Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2012
I enjoyed reading this on my kindle, old fashioned nursing.......
I am not a nurse or work in the nhs sector, I was able to understand Joan's story.
Read if you like the "funny stories" that Joan has experienced. I did giggle at the young man with his bits stuck in his zip - no lasting injuries!
I have popped another book on kindle to read next from written from Joan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Picked this up being interested in the 60's but noted on the introduction page that she didn't qualify until 1971 and didn't record it until the 80's
There is a significant difference in these decades. Still interesting and enjoyable but title misleading.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
I enjoyed the stories of a busy night in A & E, but don't understand why the book is called Matron on Call, when there is no mention of a matron at all - and why lead readers to expect stories of a 1960's nurse, when it was about the 1980's?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
As a nurse I also trained in the mid sixties both SRN and SCM I thoroughly enjoyed the book,it brought back many memories of nursing around that time I don't think you need to be a nurse to appreciate it though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
This book should be a MUST for all student nurses/midwives then perhaps we may have a caring profession instead of the rather lacking one we currently have.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
am a trained nurse myself, and it was so "true to everyday life" in some aspects but of course set in a different era! my mum and my sister neither who are nurses, however still loved the book, very well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
an excellent book,which evoked many memories from my younger days.youngsters today don't know how lucky they are, in the modern welfare state.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I enjoyed Joan's first book but not so much this one. To me, it was a book about a New Years Eve shift in Accident and Emergency. As a nurse myself, I felt that some of the book didnt 'ring true' somehow. I also found her to be a little too self congratulary for my liking. All in all a good read, but not one of my favourites.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
I read this book and whilst it was on par (style and pace wise with her first book), I found the format of the book a tad bizare, whilst she did say at the start of the book that what happened in the book was over several 'new years', I then felt that the book seemed to be slightly disjointed as because the story flowed (and it did and was connected very well), I didn't know whether the stories happened at the same night (at that particular time), or over several years and she has just condensed them. So whilst I enjoyed the book 'per say' I couldn't quite conjoin the timeline together so was left feeling a tad confused.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
As an outsider I found this insider view of A&E riveting. I couldn't put the book down. Hope Joan has more anecdotes in store for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)