Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
121
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2014
Arrived in good time. A present for my sister...a Johnny depp fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
After watching I was thinking to my self, what did I just watch ?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2017
i love this movie,,,, Its equal but diff from trainspotting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Great, dark film. A must for any Depp fans. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2016
Wonderful. Another Bruce Robinson masterpiece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
great movie with killer soundtrack first rate
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I would buy from them again but the was ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2016
Another good film film from the Depster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
This film was eagerly awaited for as I am a big fan of Hunter S Thompson and Johnny Depp.
Ive read reviews which didn't like this film as they where hoping for more of a performance from Johnny Depp which would be more like that of Fear and Loathing.
This film is always going to be onto a winner. If you've not read the book I highly
recommend you do before watching, its short and easy to read so get both at once.

The Rum Diary (Bloomsbury Classic Reads)

Hunters first book finally comes to life and is portrayed on screen very very well. An excellent cast and performance lives up to the story extremely well. The photography and direction for me was on the ball with how I visioned it to be when reading the book.
The film does drag a small amount with its length; but by its very nature it would do. As its following the book to a tee, rather than missing important situations or drawing it out into a two part saga.
Each character has been portrayed perfectly by the cast.

SPOILER ALERT!!!!

If you have read the book there is one rather uncomfortable situation toward the latter part of the film with the situation at the party. I've always wondered how this would be approached and if it would be to obscene and uncomfortable to watch on screen. With slight rework (only very minor) this has been done brilliantly, you get the idea and are aware of whats happening and about to happen without it being in full detail on screen...

If you like either Thompson, Depp, Rum, or a great movie then this will be for you. But I urge those whom have not read the book to do so first.

How well Fight Club was transformed to screen from a book The Rum Diary matches it for for doing just that, unlike that of The Beach, for example.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
Item as described and quick delivery -
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)