Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICEon 27 August 2015
Set in a Cornish village in 1860, Plague of Zombie's is about the inhabitants of a small town who are dying from a mysterious plague that seems to be spreading at an accelerated rate. local buffoon doctor, Peter Thompson, has failed to do anything about the disease so calls on Sir James Forbes (Morrell) to help. Accompanying Sir James is his daughter Sylvia (the beautiful Diane Claire).

Plague is a outstanding Hammer film. Although a few seem to dislike it (mainly on the grounds Lee and Cushing aren't in it) you'd be downright idiotic to miss this great film. A great story, fantastically paced, well directed (especially the dream scene), great actors, it's one of Hammer's finest no doubt. This Blu Ray is a great remastering, losing none of the quality to DNR, so it retains the grain but also the colour and tonal quality.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2014
The image of the zombie holding Jacqueline Pearce has been with me since I acquired my first horror magazine, 'Monster Mania', when I was still at junior school. It must have been some years before I saw the movie itself, because we all had to wait in those days for Hammer, AIP etc. to show up on (most likely) BBC2 on a Friday night.
This is classic, mid-period Hammer (they were going off the boil by now), featuring the superb (and highly underrated) John Carson as the voodoo-meddling villain and Andre Morrell as the Van Helsing-type character, Sir James. Brook Williams is perfect as the ineffectual doctor, and the only weak link is Diane Clare, who really couldn't act and, I'm afraid, wasn't sexy enough for Hammer. (I'm afraid they hadn't yet discovered the likes of Linda Hayden). No George Woodbridge, but Michael Ripper is on hand as the village police sergeant.
You have to hand it to Hammer, they could dish it out from time to time, even when Terence Fisher wasn't helming the film. The early ones have a real period charm now and 'Plague Of The Zombies' just about manages to fall into this category.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2013
Plague Of The Zombies is one of my favourite Hammer Horrors. I was introduced to it in my early years when the B.B.C put a double feature of horror movies on under the banner, 'Dracula, Frankenstein & Friends'. As well as being introduced to the Universal classics (Karloff, Lugosi, Chaney etc) we were treated to these wonderful colour gems from the Hammer stable. This BluRay looks fantastic, & the powers at be (in this case, StudioCanal) have done a fantastic job, with some nice little extras to boot. A must have for all Hammer fans.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2014
I love this film. I saw this for the first time a couple of weeks ago on the horror channel and I really enjoyed it. It was Hammer's first and only foray into the Zombie genre and its a worthy of a classic Hammer. Set in Cornwall with lavish costumes and a terrific script the story plays out with a terrific climax. The zombies. Using voodoo to bring the dead back into a zombie state which Squire Clive Hamilton (John Carson) has control over them and anyone that get's in his way will also become zombies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2017
great film love the design of the zombies one of the last greats from hammer worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2018
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 December 2014
Exceptional Blu-ray transfer (and also DVD as this is a dual package) of one of Hammer's better gothic output from the sixties.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2014
I don't have a blu ray player but this edition of the movie features a normal dvd copy too. I bought it mainly for the special features which are great! This is my favourite hammer film and it deserves such a great makeover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2018
Nice to get a good copy of this on Blu-ray!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2012
If you were going to compile a DVD of classic horror moments then the so-called "Nightmare Sequence" from this movie would undoubtedly feature. Even if you think the rest of the film is garbage (and I don't, by the way), this scene will stay long in the memory. Discordant music, disorientating atmosphere and a stunningly effective depiction of zombies rising from the grave, its one of the greatest moments in British horror history. The film itself was shot on a ridiculously low budget as part of a four-picture deal that included 'Dracula, Prince Of Darkness' 'Rasputin The Mad Monk' (shot back to back with the same sets and mostly the same actors) and 'The Reptile' (ditto with this film) and its probably the best of the lot. The lead actors, John Carson and Andre Morell, appear to be enjoying themselves immensely and while some of the supporting cast are a bit wooden to say the least (honourable exception to the great Hammer stalwart Michael Ripper of course), it doesn't detract too much from the film itself.
The picture for this release is excellent and probably as good as could be expected for a film shot so cheaply (it wouldn't have been high-grade film stock but they HAVE been able to restore the picture from the original camera negative). Scratches and overall picture damage are significantly better than the previous DVD copy I owned, that's for sure, and the colour is noticeably richer. Sound is pretty good too, though only basic (no surround effects here), but again that's probably down to the source material.
The extras are well presented, with a new documentary a particular highlight. Not only do we get the usual Hammer experts sounding off (that's not a criticism ,in case you were wondering),but also the added bonus of interviews with surviving cast members John Carson and Jaqueline Pearce. Carson is a delight - full of warmth and good humour - while Pearce is refreshingly candid in her insights.So often these documentaries are like a mutual back-slapping society so it's great to hear someone not afraid to give their honest opinion for a change and Pearce certainly does - Revealing Andre Morells' intense dislike for the actress Diane Clare who played his onscreen daughter, as well as offering her own withering assessment on Brook Williams' performance as her husband.
Given all the problems and disappointments that are surrounding these Blu Ray releases of Hammer films (with much of the criticism justified) this one at least appears to be free of such troubles. You could do a lot worse than this and if you want to get into classic British horror this is a great place to start, with the "Nightmare Sequence" sure to make an impression - even if the rest of the film does not.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)