Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2012
I must admit I didn't really expect all that much from this, so i got out the DVD beforehand and watched the start of "Encounter at Farpoint" to give myself a benchmark before watching the blu-ray. To be honest, I think the improvement would have still been startling even without that immediate comparison, but as it was I was bowled over.

Having already replaced my videos with the DVDs I was reluctant to think of going to the expense of replacing them all again in another format, but the cheap price of this taster blu-ray tempted me to at least find out if it is going to be worth it... and without a doubt, if all the episodes are going to be treated to this standard of remastering, then it's an easy choice and I absolutely will be buying the whole lot in blu-ray as they become available.

As others have made clear, the episodes are in 4:3 format as that is how they were filmed. If you don't like black bars, I urge you to get used to them, as it is wonderful to be able to watch these episodes as they were meant to be seen at this level of picture quality - a real treat.

The episodes are: "Encounter at Farpoint", "Sins of the Father" and "The Inner Light".

The English subtitles are decent, and for information; although the product information on this page states subtitles in Dutch, Swedish, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, my disc lists English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Japanese, Norwegian, Spanish and Swedish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2001
This video is comprised of one good episode, one bad episode and two absolutely fantastic episodes. First up, Skin of Evil. An incredibly exciting, memorable and satisfying adventure that contains one of the best and most imposing bad guys in the history of star trek. 'We'll Always Have Paris' is also good and has a great story. You can't helpthinking that it could have been better (like most series one adventures), but good, none-the-less. Then comes conspiracy. Don't be put off by the rather uninteresting description on the back of the box, this is actually an intensely exciting, suspenseful and unpredictable adventure that successfully tries to do something more adult and different. This episode carries a permanent ban from being broadcasted on the BBC (And frankly i'm not surprised, judging by the rather shockingly gruesome finale, when all is revealed (in more ways than one)) and you can't help but think that this video should have been a 12! Conspiracy stands up, in my opinion, as one of the best TNG episodes ever and should have been the season finale. Which brings us neatly to 'The Neutral Zone' which, you will soon realise, is a complete dissapointing mess combining two uninteresting sub-plots that lead absolutely nowhere and have absolutely no connection to one another. Thank God it's packaged with 'Conspiracy'!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
On Nth Degree, Barclay returns and receives a discharge of energy from a probe and becomes Super - Barclay. Suddenly, on Q - pid, the dangerous god of the universe formerly known as Q returns onboard and involves the entire crew in a holo - simulation of the Tale of Camelot, with Picard as a superb Robin Hood. Next, The Drumhead. After an explosion, Picard and Admiral Satie investigate to find the guilty. Great episode, with an excellent guest star, the two times Oscar nominee Jean Simmons in the role of Norah Satie, and the second direction of Jonathan Frakes. The first was on Reunion. At the end of the video, one of the best episodes of the season, Half A Life, with the marvelous Majel Barrett - Roddenberry as Lwaxana Troi, seriously engaged with a man near the death, this, requested as a ritual suicide. TNG finally finds the right way, the right episodes. After the departure of Wesley, maybe ...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
I was totally blown away by the quality of both the video and audio on this sampler disc. Being a long time fan of the Next Gen, watching this taster was like watching the Next Gen for the first time. I can't believe I'd been subjected to low res video transfer since the late 80s. Kudos to Paramount/CBS for taking the time to transfer the original negatives and digitising them for Blu ray. I for one, cannot wait till the final full season is released.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I cannot understand how people expect a show that was originally produced in the 4:3 format to appear on Blu-Ray in anything other than 4:3 - without destroying the integrity of the entire production? It reminds me of when widecreen films were made available to be shown on the old 4:3 tvs and people complained about bars at top and bottom - and rather have the pan & scan version - missing 50% of the picture!

Maybe we should ask MGM to go back and re-shoot the Wizard of Oz so it fills up our 16:9 screens???

We should be thankful for the remastering of this great series.......I for one will buy the complete set.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
The show was shot in a time where ALL TV sets were 4:3 and therefore the way it was shot was 4:3. If they showed it in widescreen, there would be prop sets, jibs, cranes, lights, etc that you would' not want shown.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
This update shows the old shows were actually much better looking than they looked at the time. Reruns of TNG on TV are not doing them any justice with the dated special effects and fuzzy picture quality.

The Blu-ray version is a complete revelation, stunning special effects, and don't the actors look so young! Well worth the cash for the clarity. You'll not want to watch it on TV again until they start using these remastered versions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
Long Live TREK! These may not be the most superb Star Trek episodes ever, but they are still wonderfully entertaining. I personally love "Symbiosis", there are some fantastic lines that are so comical! In "Arsenal of Freedom" there are some classic moments of Riker (can't spoil it for you!). Maybe not the best of the first season, but I stand by my recommendation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 February 2012
This disk is very satisfying, not only in terms of the quality of the re-mastered playback but also in its choice of episodes.

The first-ever episode may not be the strongest of them all, but viewing it is like looking back at a piece of TV history: here we have the characters as originally written, not as shaped over time by some excellent actors. Picard is played as authoritarian, even brusque. Later, as the show settles into a groove, he becomes authoritative (which is different) but much more accessible and therefore more likable.

My favourite TNG episode of all time, The Inner Light, is a happy choice for me. By this time the show had established itself and was at its finest. The characters had matured and although this is a vehicle mainly for Patrick Stewart's wonderful acting skills, the interplay between the other characters is well established. The script writing is superb and it is one of the most poignant stories ever written for the show. Very emotional.

The back-to-the-film picture quality is stunning and the sound is good. As a taster for what is to come with the complete blu-ray re-releases, this is an excellent sampler.

It's important not to get distracted by the technical discussions: listening to the hi-fi and not the music was always a self-defeating exercise. This is high-definition and it's 4:3 because that’s how it was originally recorded, and that's the deal. My recommendation is to take the deal, watch it, soak up the improved picture and sound but above all enjoy revisiting a show that has given millions of people so much pleasure over so many years.

Five stars. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
Well I just had to see Star Trek TNG in high def as soon as I heard about this. The picture quality is absolutely superb and the 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio sound is terrific too. I thoroughly enjoyed watching these taster episodes and will certainly be purchasing the series as they are released (I expect they will be around £50 like the original series were). I didn't notice any grain or dust on the picture, even if there was some it really doesn't matter.

If your unsure that TNG will be worth buying on blu-ray when the full series are released, this only costs £6.99 and it includes a £5 voucher towards the full series if you like it, making this only £2! Go on treat yourself! Role on DS9 and Voyager in HD too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse