Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 27 December 2016
I don't read many good books with a first person POV but I've never read a book when that POV is an imaginary friend. I loved the imaginative and novel idea of finding out about Max and his world through the eyes of his imaginary friend Budo. The book kept me gripped throughout and there was enough action, twists and unexpected turns to keep the reader wondering what Budo was going to do next. Max was described really well. I won't give it away but I recognised his characteristics and was so glad Budo was in his life. All the supporting characters were well written and seemed 'real' even though some of them were imaginary too. Well done Matthew Green. I would recommend this book to children and adults alike. Thank you especially for writing Max.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
I like books that have an unusual point of view and that get me looking at the world from a different angle. This book did that. I was intrigued throughout by the voice of the imaginary friend, and who he was and how he experienced the world based on the imagination of the little boy that created him. The boy has autism, which I suppose is why people want to compare this book with 'The curious incident of the dog in the nighttime'. But the book isn't about the boy. It is about the imaginary friend and his ultimate fear that he will cease to exist once the boy stops believing in him. There are complex questions here of what makes you real as a person, your purpose in life, and doing the right thing - so plenty of stuff to keep your inner philosopher engaged. At the same time, the style of writing flows easily, it is smart and funny. There is also a bit of a suspense story, which gives the book a good balance between entertainment and unique narrative voice.

The only reason why I haven't given this book a full five stars is because about half way through that suspense story is overpowering the narrative voice a little bit. It could have done with just a touch of more editing here, but I still read through it cheerfully.

Overall, I declare this book one of my favourites of the last five years, and I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2013
Budo is the imaginary friend of Max, a bright but severely introverted eight year old boy with many fears and who hates change. Max has depended on Budo to get him through each day for the last five years - five years is long time for an imaginary friend to exist.

Budo knows everything about Max, and he also knows that he will continue to exist only as long as Max needs him. So when he realises that Max is in danger Budo knows that he is the only one who can save him, but he is torn between what to do and whose interests should come first, his or Max's.

Budo provides his own account of life with Max, and of the drama that is about to unfold. So the novel is written in the words of the imaginary friend of an eight year old boy, a boy who knows only what Max knows along with what he himself has learnt. As such it is charmingly expressed in a mixture of naivety and the wisdom of the creation of an intelligent eight year old boy. Over the course of events Budo is faced with the questions of friendship, love, loyalty and self-sacrifice.

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friends is a delightful read, heart-warming, moving and heart-rending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2014
This is one of the most charming, and informative books I have ever read ... And I read for a living! The personality of Budo is fascinating and absolutely inspiring. The description of Max and his specific problems is sympathetically informative - great for anyone dealing with an ASD child.

There are elements to the story that are genuinely scary and the overall plot is disturbing so this is not a book for children, but would be fine for young teenagers and upwards - to be recommended to them in fact.

This falls into a small category of books like Wonder, Curious Incident of the Dog in the night-time, Mockingbird and London Eye Mystery - and even The Thing with Finn - that bring different kinds of social challenges to life in a way that makes you really root for the 'guy with a problem' - but because you are wholeheartedly enjoying the story, not because 'you should'.

If you have enjoyed any one of them, seriously, read the others too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2012
A book written from the perspective of Budo, an imaginary friend of Max who I believe is on the autism scale. Max's father doesn't believe anything is wrong where as his mother wants to get him checked out.

Max is bullied and treated very harshly by the kids at his mainstream school, but because Max has Budo he finds he can cope with the bully that wants to kill him (a child's version of kill, which is very frightening nonetheless). Max and Budo also love Mrs Gosk one of the teachers at school who knows how to teach, don't just teach

Max eventually disappears and it is down to Budo to save him, risking his own life in the process. Can an imaginary friend who can't be seen by any human other than Max find him and bring him to safety?

A really nicely written, poignant read, dealing with issues that could seem to be cliched if not written correctly.

I wish I would have had a friend like Budo when I was growing up.

If you have kids, let them have their imaginary friends in their life and encourage them to keep them alive - I'm sure you will agree once you read the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2012
I wanted to read this book as soon as I saw it in a book shop window! I was not disappointed! I thought that it was such an original idea to write a story from an imaginary friends point of view

If you liked Room then you will like this book-a lot ofg the novel is in child speak and is quite funny in parts.

I am a teacher myself and loved reading a story from the side of a child who has educational needs- very eye opening! Couldn't give it the full 5 stars as there was just something missing- would have liked a little more from the boy (Max's) point of view and less of the imaginary friends xxx enjoy- well worth a wierd if you like something a bit different xxx
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2014
Wow - What a book! I read this in a couple of days and was utterly absorbed in Budo and Max's world - I laughed, cried and experienced every other emotion in between while reading this book! A brilliant concept to write a book from the perspective of an imaginary friend, it's not something I have ever come across before. I would recommend this book to anyone and especially those who enjoyed Room by Emma Donoghue or Mark Haddens The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nightime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2012
I think there is a lot more to this book than simply an enchanting story. On one level it is a brilliant portrayal of Max with his 'special needs' and the nature of friendship, and on another level it raises the questions of the nature of reality and the various realities beyond what is perceived through the senses, and life beyond physical life.
Budo is wonderful not only for his loyalty but also for his honesty (his fear of disappearing) and his concern for Max's safety is poingnantly portrayed. All the characters are realistic (even the 'imaginary ones!) and the suspense throughout is truly gripping.
I loved this book!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2015
If you've not read it yet - read it.

Can't recommend this book highly enough, a really refreshing idea - the rules of being an imaginary friend, and how they help their little people deal with the world. Was amazed how quickly I got drawn in and cared about the characters, and an intriguing storyline too - didn't want it to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2013
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It draws you in and keeps you there; I found it so hard to put down and finished it in 2 days (Yes, I read well into the night, thus the suitcases under my eyes!)
Made me laugh, cry, sigh and think....
To be perfectly honest I cried when I finished it, this is a keeper which will be re-read many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here