Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
96 Hours
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.02


on 21 November 2011
Scientist Erica Ryan is flying home to the USA after an unsuccessful business trip to London. She isn't in the best of moods, all she wants to do is to get home and sleep in her own bed.

Abby Hayes is flying to New York City to spend a few days with her mother before flying off to visit friends in San Francisco.

Neither women will reach their destinations. Their plane has been diverted to Gander, Canada following the closure of USA airspace due to the tragic events of 9/11.

Standoffish Erica first notices Abby in the airport before their departure. She wasn't enamoured with Abby's flighty friendly happy go lucky ways.

When Erica and Abby find themselves thrown together in Gander for 96 hours, initially Erica is not happy. But then both women find themselves feeling attracted to one another.

Will Erica and Abby act on their attraction? Will they even remain friends when they return to their everyday lives? Or are their feelings caused by the tidal wave of emotions felt due to the devastation of 9/11?

Although this book is a fictional romance, it has obviously been well researched and is based on stories following the horrendous events of 9/11. An event, although happening on USA soil affected the whole world in many ways.

This is not just a romance. There is a lot of heartfelt emotion and feeling in this book. It is a story of how kind people can be and how they will rally together in times of great need. A story told with compassion. A story of personal conflict and personal change. A story of how love can come from the deepest despair and the disastrous events of 9/11.

The characters Erica and Abby couldn't be more different, but opposites do attract. There is a fantastic cast of supporting characters,each and every one of them essential to the story, which moves along smoothly and quickly. My one wish would have been for a longer book. I really didn't want this book to end. Another winner for Georgia Beers.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
Not sure about this one, i think after reading all the reviews i was excited to read this and expecting greatness but felt kinda let down. I fell in love with georgia beers probably through the first few chapters of "to close to touch" and that book remans my favourite book ever to date! but since then everything else i've read by her seems to lack something. This book just seemed to up and down, one minuet your dealing with the atrocity of 9/11 then the next minuet a love story, and i know people all did things they wouldn't normally do during this time but as a outsider reading it was hard to switch between all the emotions, the characters just didn't seem believable. To some extend i also felt this book was a platform for the author to voice her many opinions on 9/11, which again i cant really blame her for as i can imagine that being a hard thing to resist. Maybe i just found this a hard topic for a back drop of a romance love story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 November 2011
Two very different women on their way to New York experience 96 extraordinary hours of grief, love, laughter, goodness and evil when their plane is rerouted to Gander, Canada on 9/11 2001.

Abby is a free spirit who travels the world and Erica is a serious workaholic, but when they are forced (with about 6-7000 other stranded passengers...) to endure each other's company until US airspace once again opens and they can return to their daily lives, they - and the people around them - start to change and find new priorities in life.

This is a difficult subject because it is still so close to our lives and the after-effects of the attacks are very much apparent to this day - I don't think anybody has forgotten exactly where they were when they first heard - and it's a difficult task to strike the balance between the anger and sadness and the positive elements of selflessness shown by the locals when "the world came to town" and also appropriately describe the desire and blossoming feelings the two protagonists have for each other, but I think the author (as with most of her books!) has done it.

The romance and desire works, the characters are pretty well cast and the writing is fluent and although there were moments in the book where I thought I'd read of "the kindness in her face" one too many times, it is a good book about days that truly did change lives.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
96 Hours I have read quite a few books by ms Beers. Slices of Life, Snow Globe are light hearted romance books.

She then comes out with a gem of a book. 96 hours is based on that fateful day of 9/11. We find 4 people thrown together, Abby, Erica, Brian and Michael, in the small town of Gander.

I am really pleased that the publishers had agreed that she should write this book. I think this should be classed as a classic. Ms Beers. Tells it how it was. The confusion, loss but also the unfailing love and help they got from the people of Gander.

America had the Twin Towers, England had 7/7 and the subway, underground, explosions. Both countries lost a lot of people so I feel that everyone should read this.

In the midst of all this we find four people who change because of it but will Erica and Abby find what they are looking for...

Finally I feel that this book is written for all those like the population of Gander who helped all these misplaced people. Finally we remember those that we have loved and lost both at 7/7 and 9/11. May they Rest In Peace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
Georgia Beers hasn't written a novel which I didn't like very much and I dare say "96 Hours" is her best!

I don't think even we non-Americans will ever forget 9/11 (the TV reports are still very alive in my head) and this novel tells the story of people who, flying towards New York on the fateful morning, survived.

So, this novel deals with a lot of very serious issues, but is also full of love and laughter, of wonderful people helping each other. It tells about how this tragedy changed people, for the better.

And there is the love story - two wonderfully created characters, first opposite as two people can be, and through growing, find themselves loving each other.
A wonderful novel! Thank you Georgia for writing it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
Such a difficult setting but handled so carefully and with such empathy by Georgia Beers.
I've had this book for a while but with another anniversary of 9/11 just passed I felt I wanted to read it again, to be reminded of the goodness of people in the face of such devastating events.
To weave a gentle love story into the few days and weeks following 9/11 must have taken painstaking care and this book has to remain joint favourite from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
This is probably my favourite Georgia Beers book, telling the story of two women and several other characters who are diverted to Gander, Canada in the wake of 9/11. It is impossible for anyone who was not involved to now the torment those passengers went through, but Georgia Beers manages to tell a wonderful love story intermingled with the sadness and uncertainty of all the passengers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
An excellent story, which really helped me to understand how those caught up in the events of 9/11 felt. I hadn't realised how many planes were diverted away from American airspace and the effect that had on the people involved.
Based on true events, I found it very moving and it also shows how wonderful we can be to each other in times of need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Absolutely fabulous reading and so moving it made me cry. I especially didn't realise, that during 9/11 the Canadians helped all those other people who could not get home. I was at home when the terrible thing happened, watching the TV, just so awful, I still think about it just like you all do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Beautiful, heartwarming, superbly written. Georgia Beers does it again with what could so easily be a true story.

The only negative point? There is so much more to be told about Abby and Erica's story, this desperately deserves a sequel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fresh Tracks
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here