Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2012
I have been a fan of Steeleye Span since 1971, when I obtained their second album `Please To See The King'. Now, in 2011, the band has been producing great Folk Rock music for an impressive period of 42 years.

When I heard that Steeleye Span were going to do a series of concerts where they `revisited' the complete album "Now We Are Six", I had my doubts. Not that the original album wasn't good. On the contrary. It was (and still is) a great album and was a milestone for Steeleye Span in 1974. But the band's personell has changed a lot since then, and besides that, there were a few tracks on the album that - to say the least - not all fans were happy with. I am referring to the two children songs `Now We Are Six' and `Twinkle Twinkle Little Star' and the cover of the Phil Spector song `To Know Him Is To Love Him', which did not fit into the Folk Rock concept at all.

But being a long-time Steeleye Span fan, I bought the album and I was very pleasantly surprised to hear this live registration of the classic album. In my opinion, most of the numbers sound even better than on the original studio album. Maddy Prior's voice has gained warmth an strength over the years. The arrangements of the original recordings are treated with much respect, and `Now We Are Six', and `Twinkle Twinkle Little Star' are appoached in a more serious way and sound far better than the original versions. Especially `Twinkle Little Star'. Maddy is singing not just one verse, like on the studio album, but several other verses as well. Combined with some beautiful violin improvisations by Peter Knight, this has turned into a real `Steeleye' number!

My favourite tracks are `Seven Hunderd Elves', `Drink Down The Moon' and `Long-A-Growing', sung by Maddy with much more power and emotion than on the original studio album.

Peter Zorn and Julian Littman, the `newcomers' to the band, are doing a great job and they 'fit in' amazingly well, as you can hear on the instumental `The Mooncoin Jig'. This almost sounds like a studio recording, but it is live!

I do hope that this `new' Steeleye Span will produce some studio albums soon.

The second CD contains a number of live recordings of long-time Steeleye favorites, but in my personal opinion, we could do without numbers like `All Around My Hat' and `Gaudete'. As good as they are, they are to be found on (almost) every live recording of Steeleye concerts and the band has so much more good material to offer...

All together a great album, and an absolutely marvellous live recording of the classic album `Now We Are Six.' The sound quality is of a high level too! So, go out and buy this. You won't be disappointed!

'Wil Tirion
99 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
It is interesting to see that Steeleye have been playing Now We Are Six as a complete piece earlier this year. In the spring of 1974 when they were touring and plugging the album they only played a good half of it. Songs like Seven Hundred Elves, Long and Growing, Twinkle Twinkle, and Now We Are Six were certainly not on the play list. At that time there was a TV programme called Steeleye Span in concert to which they played Seven Hundred Elves and Long and Growing. The new live recording is of a very high standard and does not disappoint, with a bonus disc with new and old favourites. Now Steeleye are back to a six piece band with Julian Littman following the departure of Ken Nicol, and multi-instrumentalist Pete Zorn. Well packaged cd with the song lyrics printed plus notes.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
Without giving too much away, let me say the sound quality is excellent and the songs are given new life. The live version of Now We Are Six sounds even better than the original studio album, and the Bonus CD has some wonderful versions of Steeleye classics. The cover art is attractive, but understated. The best part about the cover is that the lyrics to the original album are presented in full with occasional comments from Maddy. And as is usual with Park recordings of live performances, band chatter and audience applause are kept to a minimum.Now We Are Six Again
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 2011 re recording of the classic album from 1974 is actually better than the original.
The original album had some fine tracks and three poor ones. The majority of the album was fine and produced some classic tracks from the group that at that time had become a six piece group on their sixth album.
This release is recorded live. It is a double album release with disc one representing the original album re recorded, and disc two offers re recordings of other classic tracks from the group.
The tracks are all from the group tour and have been collected together to form the album. It is not a true live album but a collection of live tracks. The sound is excellent for a live recording and there is little sign that they are live recordings.
The thing that makes this album better than the original is in the arrangements of the songs. The instrumentation is much more polished and rich in texture. The three poor tracks on the original album get much better arrangements here and sound very good. They actually sound respectable here.
There should be no reason to re record a classic album but this in this case it offers a chance to put things right.
The 2011 line up which also was six members was a very strong line up and this album proves it. There some fine recordings here that should appeal to any fan of Steeleye Span.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Who said you can't re-live your youth? Well, I certainly have by going back to 1974.

Was it really that long ago that Steeleye first released "Now We Are Six" having been rather unceremoniously roughed up by the `folk' police in the process. After all who would have the tenacity (or temerity) to tamper with the tradition by making it more palatable to the general public?

By now, Nigel Pegrum was utilising his skills as drummer, flautist and oboe player and, it has to be said that this colourful injection to the band made the album all the more interesting.

To the present day and new-ish members Pete Zorn (acoustic guitar, mandolin, sax and flute) and Julian Littman (electric guitars) prove themselves more than capable musicians to carry the baton.
In my eyes it was rather a bold step re-creating the album in its entirety but who could forgive the rest of the cast; Maddy Prior (vocals), Liam Genockey (drums), Rick Kemp (bass) and Peter Knight's exquisite violin for once again expounding those riff-sodden days.

No problem at all I should imagine as the `hits' including "Thomas The Rhymer", "The Mooncoin Jig" and the delightfully idiosyncratic "Two Magicians" are respectfully recreated and considering this is a `live' recording shows just how good the band are (and were).
Co-ordinated by Park Records manager John Dagnell I should think he had his work cut out knowing which tracks to leave off the second disk but with an eye to commerciality and Christmas round the corner what Steeleye album would be complete without the customary "All Around My Hat" and "Gaudette".

In all my years reviewing the band's work there's hardly been a contrary word said against them...and I'm not about to start now. If this album is your first introduction to the band's music then welcome on board - if it's not then you know what to expect - or you should do by now!

PETE FYFE
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
Who said you can't re-live your youth? Well, I certainly have by going back to 1974. Was it really that long ago that Steeleye first released "Now We Are Six" having been rather unceremoniously roughed up by the `folk' police in the process. After all who would have the tenacity (or temerity) to tamper with the tradition by making it more palatable to the general public? By now, Nigel Pegrum was utilising his skills as drummer, flautist and oboe player and, it has to be said that this colourful injection to the band made the album all the more interesting. To the present day and new-ish members Pete Zorn (acoustic guitar, mandolin, sax and flute) and Julian Littman (electric guitars) prove themselves more than capable musicians to carry the baton. In my eyes it was rather a bold step re-creating the album in its entirety but who could forgive the rest of the cast; Maddy Prior (vocals), Liam Genockey (drums), Rick Kemp (bass) and Peter Knight's exquisite violin for once again expounding those riff-sodden days. No problem at all I should imagine as the `hits' including "Thomas The Rhymer", "The Mooncoin Jig" and the delightfully idiosyncratic "Two Magicians" are respectfully recreated and considering this is a `live' recording shows just how good the band are (and were). Co-ordinated by Park Records manager John Dagnell I should think he had his work cut out knowing which tracks to leave off the second disk but with an eye to commerciality...and Christmas round the corner...what Steeleye album would be complete without the customary "All Around My Hat" and "Gaudette". In all my years reviewing the band's work there's hardly been a contrary word said against them...and I'm not about to start now. If this album is your first introduction to the band's music then welcome on board - if it's not then you know what to expect - or you should do by now!

PETE FYFE
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
I've been a Steeleye Span addict, or perhaps rather a Maddy Prior addict, for decades. Can she (and the rest of the reconstituted Steeleye Span) do anything wrong? Absolutely not. And this CD proves it. A great selection of songs and tunes. A great addition to any collection of folk(-rock) CDs and albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
The songs and sound were great, just as I expected and the old songs brought back some good memories. For anyone who likes to sing along like me, out of ear shot of anyone, mind, the second album needed the words. That was the only disappointment for me.
If you like Steeleye, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
A good idea to let the present experienced and polished band get hold of the original music and represent it-cold haily windy night slightly worse than original though--engineering now pretty sweet.Neutrals and BellowHead, Clannad followers should be interested.More electric guitar is a good move(the failing for Fairport)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
Steeleye Span are old. They are good musicians and Maddy Prior was the voice of Ye Olde Englande once, but the clock is ticking, and they all are getting more and more older. That's life - and there's no one to blame about it. So frankly speaking this album is not as good and energetic as Live At Last or Tonight The Night. On the other hand the overall impression is good, and for Steeleye Span long-time fans this is another present - especially if you are far away from England and the band is still not packing their gears to visit YOUR country :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)