Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
Mishaps Happening
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.99

on 7 November 2014
Quantic at his best. Fabulous vinyl album. Cannot stop playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2004
There is no doubt that Will Holland, aka Quantic, is an extremely creative and talented individual. Already having two albums under his Quantic moniker, as well as one album with The Quantic Soul Orchestra and one album with The Limb Twins (i.e. Will Holland and Russel Porter), his third solo album sees Quantic collaborating with names like the funk-soul vocalist Spanky Wilson, ragga-inspired vocalist Sonny Kaplins, French MC Trinidad and Tru Thought's soulful Alice Russell (soon to release her first solo album). What is quite remarkable is that Quantic plays most instruments, including guitar, bass, tenor saxophone etc.
Mishaps Happening is musically diverse, yet the funk element is manifest throughout the album. Alice Rusell provides lead vocals for the excellent "Sound of everything" and the ethereal "So long" and also performs vocals for the title track "Mishaps Happening" and the superbly arranged "Prelude to happening". French hiphop is being offered in "En focus", which fits nicely in the album. "Angels and Albatrosses" is a very interesting downtempo track with - somewhat - oriental orchestrations. My favourite track has to be "Don't joke with a hungry man". Fantastic basslines, incredible chorus and the voice of Spanky Wilson is plain funky! In a similar vibe is "When you're through" again featuring Spanky Wilson. The rest of the tracks I haven't mentioned (4 in total), in my opinion lack imagination although they adequately fill the album, hence the 4 stars!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2016
A great album by Will Holland. I have 3 of his albums so far and this is probably my 2nd fav one. Nice latin beats and up tempo flavours, a splash of hiphop and some chilled beat based percussion numbers. It's vibrant and energetic and full of in the face colour which is original sounding. My fav of the albums I have is 'Stampede'. I feel that is a complete and accomplished album which just sounds fresh from start to finish. So, by all means grab this and that one as you can't gor wrong. The complicated rhythms and beats will have you creating dance moves you may never have attempted before. Plus some latin style cocktails may go down well with this. Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2004
I stumbled over Quantic with their previous album "Stampede" and was very pleased with that. So I had no hesitation in buying this one. It's got the funk feel of the 70's whilst it's feet are firmly planted here in 2004! Track 11 (Perception) is pratically a drum 'n' bass track but funky!
So if you have enjoyed listening to their previous work you'll love this. This is music for the more discerning funk listener who wants 70's vibes delivered in todays club dominated society.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2004
Mishaps is the latest in a line for great albums from the genius boy that is Quantic. This dude has been knocking out quality funky chillout music for the past few years now and this is up to the same superb standard as before.
He combines the usual lazy beats with an extra element of funkiness and jazziness which makes for perfect evening relaxation. Quite simply, a must-have.
If you liked his earlier work, then get this CD right now. If you've not got into Quantic yet, then I suggest you start collecting...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2005
I stumbled across quantic last year by reading Amazon reviews and I am pleased I did. I have the first two albums, both are very good and get a lot of air play.
While the previous albums contain the odd bum track, Mishaps Happening is very consistent with a quality eclectic mix of tracks which really capture the imagination. Tracks like 'Angels and Albatrosses' would fit in perfectly with a majestic long distance camel ride though the Sahara. Whereas 'Perception' is more in line with a banging D&B club classic. I'm afraid I didn't appreciate Trinidad's contribution, and the album would have been better if it was omitted from the track listing. I would like to give it 4.5 stars as a result but will round it up to 5 anyway because the rest is so faultess. I'll just skip over track four!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2004
Wow! This is a superb release by Quantic. A perfect blend of Jazz piano loops, funky brass sections and basslines on top of these amazing drumbeats and percussions programming.
A few guest singers and a rapper add a touch of soul to this already warm music.
Quantic's Mishaps Happening will make you want to dance and get down; If you like soul music and have a taste for crispy beats, then you will love this album. It definitely puts you in a great mood; I'll definitely use this in a party. Worth every penny!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2005
If you haven't yet dicovered the delights of Will Holland (Mr Quantic himself) then there's no time to lose! The guy is quite simply on another level, he cannot be compared to or bettered!
My first insight to his talents came through a friends recomendation of Quantic Soul Orchestra's 'Stampede' and there has been no turning back, needless to say that it and his other gems were soon quickley purchased.
How can you describe his grooves? Dusty-funky-jazzy, soulful and generally feel-good! OK, I gave it quite a few labels but it's true, silp on an album and be taken on a journey you will just keep on wanting to ride! Definately an genre for all ages - do yourself a favour and buy this or any other Quantic album, you will not be disappointed! Go on, you deserve it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2011
É com grande agrado que dou os parabéns à loja pela excelente condição que vinha o cd que encomendei. Farei mais compras, certamente... :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2014
Great album, good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

1000 Watts
£3.49
Pushin On
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here