Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
67
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2009
I find this compelling. It preserves and communicates all the feelings and emotions of the astronauts on the hazardous Apollo missions better than any other film has. They tell the story, as it happens, through their own "home video" taken throughout all the Apollo missions. It's an irony that we've become so familiar with the jerky, spontaneous style of home recording recently- a result of You Tube, mobile phones and films like Cloverfield. This film made use of the intimacy of this style long before any of those were around.

I first saw this documentary film when it was screened on the BBC around the time of the 20th anniversary of the moon landings in 1989. I recorded it on videotape and watched it over and over again throughout my late teenage years. Unfortunately, my life moved on and the VHS format became obsolete. By the time I finished university, my parents had thrown it away. So, now I'm reserving a DVD copy and expect to be hooked all over again.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I've been looking for a copy of this ever since I dumped my old VCR - along with an old VHS recording - and figured I'd take a punt on the Blu-Ray version as it wasn't much more than the standard DVD.

Having seen some other supposed HD documentaries covering this period I wasn't holding out much hope for more than a cleaned up video transfer but Criterion have done a stunning job here - this has to be the best quality I have seen of the Apollo era. Obviously there is some low quality footage - in particular from some of the on-board handheld cameras & TV transmissions but for the most part everything else is superb (presumably much coming from the 16mm scientific camera's that most missions carried).

For All Mankind presents the Apollo story in a unique way - bringing together clips from all the missions to combine and tell the story in the form of a single trip to the moon and back. Accompanied by occasional inciteful quotes from the Astronauts involved and underscored by Brian Eno's wonderfully atmospheric soundtrack this is a 79 minute journey that you really feel you are accompanying those 24 fortunate men on.

If you are looking for a documentary with in depth narration then look elsewhere you won't find what you are looking for here - there are countless formal documentaries out there (try NASA's Greatest Missions as a start).
For All Mankind is something else - a grand story told as such - and that's what makes it so special.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
This is a spectacular documentary film. Chronicling the events that occurred during the Apollo missions. Showcasing the greatest achievement that man has ever undertaken, landing on the surface of another world. It is accompanied by the brilliant work of ambient artist Brian Eno (formerly of Roxy Music), creating soundscapes that make you feel as you're floating in space with the astronauts. If you're looking to understand, or you already understand, just why the Apollo missions were so important for humanity. Then I advise you watch this. If you're a moon landing conspiracist or against the NASA budget. Then I would advise something more to your taste- such as Ancient Aliens or recordings of most Republican TV show hosts.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
Having seen a larger number of documentaries and series on the moon landings , this is by far the best. The primary reason being the rare footage , the perfect quality of picture and sound, the music by Bryan Eno fits simply perfectly. When Eagle 1 ( of the Apollo 11 mission) leaves the moon surface the only background sound is 'Ascent ' by Bryan Eno, these 2 minutes or so is probably the climax of the approach this dvd has : less narrative and more music, footage taken from the astronauts not previously seen in other documentaries. In my opinion for this scene only its worth having this dvd. Apart from this scene, other footage is breathtaking and I recommend this dvd to anyone who has an interest to mankind's greatest achievement to date perhaps
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Most of the footage on this DVD, I have never seen before and I've been a huge fan of the Apollo programme.
Lots of commentary from the astronauts themselves.
Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
This documentary is, believe it or not, already twenty-one years old. How time flies...
Made sixteen years after the last Apollo mission was flown (I consider the Spacelab Missions as being a further stretch of the Apollo Program, just like the Apollo-Soyuz Mission being originally named "Apollo 18"), this is a complex "collage" of all the Lunar Apollo Missions ever flown (from Apollo 8 to Apollo 17 - I don't think I have spotted any material from Apollo 7, but I may be mistaken).

What is celebrated here, is not A single mission, but the entire development of the program. Therefore, many segments jump from mission to mission, choosing the best ever filmed material, in order to form one single mission.

The whole work is accompanied by the actual soundtrack of comments and communications made during the missions, together with a very well chosen music track by Brian Eno. Never overbearing, this musical compilation appears discreetly throughout this relatively short documentary.

What it does achieve, in the end, is to recreate the feel and the ambiance felt by those who lived these missions at the time they were flown.

This is truly a tiny masterpiece in the documentary genre.

This DVD is never boring. Moreover, it has some very poignant and emotionally charged moments and the images are strikingly vivid and clear.

Originally released by Criterion in the United States, this DVD also includes new interviews with the Film maker and the custodian of the NASA film vaults.

Well worth watching and highly recommended by someone who knows something about the Apollo Missions...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Great product fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
Great transfer and great programming!

It best picture quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2009
Over the years I have watched and owned many of the various DVD, and now all the Blu Ray, releases of documentaries on Space Exploration and this really is a phenomenal docu/film. As has been stated by other Amazon buyers, the NASA's Greatest Missions boxset on Blu Ray is a superb record of NASA's achievements but, apart from some of the shuttle footage, it doesn't really benefit from the Blu Ray format: For All Mankind is a totally different story! The quality is truly breathtaking. Having wanted the Criterion region A version since release I was thrilled to see the same version being released in the UK by Masters of Cinema. The film footage has been scanned from the, unfrozen, original NASA film archives with eye-popping clarity. This coupled with the candid interview dialogue track from 20 of the 24 Apollo Astronauts has created a cinematic tour de force. If you are at all interested in Space Exploration this is by far the most accessible and visually stunning of any Blu Ray or DVD release you can buy on the subject.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2016
Goods as exactly as described, excellent condition and quality and arrived early
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse