Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
24
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£14.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 February 2012
In case you hadn't noticed, and ex-Beatles has put out a new album. And, no, it's not the ex-bass player, it's the ex-drummer. Yes, indeed, Ringo Starr has just released his seventeenth solo album (really), and as befits a man in his seventies, it's got nine tracks, and would easily fit on two sides of vinyl. So, a small smattering of applause, even before it's been played.

It's a Ringo album that could have come from any point in time, but specifically, the "Ringo", "Goodnight Vienna", "Ringo's Rotogravure" years. Which means it's amiable seventies soft rock, with a smattering of country, blues and rock'n'roll splashed about hither and thither. To this end, he's played the Ringo card, and called up a whole bunch of well known musos to make sure that, at the very least, it's well performed. So say hallo to the likes of Joe Walsh, Benmont Tench, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Dave Stewart, Don Was, Van Dyke Parks and Edgar Winter.

With the exception of a run through the Buddy Holly tune 'Think It Over' and the good old Trad Arr 'Rock Island Line', it's all Ringo co-written, with some big time writers along for the ride. So, Glen Ballard, Van Dyke Parks, Dave Stewart and Joe Walsh pop up amongst the credits. For some reason he's seen fit to revisit two of his old songs in the shape of 'Wings', which first appeared on "Ringo the 4th" in 1977 and 'Step Lightly' from "Ringo" in 1973. Which actually cuts it down to five new songs.

Apart from 'In Liverpool', an appalling piece of doggerel, there isn't anything to actively dislike here. It's all smiley, smiley, matey, matey, no frills seventies rock, with the only real standout, his cover of 'Rock Island Line', which has a life and vigour lacking elsewhere. The lyrics are what you would expect from a peace sign giving tax exile, and his voice still has a nasally charm. Maybe he should go all the way, and link up with The Jive Aces, to make his eighteenth album a skiffle one! Get Joe Brown in, and I'd be buying it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Great item.fast delivery. Very good quality. I am very happy with this product. Wont mind buying another one if needed. Thanks very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
Ringo is never going to be Bob Dylan or Deep Purple...or the Beatles!
But what he does do, is give fun, easy listening music and thats what we get here. His last six or seven albums have been pretty consistant with their quality and this one is with them.
Give this a few listens and you will find it enjoyable, if you want to!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
I like ringo I`m playing this in a few months time looking forward to listen too this my really good choice
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
Wonderful product!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
With its cheapskate sleeve,lack of a sleeve note and less than 10 tracks this is the new Ringo album
The inclusion of Think it Over is a bad move as its just been issued on the Pater Asher CD of Holly covers
Surely somebody should have told him there's already a song called Slow Down-which HE played on!!
However this is his Freddy Cannon moment-the standout song from the CD
Maybe Ringo's next album should be of Freddy Cannon covers
If you think of this as a glorified EP it may give you an idea of what to expect.
Disappointing really as there's many great covers on the unissued and bootleg only of the Memphis Sessions and I don't think Old Wave was ever issued here
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
This man was my Childhood hero.Some liked Paul, John and even George... Me I like 'Our Richie!!' Not a great singer but can hold a good tune but a great drummer in one of the Best bands in the UNIVERSE (Next to the Beach Boys)
This man will soon be 72 but he can still cut it still looks good and still produces some fine songs and some fine albums.
All his albums are good rockers (thats what he does best)
Hes a Cancerian like me so he must be a nice guy in real life. Ive loved him since i was 9 and I still do Ringo...in 2012!! xx Buy It!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
I've bought all of Ringo's albums so I was always going to buy this one. Unusually, I read the earlier reviews on here before making my purchase and I was dreading playing the CD when it arrived. Whilst, as others have said, it does have that feeling of "this'll do", the album wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be and, personally, I prefer it to McCartney's "Kisses On The Bottom" - not that that's saying much! All of the tracks are sort-of 'OK', with the tunes and lyrics as unimaginative and clichéd as we've come to expect from Ringo. Fortunately for him, he's got mates prepared to lend their talents to perk things up a bit. Being as short as the album is (under 29 minutes) is, actually, no bad thing!

A lot of the time, it's hard to believe that he was a member of a group who CARED A LOT about their output and his 'make do' attitude to a lot of his own output is disappointing and frustrating. Even his drumming - a long way from the inventiveness he delivered when in The Beatles - sounds bland. His fans who have stood by him deserve better. It just feels like we're being taken for a ride to top up his bank balance...[...and he won't even sign an autograph for us!...]

I wish George and John were still around to help him out. As they're not, I just wish Ringo would retire - or, if he still has the capability, make one fantastic 'swansong' album (perhaps with Paul) and then jack it in. Paul as well. With almost every new album, Ringo and Paul are simply tainting the legacy of The Beatles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Item as described. Excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Fantastic album by the legend that is Ringo Starr! This album has some great songs, highly recommended for any Ringo or Beatles fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.90

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)