Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 April 2017
I liked it but reading and humer is a personal thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2017
This book has no structure, which makes it very hard to read, the writing style is poor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2011
This book is a little treasure. June Wolfe's writing draws you into her world on her little farm in Spain. When you've read it, you feel you know her! If you love animals and people, you will not be able to put this down and will be hoping for more! I've had the joy of staying at Cortijo los Lobos on two occasions, so I have the advantage of being able to picture it all in my mind as it happened. Once you have "fallen in" to "No Time for a Siesta," you will long to visit there and experience the magic for yourself. This book is the second best thing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2012
I read 'No time for a siesta' in the Kindle edition. For anyone considering living in this lovely part of Spain the book gives a realistic picture of the trials and satisfactions of dealing with the country, the weather and a tiresome bureaucracy. The books title says it all. The sense and sensitivity of Clive and June come across in their relationships with people and animals and they deserve success with their venture.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2012
A heart warming story of the ups and downs of moving to Spain, thoroughly enjoyable read and it puts life in Spain into perspective, no rose tinted glasses just real life with good times and bad, highly recommended!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2012
As a previous reviewer said, not too much about Spain and the changes encountered in moving there. Lots and lots and...... lots about animals - the reader gets the message pretty quickly and therefore repetition is not necessary!

It also read like a round robin Christmas type 'aren't we great' written piece. A lot of posturing about how clever the kids are/what they can do/how popular they are etc. All in all written with a certain amount of smugness about it.

As appears to be the nature of the writer - it is erratic and jumps about time-wise. It isn't really a story - more a series of reports about animal experiences.

Should be in the animal section kindle.
55 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2012
This is a well wriiten book about a young family and trials and tribulations of moving to Spain and starting up their businesses
It covers several years, the book takes you through the family's integration with Spanish life, passes through hard times to a sucessful holiday letting business. An inspiration to people wanting to do the same. To make life more difficult, the family take on a collection of distressed animals, whereas others take on the odd dog or cat, they take on several horses. The book is interesting and unique in this respect.
One downside is that it reads like the sort of "round robin" family's send one another once a year. Intersting if you know the family, no so if you don't. The story does tend to jump about a bit, forward a few years then back again.
This is not the type of book to read if you are thinking of moving to Southern Spain, lots of other books do this, which makes this book pleasantly different,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2011
A lovely book - thoroughly enjoyed it. June brings to life the ups, downs, trials, tribulations and triumphs of escaping the rat race and building a "good life" in Spain. Looking forward to the next one ...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2013
I read this sort of book to get an insight into the trials and tribulations of taking up residence in a new country, and hoping to learn a bit about the country itself and the people who live there. This particular book fell a fair distance short.

In this instance I learned a lot about the author's animals, a little about her family (which was a pity, because they seemed to be deserving of greater coverage), and not much else.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book..........simply couldn't put it down and read it all in one go! Having lived in the the area for some years, I can honestly say that the accuracy is spot on. It must have been a difficult task to encapsulate thirteen years in such a slim volume but the author has achieved this amazingly well. I can highly recommend No time for a siesta: 1 Congratulations on your family's successes and we wish you many more productive years ahead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)