Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 26 March 2016
I came too these wonderful books from an long round about way , i'd just finished all the Fleming Bond books and had the ' post good book withdrawal ' phase :( . Then i remembered i'd brought the entire 'Flashman papers' about 8 years before, i'd tried reading the first book but couldn't get into it, so i gave up, after locating them , all still in their plastic wrappers, i read the first book again , i think i got to about the same part of the book i'd reached before and was starting to tire of it as the story seamed too slow , but this time i read on.

Wow once through too the end i was hooked and strait too book 2 ,Royal Flash , hmm interesting title ?.This was even better than the first book , so it was this ,'packet of the papers' that i knew i was onto something special , and Flashman himself is like the mirror image of Bond , very 'boys own' stuff lots of sex only he's a total coward. History was never funnier , even when Monty Python had a go at it , plus ask yourself ,what wars do i know about ? well of course theres the most recent stuff at the 21st century and then theres the 2 world wars, and going back before that ? err the Napoleonic wars and after that i had a bit of a blank im afraid , funny once theres no footage t.v isn't interested so we never get too hear about anything before 1900 . Well im glad to tell you the Flashman papers will soon bring you up too speed because its so well researched , most of the caricatures in the stories are real or first hand accounts of eye witness's , and f course our hero is at all the major events , i bit like Forrest Gump only not so sickening .

If your still reading this review and your wondering if you should read it yourself , i would say if you like history and Bond books ,your in for a treat also im not sure if anyone else has mentioned it but theres a film of this book too 'Royal Flash' staring Malcolm Mcdowell Oliver Reed and lots of big stars and also a young David Jason . the film is very close the book , odd that , and shot in the locations the book is set in , wow it does look lavish on screen , but it must have died at the box office , i know i'd never seen it on t.v or heard of it , its a shame coz its very good and funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2013
The second instalment in the exploits of the most fascinating of characters, Harry Flashman, begins as the first finishes in 1842, but then leaps forward to a period some 4 years later.

Flashy, fortuitously lauded after his yellow-bellied antics at the First Afghan War has become somewhat of a national hero, having been decorated by the Queen, and though he has clearly done nothing to deserve it, he will certainly not complain. Flash is still married to the beautiful but vacant Elspeth, who he now concedes is cheating on him ('You would never have thought, to see her angelic face, golden hair, and expression of idiotic innocence, that she was the biggest trollop that ever wore out a mattress'). After escaping a police raid on a brothel in London, Flash is rescued by Spanish dancer Lola Montez (and future mistress of King Ludwig I of Bavaria), insulting a young Otto Von Bismarck ('foul-mouthed foreign dog!') in the process. Flash beds her, naturally, and years later he accepts an offer he can't refuse and follows her to Munich. Yet again his propensity for wanton fornication lands him in deep water and he unwittingly becomes embroiled in an evil plan devised by the dastardly Otto, to swap him with a Danish Prince to satisfy his own political agenda.

MacDonald Fraser writes with the same wit and dedication to historical accuracy that made the first volume such a joy to read. Royal flash is just as damned funny and informative, if not more so. It has in fact encouraged me to read up on this period of history and particularly about the quite incredible story of legendary femme-fatale Lola Montez, from her Irish beginnings to Countess of Landsfeld.

We are again drawn by MacDonald Fraser to inexplicably liking a protagonist who toadies, cheats and copulates his way across Europe with little regard for anything or anybody except saving his own skin. Flashy's instinct for survival is what makes us root for him, and he will do absolutely anything, beg, lie and flee, to ensure that he does. He even exhibits the occasional bout of uncharacteristic bravery, when no other option is available to him of course.

Just like the first outing, Royal flash features a slew of real historical figures that are woven skillfully into the story, though this is the only Flashman novel to be set in a fictional setting. Aside from Von Bismarck and Montez, the boxer John Gully, Prince Edward, Ludwig I, even composer Franz Liszt all feature among others. He is a wonderfully complex character, Flashman, delightfully honest, witty and crass, and superbly constructed by MacDonald Fraser in another winning installment of the Flashman papers. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 May 2016
Royal Flash is the second of the Flashman novels. Written in 1970 by George MacDonald Fraser, Fraser based the book on the plot of The Prisoner of Zenda. Set during the Revolutions of 1848 the story is amusing enough. It is set in the fictional Duchy of Strackenz. This makes it the only Flashman novel to be set in a fictitious location. The story sees Flashman fleeing from a police raid on a brothel he was visiting, Flashman meets Lola Montez and Otto von Bismarck. Some years later a tempting offer sees Flashman in Munich. Here Bismarck has him abducted and blackmailed. His mission: to imitate Prince Carl Gustaf, a fictional member of the Danish royal family. Gustaf is to marry Duchess Irma, the ruler of the fictional Duchy of Strackenz. But according to Bismarck the prince has contracted a sexually transmitted disease. This, of course, would be embarrassing if uncovered by his future wife. This turns out to be a lie. In fact the prince is in prison in Jotunberg Castle. Flashman is a doppelgänger of the Prince. He is trained to take his place until the Prince is cured. Accompanied to Strackenz by Bismarck's accomplices, Rudi von Starnberg, Detchard and de Gautet, Flashy weds the Duchess. Shortly afterwards, while out hunting, Flashman finds out that Bismarck meant to double-cross him and kill him. But he turns the tables on his attacker and tortures the information out of him and kills him instead. He is then captured by Strackenzian nationalists and forced to help them storm the Jotunberg Castle. They are successful, but Flashman and von Starnberg fight in the dungeon, with Flashman escapes death. He then goes back to England, with the help of Montez, who robs him along the way.

In Royal Flash we see old Flashy in all his guises. Coward, scoundrel, lover and cheat. He uses his wits and skill to out of all manner of sticky situations. Well researched and full of detail, the mixture of history, humour and adventure makes for a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2011
George MacDonald Fraser picks up in "Royal Flash" where he left off in "Flashman". Fraser artfully blends historical figures into his stories along with a fictional character he stole, um, I mean pays homage to, in this delightful series. After covering the years 1839 - 1842 and his service in the first Anglo-Afghan War, "Royal Flash" cover 1842 - 1843 and then 1847 - 1848 in this second installment of "The Flashman Papers".

Fraser inserts Otto von Bismarck as Flashman's major nemesis in this story, and as for Flashman's legendary womanizing, Fraser is kind enough to hook him up with Lola Montez, among others. Fraser also doesn't mind borrowing heavily from Anthony Hope's "The Prisoner of Zenda" (1894) either, though in the Flashman universe it was Anthony Hope that borrowed from Flashman's adventures. At any rate, nothing is out of scope as far as I can tell from being selected for Flashman to have his hand in. There are a host of other historical figures which play minor roles in the novel as well.

In a brief meeting involving Lola Montez, Otto Bismarck takes an immediate dislike to our anti-hero, and from that meeting Bismarck later devises a plot to gain power and get revenge on Flashman all in one go. This plot involves a "Prisoner of Zenda" like plan, though in this case the switch which sees Flashman forced to pretend to be Carl Gustaf, a prince of Denmark. This plot involves the Duchy of Strackenz a fictional place (the only fictional setting for a Flashman novel). Though Strackenz is fictional, Fraser makes it a part of the Schleswig-Holstein Question which was a real situation between Denmark and Germany involving the two duchies.

As with the first book, there are too many references back to "Tom Brown's Schooldays". In one case it felt natural and part of the story, but in the other instances it felt forced and certainly was unnecessary considering this is the second book of the series and Flashman's origin has already been established. It also seems unlikely that Flashman would be so fixated on Tom Brown when one looks at his life since that period.

All things considered I am giving "Royal Flash" 4-stars, as it is almost as good as the first in the series, but at the same time it obviously cannot be as original, and the fictitious setting also takes away from it slightly, as do the unnecessary references to Tom Brown. Nevertheless, it is still very fun to read, and there is even some history to be learned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
This is A REVIEW of the ABRIDGED Audio book read by Rupert Perry Jones.

A confession... this is not my favourite Flashman Book in the series but any Harry Flashman is a dammed fine read and the same goes for this abridged version read by Rupert Perry-Jones.

Jones has read The Flashman Books before on CD- I can wholeheartedly recommend Flashman and Flashman on the March as really fine listening books.

Their stories are brilliant and original and are 5 star listens this is a 4 because of the story.

The story is enjoyable but is a real play on the Prisoner Of Zenda so in my mind looses a star because it's... let's face it a rip off of that story. Flashman has no need to copy?
Anyway back to the review.

Rupert Perry-Jones has just the right voice as a young Harry Flashman, which in a way is strange because to my mind the narrator is an elderly Flashman who reminisce in his 'papers' But Rupert does a splendid job.
he has a good voice- great descriptions and when he does the voices of the characters you really can 'see' them there.

It s five CD 6 hour abbreviation and doesn't waste an ounce of time in a slow plot line.

The plot fairly gallops along like Harry Flashman in a top class Bordello for a week with unlimited credit!!!

I will not delve too deep into the plot- others have done that before and so well- but whay you should be asking is

Is the reading Any Good?
Is the story Brilliant?
Is this a worthwhile purchase?

The answer to all three is a resounding

0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2000
I'm reading the Flashman books for the first time, and with this, the second volume, I really started to feel hooked. The first installment was good but I felt it stalled a bit in places, but this one really tears along. I also preferred the European setting to the Afghanistan of volume I. It's funny, hugely entertaining, and yes, you will learn a bit of history as you go along. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series. (I've already got Volume 3 here, and I've just ordered the next 4).
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
Flashman is a cad, without a care for anybody but himself, but at least he is truthful about it. `Royal Flashman' is the second (3rd chronologically) in George MacDonald Fraser's tales of the cowardly hero and the best I have read yet. This time Flashy must travel to Germany where he thinks he is off for a treat with a certain seductress, only to become wrapped up in a conspiracy that could have been ripped from the pages of `The Prisoner of Zenda' (and probably was). `Royal' is a slower paced Flashman novel than previous outings and is based in fewer locations. For this reason I think it may just be the best.

As always `Royal' is told as if Flashman is retelling the tales of his youth via his papers, filtering through Fraser. Whilst other books in the series have Harry running away from one perilous situation to another, this time Flashman has little choice, but to head into trouble. There is a certain charm to Flashman's caddishness and this is apparent more than ever in `Royal'. He admits freely to be a coward, selfish, whoremonger etc. but this upfront nature means that you can't help but forgive him a little. At one point he even berates himself for going a little too far.

With the character of Harry Flashman becoming far more rounded in this book, Fraser is able to concentrate on the adventure itself. The story of swapped identities is a great one, only improved by the fact that Flashman was only heading over to Germany for carnal reasons in the first place. It is Fraser`s eye for historic detail that raises the entire `Flashman' series of book and this is the case again here. The powder keg of a divided Germany is ready for Flashman to light the fuse.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 September 2017
Having enjoyed 'Flashman' (The Flashman Papers, #1), I was keen to read more tales of Flashy, the unabashed racist, scoundrel, bully, cad and coward. George MacDonald Fraser continues his literary conceit that what we are reading is the second part of a cache of papers, written by Flashman in old age (between 1900 and 1905).

The second pack of papers is detailed in Royal Flash (The Flashman Papers, #2) and our disreputable hero tangles with femme fatale Lola Montez, and Otto Von Bismarck, amongst others. From London, and picking up soon after the first book, Flashman journeys to political intrigues in Germany in which he experiences both the high life and imprisonment in a dungeon. Flashy is involved in a desperate succession of escapes, disguises, amours, and (when he cannot avoid them) hand-to-hand combats. Despite an improbable plot, this really is another rollickingly good yarn.

There are 12 books in the series:

Flashman (1969)
Royal Flash (1970)
Flash for Freedom! (1971)
Flashman at the Charge (1973)
Flashman in the Great Game (1975)
Flashman's Lady (1977)
Flashman and the Redskins (1982)
Flashman and the Dragon (1985)
Flashman and the Mountain of Light (1990)
Flashman and the Angel of the Lord (1994)
Flashman and the Tiger (1999)
Flashman on the March (2005)

I look forward to reading all of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 September 2014
In the second instalment of the wonderful Flashman saga, our 'Arry gets to cut a fine caper with the young Bismarck, suave Kraut blade Rudi von Starnberg, and seductive adventuress Lola Montez.

All the ingredients are in place: politics and history, the rough and tumble of a violently physical life, and rough and tumble of another more saucy kind.

Fraser's easy facility as a writer charms and beguiles, as he slots our lovable cad and poltroon into the exciting and colourful events of mid C19th Europe, hinging on that ol' chestnut 'the Schleswig Holstein question'.

Formulaic as they are, the Flashman novels - the allegedly barely edited renderings of the various packets of the 'Flashman papers' (what a great conceit, almost as good as bringing an incidental character from another authors book centre stage as your own anti-hero!) - are just sublime.

This early adventure sees Harry sitting in for royalty and, predictably, loving it, getting in and out of all kinds of jams more often and with greater adroitness than the chief flavour developer of Chivers Fruit Conserves.

This was my first taste of Flashman, and I was immediately hooked, such that I now not only own and have read them all, but have re-read many, and often gift them. Pure unadulterated pleasure in book form.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2011
So hot on the heels of Flashman, George MacDonald Fraser pitches our loveable villain straight into another outrageous adventure. Before reading 'Royal Flash', make sure you've read 'Flashman' by the same author. If you loved that, you'll love this...

The second book in the series has the same great narrative of the first offering, and I feel bad in criticising aspects of the book, such as the opening chapter, which starts with an aged Flashy reflecting back, which is rather wordy and unnecessary. That doesn't last long however, and it's just a few pages before the reader is rapidly catapulted into the start of the story proper, with Flashy merrily whoring and viciously insulting his way around the clubs and knocking shops of St James in London. And making terrible ememies in the process. Sets everything up for a royal yarn with all the loveable ingredients of a classic Flashman novel. The book does lack the usual thread of great historical events, such as the charge of the Light Brigade, the Sepoy Rebellion etc., but whislt the historical richness is rather lacking (only German unification is covered here, forsooth), the narrative is as good as ever, with the sub-plots and one liners pure golden royal genius.

Look out for: Flashy stalking deer at Balmoral. It isn't long before the hunter becomes the hunted. Oh and you may be confused as to why he cannot look at a hairbrush again without breaking out in a sweat over a beautiful harradin with a penchant for using it to encourage her mate during coupling sessions. WHACK! Faster Flashy, FASTER! WHACK!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse