Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2017
I saw the film of this book about 2 years ago and was very pleased when I saw the book on Amazon. This true story is one of unimaginable suffering in the heat of Thailand at a time when most of the world was at war. The Japanese had no mercy for their prisoners, believing them to be inferior because they had been captured, and starved and worked them to death in the most brutal way. Just an ordinary man caught up in the shambles that was the fall of Singapore, Eric Lomax's treatment was no worse than that meted out to many other prisoners, indeed he was fortunate not to be sent to work on building the railway, but that he lived to tell us about it is indeed a miracle. His suffering was not confined to the breaking of bones or starvation, the mental scars continued unabated for many years. That he found a way to be at peace is some measure of the man he is, the forgiveness he showed to his captor truly inspiring. A great book. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
This book is a true story of the hardships and torture suffered by the writer and the men and women captured by the Japanese. It is told without undue drama and is not mawkish. It does, however, make you realise just what was endured by these people during their incarceration. Would I have been as brave if it had happened to me? I'd like to think so, but I doubt it. The thousands of men and women who died to save the world from domination should never be forgotten. They are the real heroes and heroines and I salute them ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2016
"At the beginning of time the clock struck one
Then dropped the dew and the clock struck two
From the dew grew a tree and the clock struck three
The tree made a door and the clock struck four
Man came alive and the clock struck five
Count not, waste not the years on the clock
Behold I stand at the door and knock."

by Eric Lomax

This poem by Eric Lomax - it appears so simple in form, but it contains such a deep wisdom. If I am not mistaken, then the last line refers to Jesus - the book of revelation 3: 20. In those short lines he seems to have put all - creation, time, the cycle of life and eternity. It has such a deep insight and beauty it is deeply moving as the book itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
One man's account of the treatment he endured at the hands of the Japanese during the second world war, Eric Lomax does not dwell on the pain and inhumanity he suffered he just tells it as it was! An extraordinary story of resilience and hope, we all have an understanding of the atrocities carried out in the Time of conflict, but Eric has a way of letting you feel the lack of compassion that can arise between enemies when war raises it's ugly head.
What Eric also does so well is display man's ignorance towards the ex POW' s after their liberation, you get to feel the anguish and resentment towards his captors and the misinterpretation of feelings from his comrades.
I decided to read this book after I heard Rob Brydon mention on tv that this was the best book he had read, it might not be the most enjoyable read due to subject matter but it most certainly is a story that needs to be read, just so that people can get a better understanding of the help that is needed to enable ex POW' s and soldiers adapt back into civilian life.
An excellent book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
An astonishingly moving book, beautifully written, about Eric Lomax's experiences as a Prisoner of War by the Japanese during WWII. If one investigates his life it becomes clear that he has not mentioned his children, but that was his prerogative. The final scene where he faces and forgives the person, whom he hated the most, was extraordinarily emotional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
From the tales of a young innocent rail enthusiast eager to volunteer for duties in the war through harrowing torturers to hate. The book takes you through every emotion and is difficult to read at times but eventuality brings forgiveness and a peaceful end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
This was an informative and enlightening read. I have myself lived in Japan as an English teacher and found the people friendly, they are a spiritual people but complex. I would recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Having read plenty of books on WW2 and the treatment of the POW's all of which were good, this is just excellent.

It is the human side after he is repatriated, that hits home, the dreadful effect of his years in captivity and his hatred
for the Japanese.

The reconciliation, many years after the end of the war with one of his captors is beautifully written. The emotions which are laid bare on both sides probably affected me more than "the horrors".

Highly recommend this great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2017
This is an excellent book. I bought it after seeing the film which differs in certain ways. Obviously there is a little artistic licence made in the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Real-life redemption. I loved it. This is a terrific story, and not only is it a good story it is true, of a guy who goes back to meet his torturer to ask him why he did it. The real life redemption in this is affecting and I commend the book to you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)