Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
214
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2013
Didn't expect much but great action film,albeit in French with subtitles some times and English spoken other times,very realistic too,really gripped me from start to finish,very realistic the way the weapons were handled and used and the sound effects and other effects were good,much better than Rambo,of course he is not French..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
An amazing action film because it portrays the difference between dignity and honour, and terrorism and barbarism. There is a cost when men stand against evil. This is the story of the film. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
This true story of saving a journalist, the movie was a very intense with the french special forces saving a captured citizen from Taliban, fighting they way through to bring the journalist back to safe territory. I loved the movie even know it was in french I could understand what was going on by the body language and the subtitles.

The movie is worth seeing, I would recommend this movie for war film lovers. I would rate this movie 5/5 it was fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Really surprised at some of the reviews here. It's not a terrible film, but there is certainly nothing special about this film. There is absolutely nothing in this film you won't find in any other film about Afghanistan. A special forces op behind enemy lines goes wrong and they have to escape the Taliban. This has already been done several times, and better.

The acting is fine, except it is hard to believe these guys are special forces. They all seem a bit 'mates from the pub'-like, and not soldiers of war trained in special forces. They appear very sentimental and it turned in to a cheese-fest on many an occasion.

I doubt they had a military advisor on set. It had a bit of a 'Arnie schwarzenegger' from the 90s vibe, when the soldiers presumably forget their training, and in a show of machoism and cheesiness, take on the entire Taliban while standing in a line together out in the open. As the film progresses it becomes all too familiar and predictable. You wait for the inevitability of soldiers being picked off or shot in the limbs. You know its coming and your expectations are never wide of the mark.

You don't get a sense of the dramatic-ness or hardship of the journey they embark on, and that falls to the director, who did an awful job in my opinion. Production and location were good, but again the director and cinematography really let them down. It was very difficult to get a sense of relativeness in the camera shots. Everything felt compact and so scripted - like every scene was done with little thought as to the overall shape of the battlefield or even the area. It was the usual tale of anonymous (read dehumanised) Taliban fighters walking into the path of the soldiers wherever and whenever they happened to be.The fighting really lacked any thought, creativity, or planning.

In the end this was a standard middle eastern escape story with poor direction. It's sentimentality equaled that of any American movie. It was watchable but you won't see anything new.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2016
OK, massive plot hole: Its a 'Special Forces' film - which doesnt feature any American S.F. no Steven Seagul, no Sly Stalone, not even Bruce Willis - and thats a problem for many movie viewers. Oh and not enough explosions.

Putting that aside, and suspending disbelief that other countries do make this kind of movie (even the cheese eating surrender monkies)... its rather good. Excellent film, supeb and believable acting. 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Discovered this film by accident.

Very well made film that matches or exceed most films of a similar type that come out of Hollywood.

Give it a go!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Great film, great story, comfortably competes with any Hollywood effort without ridiculous Americanisms! Ignore anyone worries about subtitles, it's so well made you won't notice them, the acting is good enough to follow the story, you'll love it, if you are reading this to ease any doubt about choosing this film, worry not, it's brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2015
Who are these idiots giving dissing this film, and giving it one star. IT'S NOT REAL LIFE, PEOPLE - IT'S A FILM !!. I was in the special forces ( yeah, really) and i loved this film. Like i enjoyed Rambo and Schwarzenegger's Commando. The 4x4 going down the hill in that film was b*llocks.....but good fun : it's not real life....so you critics.....get over yourselves and rate this as it should be rated - ie as an enjoyable action film. If you want an 'in your face', TRUE and gritty film in this genre, get Kajacki. Respect to the Paras. Ps - My dvd didn't have subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Female journalist kidnapped in Pakistani tribal territory after interviewing very brave Afghani woman.
Rescued by French Special Forces and pursued by obsessed misogynistic Taliban leader Zaif and his brain washed cohorts.
There is plenty of shooting and rooting for the F.S.F & the journalist Elsa and her friend & colleague Amen. It is filmed on location in the amazing scenery of the Hindu Kush. Diane Kruger does not appear resplendent in make up ( though she does have clean hair throughout ) and is believable as a journalist in a dangerous situation. It was for me a very watchable war movie but which also showed the the darkness of the Taliban and the terrible way they treat women. The subtitles were not a problem for me at all.
I watched this on love film instant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
The problem with many French films is that many French people see the cinema as a form of art and not as entertainment.

In spite of having lived for more than half of my life in French-speaking Switzerland and speaking the language as a native (after 25 years, it was about bloody time), I tend to avoid French films. Unless you have a PhD in some arty subject AND are very boring, you won't enjoy French films.

Special Forces is an exception. A journalist (played by the beautiful Diane Kruger) gets kidnapped in Afghanistan and a group of French special forces soldiers come to the rescue. Similar stories have been told before and you cannot call the film original, but it is fun. Lots of action. No musings about politics and whether the West should have intervened in Afghanistan at all, just poor adrenalin.

I thoroughly recommend it. Ooooouuuaaaiiiiii!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)