Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2013
I loved Micky Quinn when he was a player and still follow his career now as a horse trainer. I watched him play several times and met him once when he played for Coventry and scored the winner against Arsenal !! He came across as a bit of a lad and who liked his pint , he even got all the Coventry lads to sign my programme .After reading the book i knew the guy i met was the guy this book is all about . He reveals some very low times in his life but he is a fighter and bounced back more than once .Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
Its Ok. Not the most riveting read but it wasnt the most riveting of careers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
As a Newcastle fan I used to quite like Mickey , after reading this I found him selfish , boorish and habitual liar . Sorry Mick no empathy and no sympathy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
I really liked this book. I read a lot of football players' autobiographies and most of them are about as interesting as a stale cracker. This is different. Quinn was a heavily-built striker, slow on his feet but with very quick reactions, who scored a large number of goals for unfashionable clubs or clubs that were in the doldrums when he joined them. As such, he never really gained the respect he deserved. To put it mildly, he was heavily into wine, women and gambling, and the book doesn't pull any punches when it comes to his many excesses. Thankfully he also devotes plenty of attention to the games he played in, what it felt like and what he achieved on the field -- details often lacking in similar books. I would have given this five stars but I agree with the other reviewers that there must be more to the story about the ban the Jockey Club imposed on him. In general, though, I'd highly recommend this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2003
Mick Quinn is not a footballer one would associate with greatness; a few seasons at Newcastle, and a few at Coventry, but this autobiography is a great insight into the life of one of the greatest goalscorers in British Football.
The way Mick Quinn writes is almost like a Liverpudlian Irvine Welsh, and he fits into the writers guise very well.
Throughout the book Mick (and co-writer Oliver Harvey) tell of football before it became the business it is now, he tells of his drinking and gambling habits. But in the end it was football he lived for.
A very honest, and well written book. Definitely recommend
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2003
I remember Quinny at Newcastle, when we signed him I thought he was joke, when he left I felt sorry to see him go as he took with him a piece of history. Quinn was an old style centerforward and a great laugh, I watched him at the Toon and admired his tenacity, unfortunately Keegan did not so he was sent to Coventry quite literally. OK so Keegan was moving onto better things and Quinny did not fit in, but man he was great. I meet him once in the big market after the Toon were beaten one Saturday and Quinny was pretty anonymous through out the game. He was having a pint with some friends and I could not resist saying "Quinny where the hell were you today" and quick as you like he replied " I was the fat B*st*rd in the number nine shirt". That was Micky Quinn king of the one liners and scorer of many a goal. For me Quinny showed that no matter how little skill you had or how unfit you looked you could still make it as a professional footballer by doing one thing well, sticking the ball in the back of net. Micks book is pure class a fun read and will leave you wetting yourself laughing......
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Mr Quinn enjoyed the trappings of a footballer, money, booze, women, beting and horses. And he played football as well. What makes this unusual is that the focus is on the bit of football you don't often read about, the sex, the injuries caused by clowning around, the jokes and enjoying life to the full. A light but honest touch with a bit of family tragedy thrown in just when we get too comfortable.
Well worth reading as an alternative to the usual footballer biography but it does have its down side. Quinn does repeat himself a lot and there are areas (such as mentioned by a previous reviewer) that he does not explore in sufficient detail. I would have liked to had a better view on the Jocky Club ban but this was glossed over.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
You dont have to like football to enjoy this book, but it helps. A great big laugh, with a few sad bits in between, Mick tells a great story, and comes across as a realy likeable, down to earth, hard working guy, who likes a laugh, women, and a pint or two! One of the best football autobiogs around.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2008
A detailed and well-written book about one of the game's legends - a worthy read.

This book was recommended to me by a football loving mate as I am no lover in listening to what most footballers have to say! The subject as his ghost writer have got to grips with the subject's life and even written about the death of his mother in a very touching maner. Quinn can take a joke on himself the story about him being in a supermarker queue with his girlfriend behind two girls who, seeing a headline about Newcastle's new star -signing turn to the back pages of the local newspaper, look at the headline and say "Who the .........is Mickey Quinn." He described himself as being the quickest footballer over one yard and needed only this to be a regular scorer in the top league of English football and a bit of a legend.
This is so much more than the normal ghost-written tat that comes out just before Christmas. It is a thoughtfully written and well-written book and at its end he even tells how much he earned and how much of that he spent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)