Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
74
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£34.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2012
A brillant box set of all the 53 epsidoes of the Sarah Jane Adventures.

Excellent extras including Character Descriptions, Gadgets featured in the series, extracts of Audio Books read by Elisabeth Sladen, document on the 11 Doctors, 4 episodes of the 1975 Doctor Who story "Pyramids of Mars", Blue Peter and other interviews with the cast members and lastly an documentary in tribute to Elisabeth Sladen.

A must have for every Doctor Who and Sarah Jane fan who like me misses Elisabeth Sladen.
77 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Our whole family loves this series. My son is a massive Dr Who fan, while my daughter is a bit young for Dr Who, but this is perfect for her. It's really good to watch a children's drama with quality writing, excellent acting and a decent enough budget to achieve plausible special effects. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
The Sarah Jane Adventures is a Brilliant Show, and this boxset contains all 53 Episodes (27 Serials) Here are reviews of all the series.

Series 1: 9/10: A Great Introduction, even if 'Revenge of the Slitheen' is a bit flat. 5/5 Stars. Best Episode: Whatever Happened to Sarah Jane? Worst Episode: Revenge of the Slitheen

Series 2: 7.5/10: A bit of a decline, they could of done more with the departure of Maria, it still was a good series. 4/5 Stars. Best Episode: The Temptation of Sarah Jane Smith: Worst Episode: The Mark of the Beserker

Series 3: 6.6/10: Another decline, unlike the other series where all but maybe one of the serials were good, the only ones that really stood out were The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith and The Eternity Trap: Best Episode: The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith: Worst Episode: Prisoner of the Judoon. 2.8/5 Stars.

Series 4: 8.3/10: This series really picks up the pace. Although the departure of Luke does put things down a bit, this has some new aliens, and some fantastic episodes. Best Episode: Lost in Time: Worst Episode: The Empty Planet
4.3/5 Stars

Series 5: 7.7/10: Sky does take a bit of getting used to, but the final series of The Sarah Jane Adventures is still very good. It would have got 7/10, but the single episode, 'The Curse of Clyde Langer' brings it up to 7.7. Best Episode: The Curse of Clyde Langer: Worst Episode: Sky: 3.8/5 Stars

RIP Elizabeth Sladen!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
What is there NOT to love about this character. We who remember her as a fresh faced, young companion for John Pertwee's Doctor simply have no cause for complaint in this performance in her last years. Elisabeth Sladen the actress will be sorely missed as will Sarah-Jane Smith the character!.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
This was purchased as a gift for my little boy (6yrs) who is obsessed with all things 'Sarah Jane'.
It contains all episodes from all 5 series and some extras including a touching tribute to the late Elizabeth Sladen.
My son is delighted and plays the DVDs no-stop!
Great value for money!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Series 1 to 5 of the Sarah Jane Adventure staring the late and very missed Elisabeth Sladen, The last series is one of the very best of all 5 and im glad they were able to make it before she passed on, from Sarah becoming a new mother to an alien child called Sky to Clyde becoming cursed and have Sarah, Rani and his friend and family turn on him, and then the return of Luke Smith teaming up with his mother, new sister and friends to take on a computer called a SerfBoard and Joseph Serf, it's creator.

It would have been interesting to find out how this series would have ended if Lis had not died but this is not the time for what if's, The Man Who Never Was is a good end to the Sarah Jane Adventures and as the episode says at the end ---------- "And the story goes on... forever
33 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
I love the Sarah Jane Adventures. 12 discs came in this box and it included special features. My ratings for each series are

Series 1:
Best Episode: Whatever happened to Sarah Jane Smith
Worst Episode: None
Series 2:
Best Episode: The Day of The Clown and The Temptation of Sarah Jane Smith
Worst Episode: The Mark of The Beseker
Series 3:
Best Episode: The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith and The Eternity Trap
Worst Episode: None (loved it too much!)
Series 4-
Best Episode: The Nightmare Man, Goodbye Sarah Jane Smith
Worst Episode: The Empty Planet
Series 5-
Best Episode: The Man Who Never Was
Worst Episode: Sky

My favorite series of this boxset are Series 2,3 and pretty much every other one!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
Fabulous complete collection of all the episodes from the show. Great for parents and kids alike with a Doctor Who spin off that is well written, well acted and great for nostalgia. At this price it's great to honour Elisabeth Sladen by watching her in her most famous role.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Bought these for my 6 year old birthday as she loves Dr Who and caught a few of these on CBBC.
She loves them and watches them regularly.
Only niggle is with the DVD numbers, they do not tell you what is on each disc so you have to refer to the inner sleeve which can be tricky at times as the weight of the discs pulls against the sleeve.
Really good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
Absolutely Fantastic. Just sad that the series had to end so abruptly (R.I.P Elisabeth Sladen). From what I have read, the series 5 finale would have been great with the return of the trickster, Jo Jones & her Grandson, even Ace(Dorothy). Sadly we'll never get to see such an episode. Overall this boxset is fantastic, from what I gather all of the discs are simply the discs from the separate series releases. Unfortunately I'm not a fan of the packaging. I prefer the plastic DVD cases (separate or all in one huge case) but I guess this will have to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse