Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 26 January 2012
Pro's
- The Price
- It's very solid once put together. It took me 2 hours with an electric screw driver. Highly recommend using a drill or electric screw driver for this.
- The drawer and keyboard slide systems are good quality
- Good size space for chair and legs. Other desks can be narrow there.

Con's
- It's chip board covered with a black and grey plastic membrane. This is actually fine given the price just don't expect high quality MDF.
- As mentioned before it is not solid black, more of a grey speckle. To be honest it is fairly subtle.

Overall
- I'm pleased but a little surprised by the plastic membrane covering. I'm interested to see how it reacts to wear and tear. For the money, a good buy.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2012
The end product looked good and was sturdy.
One note on the color - it is actually a grainy grey on black, not pure black. It looked fine amongst modern black furniture so not an issue for me.
The delivery to central London was done by Citylink and was dispatched the day after I placed the order, allowing for arrival 2 days after placing the order.
The instructions were good, but there is no getting around the fact that it will take time to assemble, and all of the usual rules apply for flat pack furniture.
The only minor design issue is with the storage space on the left hand side. The CD area is quite narrow so it is of limited utility for even the OEM CDs that I have. The shelves are also of questionable value if the desk is up against the wall.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2012
The table is absolutely fantastic. As a fit 27 year old man, carefully reading step-by-step slowly, it took 3 hours to put the table together (5-8pm), but it was worth it :) Some hints are included below for any future buyers as the instructions, while are well annotated and described - are not visually great (ie: use the picture on Amazon for assistance to build, a square piece of board with one side marked with a rubber foot or a drawer roller, is not properly detailed, you have to work it out yourself!)

When assembling the drawer's filing cabinet wheel, use the first/nearest screw hole to the ball-wheel thing, as the same horizontal angle as the wheel itself (for both left and right rollers). Note, that the one mistake in the construction is the main long back board (the horizontal long bit nearest your wall that joins the right drawer to the left side with the cd rack/shelf etc). Once constructed, you can't tighten to nut as there's no room for a screwdriver behind this board. However, once you get the top table into place (a challenge, but make sure all nuts are loosened to give you room to place it on) it is already sturdy enough to hold the top desk.

Otherwise, quick delivery, fantastic table, well worth it! As long as your genuinely take your time in building it should be fine, and once constructed, is one of the most professional and sturdy tables you'll ever see!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2012
This is seriously the best flat pack i have ever put together. Everything was labeled and each different type of screw was placed in a separate bag with a label on it so you could easily see what you were supposed to use. It comes in 2 boxes and took me about 2 half hours to build on my own. It looks nice and is very sturdy.

You even get a very god quality Phillips screw driver :D

Highly reccomend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2013
I normally HATE chip board products as they are badly made, chip very easily and don't last very long as the damp in the air destroys the glue that holds the wood chips together then the product crumbles apart after a couple of years.
This product is chip board BUT it is completely sealed in a rather sturdy plastic shell that would make the product last much londer (best use of chip board ive ever seen).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
Positives:
- Massive surface area on the top desk when competing to my old desk, and especially board for the keyboard is much longer that I expected it to be. Very useful when you need extra space for your keyboard and mouse!

- Nice material used. I expected it to look, and feel 'cheap', because to be honest, this desk isn't very expensive, so I wasn't expecting it to be that good. It still isn't real luxury wood, but hey - for the price that you are paying, this is a very good deal! Just remember, it isn't pure black color, it has dark gray spots all over it, third picture doesn't really show it. It makes it look good though.

- Replace parts and a free screwdriver. Piranha included a lot of replacement parts if you happen to lost any screw, and a screwdrivers that isn't really that great, but it does the job. Nice touch.

Negatives:
- Some parts of the desk were slightly damaged. They had white scratches, and laminated material that covers the MDF comes off at some corners. I guess the courier wasn't really taking care of it on the road. It isn't a real trouble because in my case, most visible parts of the desk are in a good condition, and only 'non-visible parts' are damaged. But someone might have less luck than I do, and those scratches really stand out.

- Holes for screws are laminated. I wasted 5 minutes wondering where is the one spot for the one screw until I realized it wasn't visible because it was laminated. Use a pen or even the screwdriver that they give you to make space for screws. Watch out for that!

- Assembly Instruction has errors in it! Just watch out for step number 7, because it gives you wrong information about holes that you need to put screws in it. I personally have skipped step 7, then I did all steps up to step 10, because that gave me exact place for 'slider thing' after I placed the board that shelf was 'sitting' on.

- If you are planning to fit PS3/Xbox 360 game, or a DVD/Blu Ray movie (whole box) into CD storage - you can't. There is just not enough space. I personally have removed every second plastic 'barrier' with hot knife, and that game me extra space for game boxes, not just CDs. I advise you to do so, if you are planning to keep your movies in this CD storage.

- Space provided to hold your computer isn't big enough if you are using Full Tower case for your computer. You will have to remove metal barrier to just fit your computer. And if your case has vents on the left hand side - you can't forget about them, because they will be completely blocked by the board on the left. Also, board behind the computer makes it hard to plug any cables, because half of the computer back is blocked (I had to move computer away from the back to give some space for the cables and ventilation). I plan to do some 'saw action' when my new Full Tower case will arrive, just to give some extra space for air flow.

- Get yourself a drill for a love of God. Because screwing all those screws with the screwdriver provided is a pain in the ass to be honest. It is just so many, many, many screws, that my hand was begging for amputation.

- It takes ~3 hours to put this desk together. And I wasn't doing it on my own. It isn't really an negative, maybe I just suck at it. But just be ready to spend some time with all kinds of plastic bags filled with all kinds of screws, that need to meet up with some boards.

Overall, I recommend this desk. It looks great, and it's big. That's most important thing for me, as a dual-monitor user. Just watch out for the negatives I have wrote out, and that's why I rate it 4 stars, not 5 - nothing is perfect! But it is a really good desk, for amazing rip-off price of 80 pounds, because it looks much more expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2013
Turned up 2 days before the delivery estimate, packaged really well, easy to understand building instructions (took about 1 hour 30 mins to put together). The desk is a perfect size, not too large and is perfect if you have a 24" plus monitor so it gives you enough space to take it all in! Really chuffed with this as good quality product for a very decent price
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
One of the more well made computer desks you will find and one of the largest that is not a corner desk either.
The desk itself took 3 hours to build on my own. all lock in nuts are pre-installed to the parts and everything is clearly labelled, on top of this the instruction manual is exceptionally clear.

The space for a computer tower is mostly catered for mid towers although it can fit a Coolermaster Haf-X so long as the padded bar is removed, otherwise a case thinner than 23cm, less than 61cm in height and no more than 58cm deep will fit comfortably. A single 27" monitor will take up the entire width between the glass plate and the edge of the main desk space.

The one issue is that neither the sites that sell this desk or the instruction manual itself provide the exact dimensions for the tower space.

Otherwise it is an exceptional desk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2013
Delivery was as promised.

Desk came very well packed. Assembly instructions were very clear and all the fittings were individually bagged and labelled along with (amazingly) a bag of spare parts! In my experience of flat pack furniture the instructions and presentation of the parts is the best I have encountered. Assembly was fairly easy for one person but 1 or 2 stages were a bit fiddly and would have been better done in a slightly different order.

As previously mentioned the finish is a grey speckled black and seems to have been shrink wrapped on so there are very few, and no visible, edges of laminate to catch. Time will tell on the durability.

It could be improved with a desk hutch and the option of left of right handed versions (one end is curved) but all-in-all I am very pleased, especially with the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2012
LARGE COMPUTER DESK in Black with A4 Suspension File Drawer by Piranha Trading Ltd with FREE EXPEDITED DELIVERY (PC14g)

The build quality of the desk is very good and the packaging was also of a very high standard but the best aspect of the desk is the building instructions. All of the different size screws were individually packaged together and clearly labbelled with length and thread size so there was no chance of using the wrong screws with the wrong part during the construction process. Each piece of the desk is also clearly labelled.

Once built the desk is very sturdy and has plenty of working space without taking over the room. I would not hesitate to purchase another product from Piranha Trading. Very good value for money even before the free delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)