Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
48
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2014
Started watching Transatlantic Sessions in 2011 and was hooked immediately, We bought series 1 - 6 to allow more space on our HD recorder and looking forward to many evenings watching from the beginning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
I was not sure how to rate this as the content is very good but the quality of the DVD is poor and it does not come cheap either .I saw series 5 as a television programme, loved it and loved the music and the very talented Celtic and Americana musicians, saw the concert live, bought the CD which is excellent and really looked forward to receiving the DVD I ordered. Sadly the quality is fairly poor and it keeps "jumping" so to be quite honest I put it away in the cupboard and I am very disappointed. However the music is brilliant and the settings and photography in the Scottish Isles are outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
As expected, a great entertaining DVD. Watched the series on TV, so knew what was on it, but why it took a week to despatch I do not know. However, worth the wait!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
bought this dvd for my husband,s birthday he has session 1,2,3,&4 money worth spent to see him so happy listningto his favourite music
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
One of the best of an already great series. A brilliant mix of celtic and american crossover music with a contemporary edge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
This is a top class production with a world class music quality from the very best from uk and america
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Arrived when stated. If you love Scotland, and appreciate excellent musicians, watch this. I aim to buy all the back- series -one by one - as the talent assembled for each is amazing - from Scotland, Ireland, Canada, America etc. The calibre of the musicians is second to none.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
As usual with this series, it presents excellent musicianship and reflects the joy of making and sharing music. I have had the pleasure of seeing the The Transatlantic Sessions live in Birmingham in Feb 2012 and they are excellent.

The DVD is shot in a location with limited room but the acoustics and video capture the moment perfectly. I'm sure it is unreasonable to expect a 5.1 mix, which would in any case be artificial, given the recording situation.

My only slightly negative comment is that Mr Douglas does seem to be taking on something of a starring role which is slightly at odds with the ensemble ethos of the series.

If you enjoy music and wonder what TV and the charts have done to it, buy this and enjoy pure voices and skilled instrumentalists. Declan O'Rourke is a star, and his song "Galileo" is the best new song I have heard in many years. Alison Krauss has a honey voice that will melt your heart.

I hope that Mark Knopfler can be persuaded to (contractual issues notwithstanding) perform with the ensemble at some time.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
As owner of all previous TS DVDs, this one was a great listen. For the purist, I didn't feel the more evident USA blues incursion was quite right. So 4 stars out of 5 rather than 5 - but that is a very personal view.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
bought for my partner and he is really enjoying it. Also has series 6 and loves that too. No doubt he will enjoy any more he gets
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)