Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
Pressure & Time Redux Edition
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 31 October 2012
Difficult to actually criticise apart from that its a shame the album isn't longer..Refreshing to listen to a new band that takes their sound from Led Zep and The Kinks while managing to create their own noise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2012
OK; I really like Rival Sons and this redux edition benefits from the 2 extra songs and the video clips. They do look really cool in concert. But (and a big but) I am concerned about the value for the money and whether we are being taken for a ride. The 2 extra songs were already available for download and could have been included in the original release. That CD was only just over 30 minutes long. The video clips from High Voltage are excellent but why have we got only 3 songs? Surely the whole set could have been issued. Look for comparison to Electric Mary III - who gave us a CD of new material and an extra DVD with 30 minutes of live material. So excellent music but one star for the way they regard their fans.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
I agree with other reviews there are some Led-Zeppelin-esque overtones to this album, plus hints to other 60s / early-70s rock bands. But Rival Sons do have their own unique sound, and if you like confident, thumping, foot-tapping rock led by good guitar licks and strong vocals, you should definitely give this album a listen. This, Rival Sons' debut album, has a more raw sound than their later (and perhaps more well known, as least in UK) album, "Head Down." But it's not raucous; the mellower tracks (such as Only One) in particular are very well-crafted. If you've heard, and like, anything at all by Rival Sons, it's pretty certain you'll like this album. For a while it was hard to obtain in UK, but this edition with the bonus DVD is a bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2013
There are a lot of "sound like" and "reminds me of" tags around Rival Sons, and as flattering they are to the band, they're also a millstone. Instead, they take a rich mix of rock, soul, funk, folk, give it a good shake and pour it in a striped-back but heavy, rich concoction. One of thier gigs is like standing in a sonic hurricane. Classic Rock magazine really fete this band, and its not just hype.

This is a great debut album that has been augmented with a couple extra tracks and DVD of live shows - well worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
Please sir, can I have more crunching guitar riffs? Yes you can!!

"They don't make them like they used to ..." I thought that until I came across this fantastic band. Short punchy rock tracks, channelling the old masters (Led Zep, Stones, Doors). American cultural imperialism at its finest. Good bonus DVD too. Since bought the second album, "Head Down", which doesn't disappoint. Restored my faith in modern rock after the let down of Muse's latest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2012
Ok so I already had the original release from 2011 of Pressure & Time and I loved it and then saw that the record company was doing like many others these days and issuing an expanded version of the CD with a DVD included.
While it may be a cheek for record companies to do this I think this version was worth it as you had 2 bonus tracks on the CD which were the 2 tracks released as a 7" vinyl for Record store day in April 2012 and a DVD with 7 live & promo videos as well as a video trailer. Since I bought it for £9 when it was released in March it was even cheaper than the original CD I bought last year !
Also was lucky enough to catch them live in March with Black Stone Cherry and they were excellent live. Just pre-ordered the new CD Head Down due in Sept 2012.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2013
Bought this album on my sons recommendation and was not disappointed. This band have got amazing potential, they sound like a cross between Led Zeppelin, Free, The Doors and The Faces, one's to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2014
Awesome band, another awesome album! Love these guys!
Came well packaged straight from Earache Records (the label) in good time.

Can't wait for their next album too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
excellent album by a cracking band ..a must for rock fans ... retro rock of highest callibre..cross between .bad company, led zeppilin& INXS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2013
Ignore the obvious Led Zep influence - these are actually good! Slick and greasy rock 'n' roll to get the feet stomping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)