Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
84
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2012
This is a fantastic horror thriller, a very dark and gory story about a serial killer following the patterns in stories written by Edgar Allan Poe in the last few days of his life, this to me is a very underrated movie and deserves more credit as it is very good, well directed and has a great cast and has some very bloody gory macabre scenes of death. The movie keeps you interested throughout and for a fictionalized movie was one of the best in a while, make sure you watch this you might be surprised, the bluray picture quality is very good and there are a few features too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
I watched this last night,and was rivetted from start to finish.I enjoyed this more than Sherlock Holmes.It starts with the mystery (in truth )concerning the authors death,one of his last words being"Reynolds".A serial killer is copying the murders in Poes books,and there are quite a few grisly ones.When his fiance disappears,he has to join forces with the police to track down the killer via the clues he is leaving.John Cusack is excellent as Poe.i never guessed the killer until the end and what a good ending it is.Great stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
I turned this film off after 30 minutes as I was falling asleep. I thought it would be a similar film to the likes of, From Hell and Sweeney Todd, but it bored me rigid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Really enjoyed this film, great atmosphere with the foggy streets, good cast, and some great murders which is always essential lol. Actually thought after the first few scenes wiith poe it was going to be nonesense but it soon settled down to a riveting serial killer flick
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
Not only was I stunned to see so many glowing reviews for this movie but also that John Cusack has such a passionate fan base who somehow believe him to possess acting skills!

I understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion, so here goes.
This film is a sub standard copy of Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes. For some unknown reason the writers saw fit to turn a literary great into a one dimensional mumbling fool turned detective. The music, lighting style, cinematography and even the beginning shot of the film where the carriage runs through the puddle are the same as Sherlock Holmes and any potential aesthetic gaps are filled by nods to Tim Burtons Sleepy Hollow, Although Cusack lacks the charisma of either Depp or Downey Jr.

I read one review that suggested that the 'gifted' Nicolas Cage would have been better suited in the role.
My only statement is that the film would have been better left on the shelf.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
give this film a shot...it's great it may not be the real story of Edgar Allen Poe it's good none the less for that...John Cussack is amazing in it too. a worth while look..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
If you liked the suspense of the original, this is for you! Psychological thriller at it's best! No blood and gore, just a tad of unease running through it. Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Not to bad,pretty much what i expected!well acted by cusack and supporting cast,but plot was a little transparent at times!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed this take on the last days of Sir (should be) Edgar Allen Poe.John Cusack is excellent and so is Brendan Gleeson.Bahaus fans check it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
You can kind of see what they were trying to do with this film, but it lacks the thrills and spills needed for a successful horror/thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here