Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Veiled Alliances
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


on 5 August 2016
I really liked the first Saga series and have read many of Anderson's other books such as the Dune series. I maintained an interest in the books, that were entertaining enough, but to be honest I felt let down. It is good on one part to have cliff hangers at the end of each book and Anderson is a master of a surprise. Rather than rely on a previous synopsis of the story at the beginning of each book he feels that his readers have very poor memory. Just in case you have forgotten some of the story or relevent charaters, the writer seems to want to remind you of details several times over even to the point where he references events that were detailed several chapters previously. I found this to really drag the pace of the book. It feels like the writer has been either paid per word or that he feels the readers need continual reminders due to memory loss issues. In conclusion there is a large amount of excess fat that could be easily cut from all of the books to maintain interest. Sorry to say that this has made reading of the books more of a chore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
The prequel is written in the same style as the rest of the series, character driven chapters that weave differing story lines together over time. There is quite a bit of repetition and very little that is new if you have read the full series, but would be a great intro if you wanted to read the whole series.

My only disappointment is that after getting to 79% on my Kindle, it was finished. The rest contained "ads" for other books and a comment from KA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2005
If you're a fan of The Saga of Seven Suns novels and you're not averse to reading a 'comic', then this is a good buy. Filled with truly lush artwork, 'Veiled Alliances' serves as a prequel of sorts to the books and brings to vivid life Kevin Anderson's imaginitive worlds - Theroc, Ildira and the future Earth. Being a prequel, most of the characters of the later books don't appear but the tone, political shenanigans and interstellar strife are all present and correct. Highlights include the scheming Basil Wencelas' predecessor (Malcolm Stannis) pulling all the strings in the royal palace (a tradition that carries over into the novels)and the genesis of the experiments on Dobro are revealed. For me, the graphic novel was also a bonus just to see these fantastic worlds and characters of Anderson's brought to life in another media. Recommended!
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
A great prequel type novel to the Seven Suns Saga. Must read for those who are fans and recommended as a first read if you're interested in the entire Saga but haven't yet read any of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Enjoyed it just as much as the full series. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
An ok space opera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
This is the first of his books that I have read. I enjoyed it throughly but it felt short . Maybe to squeeze out a series of them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2016
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
I wouldnt bother paying for these handful of pages, they offered nothing the original books didn't already. It should have been a free book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
excellent read, well paced, easy to follow.
really enjoyed reading it, as I had already read the Saga of the seven suns, would recomend to any sci fi fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse