Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£36.65


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2004
Jones has really cornered the market with this superb bible on valve audio - there really isn't a more comprehensive guide with the same refined expertise that he clearly possesses. The writing is clear and concise covering a wide range of useful topics.
If like me you are a relative beginner in amplifier theory it will provide a low-pain introduction into the field (be warned there's few introductory notes on basic electronics - you'll need another textbook for that; however, the style encouages learning a minimum of theory for maximum effect), and I've been assured by various other sources that for advanced users it will still serve as an invaluble reference book.
I'd also like to note that it would be an ideal first book for getting into musical instrument amplification.
Top marks.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Well over the top for any one with out an engineering degree. I managed to understand most of this but if you are not fluent in electronica dna engineering maths then you will be lost with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
Morgan Jones updates his comprehensive guide to valve amplifier design, producing for what could be a very dry subject a very readable book. Although aimed at the Hi-Fi end of the Valve DIY market, this book is also essential reading for those considering scratch bulding a valve based guitar or bass amp. Guitar amplifier folks will be a bit dissapointed that Mr. Jones strives to reduce distorsion, but in doing so he shows which components have an effect on the creation of distorsion.

There is a seam of dry, even caustic, wit which runs through this book. I particulary enjoyed the section on single ended ampifiers where the author says he feels the "single ended genre be given a fair trial and hanging" and concludes that the sound quality of the amplifier in question improved over four hours of listening thanks to "a bottle of Veuve Clicquot"!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2008
Very thorough and starting with basics. I've a real interest in valve amps but never strayed into electronics before. I was surprised by the amount of theory you need to get your head around and the standard of Maths required. Jones does a good job of walking you through it, though I had to keep going back some pages to re-read what didn't fully sink in. Not an ideal first book, electronics for dummies would be a better place to start.

Glad I bought it, it's a keeper.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Definitely the 'Bible' for Valve Amplifiers. The necessary maths are not too difficult, and it is well written for the student to understand.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Mr Morgan's book, fourth edition, (I also bought the first three!) explains to the seriously interested amateur the most important issues in designing high-end equipment with valves. All basic circuits are explained and tools provided so it becomes easy to calculate yoyr own circuit with different valves and obtain predictable results. It also proves how a bit of solid state technology can make life much easier for todays valve addict.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
Great updated version from Morgan Jones, however the Kindle edition is not worth it. Poor release from Newnes. Most of the diagrams are unreadable. I wish I would have bought the paper edition as previous times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
A very lucid writer with a full understanding of his subject. An excellent book for beginners as well as the experienced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Comprehensive, well-written, very readable. I would, however, prefer it if the explanations progressed a bit more slowly. As with many other electronics books, I find they start with basics, and then follow an exponential curve of difficulty, until I find myself hopelessly lost. Maybe that's just my problem, though, as I haven't had done any formal electronic study...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
This has a good introduction to some elementary circuit analysis, introduces principles of amplifiers including how transistors and tubes work, then goes on to give detailed explanation of the various elements of a tube circuit. A very useful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)