Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
I must say the doctor who apprently christmas specials are not doctor who at ALL they should be called fariy who or something this is not doctor who two years ago then the specials were exelant world class.JUST TO MAKE THIS CLEAR DOCTOR WHO SHOULD NOT BE RELATED TO NARNIA NOT IN ANY TIME.I really regret watching this becouse it ruined christmas day.But it was a good idea turned into rubish.
THE STORY
It is about the doctor crashing on earth in the 1940s and looks after some kids and the doctor as an present makes a land in a box but then the boy opens the present on christmas eve when he should not have and then everything gose wrong.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Matt Smith is/was a great Doctor Who. Inventive, funny, serious and above all totally right for the role.

I feel sorry for him therefore to have been caught up in this puerile slice of stodge. Its AWFUL TV as well as bad Doctor Who.

The Doctor is not a kid's magician, he's a time travelling genius and yet here he is reduced to his lowest ebb.

Nice transfer and sound but oh dear, what was the writer thinking!!!!?
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
If you love Xmas, the Narnia plot, you will love this. The Doctor without the companions, but new chums and a promise he is repaying, will bring a tear at the end !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
Nice story and a great addition to the collection. I have one problem though. The Doctor Who DVD cases are all transparent and this one was a black DVD case? I'm not sure what was going on with that but it's alright as I'm not too crazy on all of the DVD's matching. It arrived early though and is really neat and fits in perfectly to the collection. I would recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
For a long while now Steven Moffat has been getting lazy with his plots and this Christmas "special" seals his reputation as the new master of corny Deus Ex Machina. Just when you believed they couldn't wheel out the "love conquers all" ending again, BBC Cardiff proves you can never have enough of a terrible thing.

I miss the old Doctor Who show, where the Doctor used to actually get put in genuinely threatening situations which he couldn't just cockily extract himself from with a flick of the sonic screwdriver or an exhortation to "believe". It's insulting to the intelligence of the viewer, but moreover, it's just plain boring telly.

Nice visuals, a creepy forest and a touching couple of last minutes are about all the good you'll be able to extract from this story unfortunately.

D- Must try harder.
1919 Comments| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Well I think that the 2011 Christmas Special of Doctor Who was a good episode. I mean some people say that this was not
a PERFECT Christmas special but in general terms I liked it. Once again I think that Matt Smith who is of course playing the nation's favourite Time Lord has stolen the show and he presents his imagination into the character superbly. The cast of the episode was particularly good. The famous faces in this episode that I know of is Claire Skinner who played the character of 'Sue' in the BBC sitcom of Outnumbered a comedian who worked alongside Ben Miller in the Armstrong and Miller Show. He is called Alexander Armstrong and a musician who is called Bill Bailey. There were all good characters. The casting of Madge Arwell's children were slightly average but I did not mind that too much. That is all I will have to say. Overall this a brilliant DVD for collectors who cannot wait when Christmas comes round again or I would recommenced it to any Doctor Who fan who is young or old of the show. Thank you Amazon.co.uk! Four stars all round.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Revamped Narnia story almost, mixing that with a very Christmassy theme during WW 2, some nice comedic scenes, wasn't too impressed with the forest spirits stuff, but still good viewing!!! ;0)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
It's like watching a sci-fi make of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, but better, a Time Lord, and mother who wants her husband back from the dead to help take care of the children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Not the best Christmas special ever but this was a more thoughtful story. Was the ending predictable -- probably but then we don't get many sad endings in the Who universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse