Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



on 21 April 2012
A really clever prequel to Vespasian set in Rome prior to Vespasian entering the city in Tribune of Rome. Great characters and a fascinating insight into Roman life including the sleazy underworld. Should be pointed out that Vespasian does not figure at all in this book but do not let this put you off. I loved it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2011
If you understand that this is a novella and is a prequel to the Vespasian novel then it is an enjoyable glimpse of the lives of the crossroads brotherhood characters and the end of the novella segues nicely into how they meet up with Vespasian's family on their entrance to Rome.

It is a fascinating insight in how the mechanics of cities worked, from the protection rackets, the political classes and posturing at all levels and what most of us would consider outrageous was considered normal every day life. Murder, prostitution, extortion and protection rackets, all considered run of the mill and normal life and whilst these still exist today they are discreet and considered antisocial rather than accepted business practices.

I really enjoyed this novella but my one criticism is that I wish it were an actual novel and longer, the characters have so much scope, I would like to see more of the lives of these characters in the Vespasian series and it gives Robert Fabbri scope for further sub-plots on the periphery of main stories.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2012
Being new to this author and series and having enjoyed my first book, I was disappointed in the length of this read. Allthough it served to round out the background of characters met in the first book, as a fictional story, I felt it could have been expanded considerably.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2012
Anyone who has thought about reading the first of the Vespasian books should read this first. It gives an excellent insight into Roman Life and the book ends with the main characters meeting Vespasian as he takes his first visit to Rome. Only a short book but a good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2014
A short story that confused me to start with (not difficult) despite reading 'Vespasian: Tribune of Rome' first, but once I remembered who Magnus was I enjoyed this stand alone story. The way Robert Fabbri portrays the seedy side of Roman life with gangs protecting their 'turf', offering their dubious services to cash customers and looking after the interests of a victim(?) of their protection racket by removing a troublesome competitor makes 'The Crossroads Brotherhood' an excellent read. There are plenty of Ancient Rome adventures about and if you enjoy this genre the Vespasian series wont disappoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
Another great read in Robert Fabbri`s excellent Roman series - this time, a prologue to the first Vespasian book :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
A great little teaser story for the books would look forward to hear more of Magnus and his grubby choice of life
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2014
The whole series of vespasian books is superb, and Roberts two spin off novellas are a must read for any fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2012
Enjoyed Tribune of Rome and bought this to tide me over until I buy his follow up. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2013
I really enjoyed this short spin off book. It focuses on magnus's life in brotherhood when hes not campaigning with vespasian and is very good. The twists in the book keep you gripped and i didnt want to stop reading. I was glad to see that robert fabbri had written another spin off called racing factions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse