Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
Living Room Songs
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 2 July 2017
My partner and I have been using this album to soothe our baby and get him to sleep for the last 10 months. Last check my partner had played it about 400 times, and yet, somehow all three of us still love it. Recommend as an album for adults and tired babies alike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Incredibly soothing. Perfect when you need to relax a little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 January 2012
Olafur Arnalds is an Icelandic composer/instrumentalist. His new album
'Living Room Songs' is an intimate affair befitting the context in which
he recorded these seven compositions. It is indeed a home made affair.
Mr Arnald's muse bears close kinship with that of Goldmund (aka Keith
Kennif), in particular his haunting 2008 album 'The Malady Of Elegance'.

Mr Arnald is clearly a gentle soul whose compositions, though beguilingly
simple, are full of restrained beauty and pathos. The piano sits at the
heart of the majority of the pieces in the set but his touching, almost
folksy, melodies are embroidered with warm string embellishments and the
addition, on one track, 'Near Light', of a subtle electronic rhythmic pattern.

Like the words of a carol from the season just passed "All Is Calm, All Is
Bright", this lovely music belongs to the long shadows of a summer evening
or a rolling snow-covered landscape at first light. Occasional incidental
sounds, like that of a creaking chair on 'Tomorrow's Song', are left in place,
which contributes an ineffable human presence to the piece's elusive magic.
Elsewhere, opening track 'Fyrsta' weaves a melancholic threnody from the
softly ambling piano osinato and luminous strings; the Janacek-like theme
of 'Agust' would not have sounded out of place had it been a part of his
delightful 1900-1912 thirteen-piece cycle for piano 'On An Overgrown Path'
and at just over two minutes long the final track 'This Place Is A Shelter'
generates a palpable sense of calm and tranquility. A tiny song for the moon.

A little serenity is good for the spirit. Mr Arnalds' heart is clearly in the right place.

Highly Recommended.
55 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2013
Bought this on a whim as I was off on holidays and wanted something new for the plane. Appeared as a recommendation for some other purchases and wow. It's quite a short album but the tracks are all beautiful, simple compositions, with little more than a piano and some strings. There's some extra layers added in some tracks either with simple background noises or synths (as in the 2nd track). Reminiscent in style to some of Ludovico Einaudis work, I can't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2015
Perfect music to gaze out of the window, stare into the clouds and just sort of cruise along. Some standouts to me are Fyrsta and Near light. Even the kids take a breather in the car when these come on.

Thin Cocteau Twins Victorialand without the singing or Diamond mine by King Creosote and Jon Hopkins or a similar vibe.

The vinyl 10" is a piece of art in its self. Lots of drawings, cards and pictures included. Very nice indeed.

I also have Found songs which is almost as good, but not quite there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2016
A fantastic CD that was bought as a present for a family member who needed to chill a little! There is not one track on this album that disappoints, yes its only half hour but there is so much in it! It's like a fine whiskey thats been aged to perfection with so many mellow undertones and delicacate flavours who needs a pint of it when a dram will do!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
There is nothing sophisticated about this recording perhaps that is why I like it.
Olafur's music is simple, haunting and beautiful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2014
This is absolutely mesmerising music. Wonderful to listen to anywhere. I just wish there was more of it on this disc!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2013
I've been watching bits of footage of this guy for a while and thought I'd try an album. This was the right one to start with. Not much over 30 minutes, but stands up to leaving on repeat three or four times! Just gentle piano and strings parts with a few electronic fairy dust moments. Great if you want life to move a little slower.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2014
A real find.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Island Songs
£7.92
Found Songs
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)