Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£31.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2013
This is not a game you will master in one or two plays. Neither is it a game you will be confidently playing after 15 minutes, however, it is worth the investment. A great game with multiple strategies and twists that has always kept me enthused to the end. Well worth the price and time needed to learn.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
An excellent game. Plenty of strategy and tactics, with no dice throwing luck element. There are at least 4 alternative ways to amass victory points, so fun to try out different approaches and see which combination works best. Keeping an eye on what your opponents are planning, and trying to snooker their plans, adds interest. The most novel and fascinating feature is the way that your workforce gradually ages. Planning strategically which worker to kill off next to gain additional victory points and avoid the indignity of an umarked grave, without scuppering all your plans for that part of the board, is an interesting conundrum. It is a game that entertains myself as well as my 8 and 10 year old boys, who coped fine with it once the rules were explained to them. My only minor criticism is that a few of the graphics on the board are a little difficult to understand at first. For reference, we also enjoy games like Lords of Water Deep, Pandemic, Lewis and Clark, Stone Age, Puerto Rico, Race for the Galaxy and it provides a broadly similar level of complexity and interest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
Really fun and deep board game with tons of potential for different strategies. Scales well from 2 to 4 players. Components are nice, and the art is lovely. Plays in about 45 minutes or less for 2 players, and up to 90 minutes for 4 players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
The game of killing your family for fun and profit. It came as quite a surprise to learn that "time management" doesn't mean keeping everyone alive as long as possible, but creatively killing people off at the time that makes them famous. Those of a Christian persuasion love that every round ends up with a mass. Trying to stay alive forever by hiding in the black bag of invisibility and never quite getting to actually go to church is enjoyed more by the Secular. I've yet to fully understand it, but I'm looking forward to working on that.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
My 10 year old daughter loved it. She found it stimulating and challenging, although us adults were a bit frustrated as the purpose of the coins only became clear towards the end of the game. However, after trying it out the first time and grasping all the complexities, it is now a family favourite! We have even bought the extensions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
I'm kind of uncertain about Village. It's got a lot of pieces and a lot of rules, but as of the third play through, I still haven't got any major ideas about winning strategies. It's a fun way to spend an evening, but it's no Catan contender. If you like the aesthetic, consider also Agricola, which has a more robust game mechanism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
Fantastic board game. Takes a little while to learn and get used to it, but once you get the hang of it, its great. There are many ways to win and accumulate your points so you won't get bored.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Hard to learn. We'll get there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
I really like this game -- it is complex and requires strategy and there is no one surefire way to win. Every time you play, you must adapt to the strategy of the other players and to the options on the board in order to make the most of your limited time and resources. A strategy that worked the last time may not work the next time. I also appreciate that the game works very well with any of the possible number of players (2, 3 or 4 players), although the experience is different. With two players, I find the game is intensely strategic because you can plot out your moves more predictably. With 3 or 4 players, it becomes more relaxed as you must accept that chance will intervene between each of your turns.

Finally, a word of caution. This is undeniably a complex game which will probably be most easily enjoyed by those who are familiar with rule-heavy games like Puerto Rico, Vanuatu, Endeavor, or Imperial. It has been an uphill battle trying to teach this to family members apart from my husband and some have quit partway through the game. Those who make it through reported it as interesting and that after one play through they felt like they were starting to understand. You may need to have patience and possibly run them through a couple of games to get family and friends interested. Conversely, our board gaming friends picked this up quite quickly although we had to double check some of the detailed rules occasionally.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
A really lovely game. Pretty components (though it is mildly annoying that you need to stick on the numbers on your pieces yourself from a sticker sheet provided). The game has a lovely variety of options to pursue and slots into the Worker placement style of boardgame. The added mechanic of your people dying is quite fun too. I played this with both old veteran boardgamers and newbies and both found it equally accessible and intriguing. Also it doesnt take an epic length of time. Recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)