Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2013
We begin with a one-shot concerning Cinderella. Then a two part story with Bigby in WWII. Finally a four part tale in Fabletown as Snow gives birth.

This scattershot approach allows Willingham to show his range and stretch his literary muscles without warping a single story into directions it isn't suited to go. Each is a great example of its genre and teaches us more about the characters involved. The period story is told through narration and presented as a diary entry complete with hand written text. Even though these are modern tales there are still classic lessons to be learned from them such as be careful what you wish for and the grass isn't always greener. We also see, or rather feel, Willingham's talent for evoking emotion in us readers.

The art is great with two artists on the job this volume. The WWII story has great colours that make it seem like newsreel footage from the time. The tiny panels also mark it out as separate from the ongoing storyline. It also has a great use of a map too.

Another top quality book with a broad range of stories to tell. Thumbs Up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Yet another great instalment of the Fables saga. Lots of new beginnings for the fables; Bigby and Snow becoming parents, a new mayor, Beauty and the Beast moving up in the world and the introduction of a long lost papa. Lacking the action and excitement of the last couple, but slowly and steadily building the tension towards far greater things to come. Still one of my favourite series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Another captivating and engrossing chapter in the ongoing story of the fables. Exploring the backgrounds of some characters and how this affects the present. There are big changes in New York and you get the feeling that this is all setting things up for a very big action packed next issue.
I have loved every part of this series, from the art to the amazing imagination, one of my favourite comic properties!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I am reading all the tales in sequence and enjoy their shifting nature. No character or situation can be deemed permanent. The illustrations are beautifully drawn and rendered and the story flows easily. I cannot wait to read the next volume as I am.involved with all the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Phenomenal story.
Really cool to see some of Bigby's exploits during WW2 as well as the continuing drama of our favourite fairy tale creatures.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
The Fables series is simply fantastic. The further you delve into it the better you can see the genius of Willingham, Buckingham and co! Highly entertaining stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
One of few comic book series Fables are getting better with every issue.

Everyone who likes original stuff should give it a try!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
This is yet another book in the series which my son collects. He just loves the artwork as well as the storyline. Great value apparently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Bought as a Christmas present. What can I say, the teenage lad loved it and it looked a good quality comic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
buy for my son and husband they love these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)