Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
In'terview [2012 - Remaster]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

VINE VOICEon 2 March 2012
I am new to Gentle Giant but when EMI Chrysalis, decided to re-issue this with a Vintage Quad Mix I was in I am a sucker for that kind of thing.
The music is complex Prog style music hints of Genesis maybe a bit of King Crimson but pretty much not like anything I have heard before so great news, I may at sometime have to deep dive the catalogue.

Highlights for me the proggy opener 'Interview' and the more acoustic 'Empty City'
The issue comes with a standard CD and a DVD with Dolby Digital (why?) and DTS96/24 4.1 mix of the album which sound great and are very discrete, and a flat 96/24 LPCM (Playable on any DVD player) stereo copy of the original stereo LP master, an excellent reproduction and probably the best it will sound digitally.

There are no bonus tracks on this which is a bit disappointing but for the price this is a steel for any 'prog' fan and fan of Hi rez music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
A first class release....enhancements worth the investment.
....but not quite as good as Free Hand...tried too hard?....GG dropped/stepped off onto a different plateaux after this album.
Still lots of fun.....but a gentle nap for the giant for a while may have been appropriate.......hey but that's history for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
My initial delivery came with a damaged cracked DVD. Interview is the last decent album Gentle Giant produced. After 1977 the band changed direction for some strange artistic reason and their music was nothing like those classic albums such as Acquiring The Taste and Octopus.
The DVD that comes with this set has a 4.1 Quad mix that is very enjoyable and is quite different than the stereo mix.
The absolute stand out track on this album is 'I Lost My Head' which features some powerful vocals that sadly never sounded this good again on future albums. This song alone has all the best ingredients of the band. The booklet has some great information and an honest account of how the album was recorded and some personal statements from the ex-members. Great read.
This is a nice addition to your multi-chanel music collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2016
An excellent album and a very worthy contender in the GG catalogue. There are hints of the decline that is to come after this album, but that shouldn't put you off owning this album. "I Lost My Head" is a classic GG track. Not a classic album as with the preceding GG albums but a great album all the same. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2016
Not an instantly likeable album but there is much to commend it.
Recommended tracks include the title track, Another Show, Empty City and Give It Back.
I have always thought, since I bought it back in the late 1970s, that some tracks go unnecessary "off the wall" in places but then it would not be Gentle Giant before their more straight-ahead Giant for A Day and Civilian albums.
Arguably the next, The Missing Piece, was a logical step.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2007
Often hailed as Gentle Giant's last good album, or hated for being their first bad album Interview sure does sit uneasily in the Gentle Giant catalogue. Released after the popular Free Hand album in 1976 the concept album based around band interviews is wonderfully produced and the level of skill and musicianship contained within is nothing short of great.

I like the album a lot and would recommend giving it a few listens with an open mind before making any judgements. For me, the best songs are the rocking 'I Lost My Head,' and the great 'Empty City.'

Throughout the whole album Derek's voice is awesome and the songs are creative and interesting. Where the album sometimes draws criticism however is for being too similar to its aforementioned predecessor Free Hand. Every Gentle Giant album before this had been wildly different from what came before it and so some fans were disappointed that this was comparatively safe.

While this may seem true on first listen however, it soon becomes apparent that Interview is an original and well written album. In fact if you haven't heard Free Hand there's really nothing to complain about at all. Gentle Giant's overall aesthetic is there to be enjoyed, that the common link of excellence that can be between all their albums. Furthermore the music is still a lot more diverse, spirited and complex than the majority of other bands and Derek's fantastic voice is still holding up strong eight albums into their career.

Overall, Interview is a wonderful album that is often overlooked and if you like Gentle Giant, its worth at least a test listen as you sure could find yourself loving it. If you're new to Gentle Giant perhaps try albums like Free Hand or Octopus before moving on to the likes of Interview but if you are into the band already it is a worthy addition to your collection.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2015
Great tunes and mix of instruments done in a typically Gentle Giant way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2012
I have always really liked this album so jumped at the chance to get the new remastered version, however when I got it the end of track one was skipping all over the place so I returned it. The second one was exactly the same, I have asked for a refund now very disappointed. I will probably try to buy it again sometime it is a really good album. **** for the music nothing for the CD.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2011
I can't add much more after what "Gentlegiantprog" has said. I think this is the last Gentle Giant masterpiece. By the days it was released, however, many prog music listeners actually thought that it was a bit disappointing if compared to its predecessor Free Hand in the creative department. 1976 was a year of skepticism for (not only) prog rock aficionados; everything seemed to be done, and all those magnificent albums like Dark side of the moon, Wish you were here, Brian salad surgery, The lamb lies down on Broadway, Red, Aqualung, Fragile, Close to the edge, Free Hand, etc. were going to make any further effort to be judged very strictly. And it was true that many bands were living difficult moments because of personal changes and/or creative crisis. Time has made its work, nevertheless, and the perspective of all these years allows us to appreciate the artistic value of this breathtaking album.
For those who are new to Gentle Giant, I would say that for some reason I don't know, this band never was as massively known as, for example, Pink Floyd or Genesis, while being in the same league in its own right. It would be easy to say that Derek Shulman is quite similar to Peter Gabriel and the band's music is a mix of Genesis, Yes, King Crimson, Jethro Tull and Frank Zappa with some extravagant or weird additions like strange and changing time signatures or a capella passages. But that would be too far from reality: these guys were master musicians with their own bold and original ideas, and an unique way of approaching rock music. Don't miss them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2012
I don't understand why this set is sometimes regarded as a lesser GG record. It is perhaps a little loud at times, and it is perhaps a little harder to get into than some GG recordings but even so it seems to be as good as anything they did. Empty City and I lost my head, are both standout tracks. The sound of this remaster is simply excellent.
Just maybe some of the ideas are repeats of earlier GG tracks, but this not simply copying old tricks that worked, this set is often more complex than previous post Phil visits to the studio. A set that is a must own for GG fans, old and new, but also a record all good prog heads will love, if they give it a chance. This record is almost a twin to Free Hand, which maybe is why it draws some flak, as most GG records are very differant one from another. Saying that Free Hand was an awesome record, and commercially quite successful, by GG standards. Who can blame them from trying to get more gold from a rich seam?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Free Hand
£12.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)