Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
It is the Business of the Future to Be Dangerous
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 August 2017
Outstanding. Legends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2014
Great Hawkwind album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
good title read the booklet or go to hawk site for more info
hadn't got a lot of this, life you know. interesting to see the band meandering into the future and becoming ever more fluent with their skills but remaining flexible in their approach to form on occasions - well worth listening to.

love the reggae bit ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2001
I had not bought a HW album for about10 years, but had gone to some early 90s gigs. I bought this just before the Hawkestra gig in 2000 and was blown away. This album is HW at their total best. The first few tracks are instrumental brilliance. Track two - Space is their Palestine - is HW doing the extended live, rythmic ramblings that really get inside your head, but on album. Chadwick's drumming is spot on. It's been compared to Hassan I Sahba, which is not far wrong. This theme continues up to track seven, when the mood changes completely with "Letting in the past", which reworks some previous material - the words being from "Looking in the future" (Church, 1982). From here on, we get a more riff based HW, doing "songs" - there's also the first real reggae influence shown in "The camera thatcould lie". Last but one on the album is Richard Chadwick doing an excellent version of "Gimme Shelter".
Overall, this is just excellent. Alan Davey does some superb playing throughout, Chadwick is like a metronome and the Captain is just the man he is. Why haven't you bought it already?!
Graham Manson
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2003
This is the first Hawkwind disc I have bought since Levitation (on Vinyl), so I didn't know what to expect other than the good reviews already posted on Amazon for this title. In the mid 80's after the departure of Bob Calvert, the Hawks struggled to find a direction and disappeared into a malaise of average semi-metal semi-mainstream rock bands. However, they obviously recovered because this is really an excellent refreshing change of course from that era. It really blends the Astounding Sounds period with the Doremi Fasol Latido period and chucks in some hypnotic dance rythms to produce a worthy addition to the Hawkwind repertoire.
I was initial shocked as the disc comprises almost entirely instrumentals. In fact the weekest track on the disc is a 'song', the rendition of Gimmee Shelter, the reason for the inclusion of which I cannot understand. However, the rest of this album easily compensates.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2002
For some reason best known to themselves, hard-core HW fans sniff at this album, preferring the more familiar grounds of other HW incarnations. Pity, that, because they are dismissing an absolute classic.
Hovering somewhere between ambient,techno, metal and psychedelia, this music forces itself into your heart. It's easy to get lost on the track sequence - they all seem to flow into each other, or sound pretty similar. But that is no criticism.
As a cohesive, quirky, mesmering whole this album has few peers. Good for HW, good for Dave Brock. If you want an HW experience which can surprise a few guests, put this one on.. light the blue touch paper and retire. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2004
I am a new convert to Hawkwind's later material (i.e. post Xenon Codex, which I hated!)having been a fan since '78. I understand that this is one cd that many fans dislike and I cannot understand why? I have seen the band 30-40 times and they have always gone off on long instrumental jams. This cd is predominantly instrumental and epitomises the reason why Hawkwind have stayed around for so long. Hawkwind were created to play music like this! It is what they do best. No matter how they may have seemed in the 80s, they were never a mainstream rock band. They were always just that bit special, that bit different. This cd is superb and I recommend it wholeheartedly, if you can get it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2006
i really enjoyed this aural adventure on its release and still play it, i have always considered "it is the business of the future to be dangerous" one of hawkwind's better albums to my ears, if not equal to but at least as enjoyable as "electric tepee". this was made during a good period of hawkwind material, i agree they explored the ambient side of things here to an extent rather than actual songs, and a lot of people find this sort of thing boring, and tend to love or hate it but it works for me. i have listened to many ambient style albums but have found hawkwind's the most approachable. the album was originally released as a double lp but can now be purchased on a single cd. the sound quality is extremely good, making the most of the special effects. most of the ambient tracks, which blend well together, are based around a repeated theme interspersed with computerised sound effects with drums and percussion blended together. some interesting ideas here, i found the "space is their palestine/tibet is not china" tracks very effective, building up an aural image of that country, including singing tibetan monks! washes of synthesisers, great rhythms, soaring guitars, a good exercise for the imagination. i have played this album many times and still hear things i'd missed. the album flows along in a similar style until "letting in the past", "the camera that could lie" (amazing reggae-style beat), two of the three conventional songs (if conventional is the appropriate word for hawkwind!) break the mood. " 3 or 4 erections in the course of a night", "techno tropic zone exists" (interesting titles!), then "gimme shelter", an amazing version of the rolling stones song. "avante" is the last track on the album, some fast drum patterns over washes and layers of sound effects. overall a stimulating sound experience, an excellent addition to any ambient/space rock music collection, indeed i wish dave brock, the king of space rock, would go back to his studio and conjure up new sounds and images and create another album in this style, rather than "take me to your leader" which i found slightly disappointing - a bit too conventional!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2015
It was a surprise for me to see this album receive such high ratings as over the years I've met many fans who are not shy about revealing their distaste for this album. Ok, it sees the band in a much stronger electronic mode but with the benefit of hindsight we know they never indulged their digital fantasies this strongly again but for the 'White Zone' released under the name Psychedelic Warriors.
It was at this point that the trio of Dave Brock, Alan Davey and Richard Chadwick had fully mastered sequencing, sampling and digital technology in general. The band had put themselves through the ringer describing the period as literally relearning their instruments. With that in mind is it really a surprise that the final product ended up heavily electronic? To my ears, it's no bad thing but then I love electronica.
The first half of the album is mainly instrumental and although the techno elements are to the fore, the traditional instruments are played with skill and feeling. They really show themselves as highly accomplished musicians and the album flows nicely. The latter half is more towards the traditional Hawkwind sound and there are a number of older tracks completely reworked, including the transformation of 'Living On A Knife Edge' into the reggae workout 'The Camera That Could Lie'. I find it a rewarding listen until original final track, a truly awful cover of the Stones 'Gimme Shelter' sung by Richard Chadwick?!
Atomhenge have done a marvellous job of the reissues and this is no exception, adding an extra cd of single tracks and their remixes. A special mention needs to go to the excellent Astralasia remix of Spirit of the Age, technofying the track whilst adding double helpings of eastern flavour. If you are a fan, give it a try, you may surprise yourself but newcomers would be better off starting somewhere else, the awesome live 'Business Trip' that followed would be a good bet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)