Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
154
4.0 out of 5 stars
Colour Name: Black|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2013
My 10 year old son hasn't put this down since we bought it for him. He thinks it's fantastic and it is great for me as it doesn't stick to things and leave marks on furniture, etc.
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have had great fun with this as a stress relief toy, but the novelty wears off very quickly.

It is a soft lump of plastic which has a high viscosity, but without the stickiness. Mould it into any shape and after a few mins it has flattened out. Drop a magnet near to it and it will slowly migrate to it (not like the picture though!) Place an object on-top and it wil sink into the putty. It the putty is in a container that gives it depth, then any item dropped on top will slowly sink in (density dependant).

It has a pleasant enough smell when new, but no doubt will wane the more it gets handled. It is easy enough to clean up off smooth, non porous surfaces, but wouldn't think a fabric would be so easy to clean up. Be careful on lacquered surfaces as this can leave a residue behind that could attack the surface. I would advise a wipe down when done.

The fact that it is magnetic doesn't really enhance the fun of it that much. It comes with a strong magnet that you can drop into the putty and watch it sink (much the same as ny heavy object). Or you could leave the magnet next to the putty and come back in 10 mins to find that the putty has been pulled (slightly) over to it.

In all it has a great fun factor, but a very limited life span
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
lots of fun, the hotter the putty the better. magnet is quite strong, kids put a tub of putty n magnet next to my new digi camera and the screen went funny for a couple of days
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
You get a really good amount. The putty is a little hard as it is cold so needs needing as this works best the warming it gets.
Depending on what colour you get it will mark cloths ect. So ensure your children are aware before you let them run a riot with it.
I would also make them aware the strong magnet can damage things if left on them. I.e cds, computer games, their beloved headphones and don't forget your credit cards.

The putty is not just for kids. I suffer form arthritis and it's great for working my hands so more often than not I'm playing around with it.

This one is also a good price and it's more than worth the money.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
The putty was dry and is still unworkable everything was as posted it arrived ok and on time but it still too hard
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
I bought this as a stocking-filler-type present for my 32 year-old stepson. I could tell from first impressions that he wasn't overly impressed but, after a couple of days of messing around, we were all pleased with the way that it occupied a few idle moments just tinkering with it. The science behind it isn't that complicated ("Yeah b***h magnets!"), but it's great fun just finding the different ways the putty and the magnet can interact. Thanks
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
Bought for my kids (4, 6 & 9) who all loved playing with it at first.
It is quite stiff putty even when warm, so don't expect visually stunning results - everything is very slooowwwww which eventually bored the kids once they had got past the 'it'd fun to play with putty and magnets anyway' phase. It will also mark / stain surfaces so don't leave kids alone with it.

My main gripe was with whatever genius decided it would be a good idea to package magnetic putty and magnet, in a metal tin! Almost impossible to get it out after a few days being left to sit. Make sure you don't lose the sheet of polythene or substitute some layers of cling film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
The putty isn't actually magnetic at all. It merely has some metallic qualities which means that it is very very slowly attracted to the magnet. Over a very, very long period of time it will very very slowly gravitate towards a magnet. That's about it. :-(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Being fascinated by magnets, magnetism and rare-earth elements I thought this stuff would be interesting. It is. My son an dI compete in trying to think up new experiments. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
Granddad in the poo for buying this for Grandson as a novelty: he managed to plaster it all over his face, as he fell asleep with it in his hand; maybe because of his metal braces... ;-)

Not sure whether or not he found the neo-magnetic cube.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)