I found it hard to put down and quite riveting in places. I've never read a dan Jones book before though I have watched him on TV. He's up there now in my top 3 history authors with Morris and Mortimer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
The idea of trawling my way through such history was made easier by Dan Jones style that kept the facts at the pace of the narrative, never overloading or going off at a tangent. I found the story a bit repetitive, but history is unfortunately when broken down a set of familiar failings or weaknesses repeated. Very interesting to see the evolving parliamentarians hold over the thrones of England.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
I bought this book because recent television series among other things have made me aware of my lack of any detailed knowledge of English history before the Tudors. The Plantagenets met my need admirably It is both informative and very readable. My only slight reservation is that I would have liked a bit more about the social and cultural context of the royal events so admirably described. I do hope Jones fulfils his promise of a sequel covering the Lancastrians and the Wars of the Roses
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Easy to read through with a lot of detail but not to the extent that the reader is overwhelmed. The drama of the rise,falls and scandle are incredible and make it a real page turner - who needs Game of Thrones hey!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Great book. Well written. A little long and, because that's how these kings liked it to be, complex at times. Highly recommend to any game of thrones fan, this really is the original story. Along with the Greeks of course...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
This is a fun, interesting narrative and (spot the platitude) a real page turner. The muddled interests and political machinations of the past are rendered with clarity and zest. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
Copy received in brilliant condition. Very thorough book and informative of each period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
A well written account of a fascinating period in British history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)