Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 23 May 2015
Excellent and fast delivery, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2017
Simply great! The series gives a highly interesting and entertaining insight into the period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed At Home with the Georgians. I like the way Amanda Vickery used the home as a vehicle to explore Georgian social life and attitudes, particularly her exploration of sexual divisions and the roles of women. The examples she uses of the women trapped in controlling relationships in the homes of their male family members are quite heartbreaking, and show the misery of restricted if somewhat privileged lives. During the 1980s I visited the curious house A la Ronde which is featured in the second episode. The house is crammed full of examples of middle class "female handiwork", shell work and quilling.

It would have been interesting to see examples of the homes of people at the lower end of the social scale, such as farm workers and poor urban dwellers, although these would be much harder to find. The houses used are mainly aristocratic and middle class homes, although the series does touch on the workhouse and its principle of less eligibility in the last episode. This is an excellent three part series and would be complemented by further work on this period and topic.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Looking at these 3 Discs it is like opening a window and looking through at the most intimate parts of these Georgians lives, incredibly sad at the deal that a lot of the women where dealt with in their lives whether servant girl or gentle woman, living on a knife edge of respectability and finance with absolutely no safety net in the event of a change of circumstances. Some of the difficulties that they got them selves into where quite heart wrenching and makes me realize what a cushioned existence that most of us now live in. I have often thought that Jane Austen and her sister and mother where trapped in what was degrading circumstances and this is brought into focus in one of the episodes, sad for such a talented lady to be in such a predicament as to be totally reliant on the hand outs of others, and it was not only the women who where living stressed and uncertain lives, and we must also remember that there where many layers of society below these and their lot was even worst.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
I OFTEN ADORED DEARLY, AMANDA GOING ON ABOUT DELVING THROUGH LOVE-LETTERS; I FELT THAT SHE RECOGNISED ME VERY VERY WELL. HERE THERE ARE OIL-PAINTINGS IN MY MARBLE BATHROOM. BUT HOW MANY OF THOSE SUITORS LOST THEIR BRIDE IN THE BEDCHAIMBRE? BUT ALL THE UNWANTED BEAU ESPRITS COULD'NT SHED THE ROSEPETALS FROM SUCH A BRILLIANT SERIES. IT WAS JUST THIS EVER=HAUNTING SORROW THAT SHADED THE LIGHT OUT, FOR ME. DAMPENING THE CLOUDS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2011
Really getting into the lives of a wide variety of Georgians from single women at home to lonely men who couldn't find a wife, it was fascinating and brought out the social history of the Georgians. The presenter was very knowledgeable and very easy to warm to and obviously fascinated by and her subject. Her enthusiasm was catching.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
I LOVE this! The brilliant Prof. Amanda Vickery brings to the screen a perfect blend of humour, historical accuracy and human interest. Sex, scandal, snobbery, stately homes and security 18th century style - highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
Good production and well researched topic. It is a brief insight into an era that shaped our visual approach to the beauty of our homes. In my opinion the episodes should have been longer and each character/home described more in depth. The only flaw lies in the script: the over use of 'domesticity' and 'testosterone' was annoying, and the whole vocabulary content a bit too simple.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
I missed this first time around when shown on telly and only saw the last half hour of the last episode and was smitten.
I promised myself I would get the DVD if ever released and so I did. It is just sheer magic, the costumes, details and the actors themselves bring the whole era back to life. The presenter talks with real passion on this subject of the home and just pulls you into the magic of it all. Really do advise to make this your next purchase.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Has bad reviews but as Lucy Worsley is not on DVD looking forward to a bit of history
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)