Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
27
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2010
I ordered this CD on the strength of the track listing further down the Amazon page. I was pleased to see all the tracks were the same as a vinyl LP I bought in the early sixties. I was very pleased to be able to order a CD version of one of my favourite LPs. Imagine my disappointment when the CD arrived and the cover indicated a totally different set of tracks from that advertised on Amazon.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
Perfect addition to the Wurlitzer a great song in very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2007
Sometimes miracles occur: While walking through a record shop two

years ago I found this Billy Fury CD in a..."give-away basket" that

means practically for nothing. I took it home and listened to it

expecting one of those "rip-off- re-recorded" compilations. Wrong!!

A wonderful set of Billy's greatest hits almost all in full stereo

and most important of all: original recordings. It also holds cover

versions of other hits (very well done by the way) such as "I'll Never

Fall In Love Again", "Our Day Will Come", "Be Mine Tonight" and

"Don't Leave Me This Way".

Of course the title of this CD is misleading "Paradise" and no one

expects his greatest hits which probably is the reason why this was

so underpriced. Get this one quickly - if it's still around - you

won't regret it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Halfway To Paradise
This is a very poor product. The dramatic opening bars from Halfway to Paradise have been ommitted. All the remaining tracks sound as if they have been lifted from a sub-standard cassette player. The original album (LP) notes have not been reproduced. All the tracks, with good quality sound, are still available in various other Billy Fury releases. Listening to to them on other CDs is the best option - this release cannot be recommended.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This album is a must for lovers of early sixties music and athough not as seminal or unique as the Sound of Fury LP it is actually more of an indication of the Billy Fury that most fans became addicted to back then. For a start, although this was just another thrown together budget album to follow the singles collection that was the Billy Fury LP ,it manages to hang together as an album very well. Cross My Heart is a joy that woud have been a massive hit if not hidden away on the reverse of the finest ever version of Halfway To Paradise, Talkin' In My Sleep is superb and the slightly risque Push Push is an excellent cover of the fine Austin Taylor original. No-one else in the UK could have handled Would You Stand By Me in such a superb way and the reworking of the Drifters classic into Your'e Having The Last Dance With Me is atmospheric and works well. The self-penned Fury's Tune is so simplistic yet haunting, made special by Fury's wonderfully emotive vocal style-a style so unique and with such soul in it. The vocal on Stick Around is unfortunately strained but the overall effect is charming, and Billy's ability to so effectively cover so many styles on one album is surprising for one so young. Don't Worry is superb pop-country and deserved to be a bigger hit than it was. This is a classic and essential album for anyone to have in their collection. I came to it late,in 1963 and it's been a life-long favourite ever since.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
Great selection of songs,including songs we don't usually associate with Billy.
Billy had a great voice and was vastly under-rated. Still miss him.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2003
Billy Fury died decades ago, yet this collection of his work is so fresh, and all the memories come flooding back. All the melodies that you didn't even know you remembered - until you hear them again! If,like me, you are in your 50's, then Billy would have figured large in those teeny years, and those songs "Last night was made for love" "Once Upon a dream", and my favourite - "Halfway to Paradise" just turns the clock back. Well put together, and a fitting tribute to a man who had so much to offer. Great addition to "getting all my old albums on C.D"
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
The Amazon listing shows only 12 tracks when, in fact, this CD has 20 tracks. Those omitted from the listing are:-
13. Wondrous Place
14. Open Your Arms
15. Magic Eyes
16. Sleepless Nights
17. Please Don't Go
18. If I Lose You
19. I Love How You Love Me

Unlike many of the budget releases containing re-recordings and bearing the same "Halfway To Paradise", title, these are the original recordings. A mix of A-sides, B-sides, album and EP tracks, with the brilliant self-penned "If I Lose You", proving what a great songwriter he was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
This is unfortunately a very poor quality recording, despite the cheap price of the product.
I suggest that Hallmark should stick to marketing greetings cards, or whatever else they do. The most famous song of all has the opening bars missing, and the sound quality overall is on a par with amateur home cassette recording. Very disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
SO PLEASED I PURCHASED THIS CD AS IT HAS THE TRACK 'IM LOST WITHOUT YOU' WHICH I CANT BELIEVE ID NEVER HEARD BEFORE AS ITS NOW MY FAVOURITE BILLY FURY SONG ! I HEARD ON TV IT WAS PLAYED AT HIS FUNERAL SO BOUGHT THIS CD AS THE ONE I ALREADY HAD DIDNT HAVE THIS TRACK. THE CD WAS WORTH BUYING FOR THIS SONG ALONE. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT THIS CD IS NOT BY HALLMARK AS SOME COMMENTORS HAVE SAID,THEY APPEAR TO HAVE PUT THEIR COMMENTS AGAINST THE WRONG CD,OR AMAZON HAVE. THE ONE BY HALLMARK SOUNDS TO BE INFERIOR SO MAKE SURE TO GET THIS ONE,ITS 'BRILLIANT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)