Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
18
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2013
The three key features of this product for me are:

# They are gluten-free
# They provide a low-carb solution for preparing easily transportable food for consumption at work or whilst traveling
# They are, following a little practice, simple & quick to prepare

What I've learned about their use is that neither the various instructional videos found online or the instructions on the pack provide in my opinion the best way to use them. What I do is:

1. Half-fill a pan (like a wok) that has sufficient diameter that the spring rolls can me immersed without bending
2. Keep the water warm, over a low heat
3. Immerse one wrap, for no more than a few seconds
4. Remove the wrap and place it onto a tea-towel (or similar) to remove excess moisture
5. Flatten the wrap on a food preparation surface, arrange filling in a fat sausage shape, then roll it up, folding in the edges

This method takes me about 30-40 seconds per wrap, and requires absolutely no sticking agent like cornflour or egg. The wraps will self-seal. They do remain slightly sticky to touch, but not so much that they cannot be easily eaten as finger food.

Fillings vary as much as creativity allows, but some examples:

# Mixed beans & spicy sauce (a dry mixture, not too much sauce)
# Lentils, pine-nuts & pesto
# Sliced peppers, egg-plant & cashew nuts
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I couldn't find these or anything similar in any of the big 5 supermarkets in my area so went for these having spent many hours to making my own(which is a very lengthy process).

I was a little confused what i was going to get so hopefully this helps:
This listing is for 12 packets of 12 wrappers. Each packet(134g) is individual sealed.
There's approx 144 wrappers(1.6kg) in total all with a very good shelf life of almost 2years (mine said BBEO Nov 2015). So this shouldn't put you off buying in bulk if your only likely to use a packet once a month.

They are tricky to use and to me, they smell very strong (in an oriental kitchen way!).

Practice is key with these.
Make a filling that is not pointy in anyway, think finely chopped onions that have been softened in the pan. place the brittle sheet in a pan of warm water briefly, it turns them soft, limp and tacky (think delicate like a soaking paper towel you dont want to rip) on a non-stick surface and fill, wrap and roll.
The tacky nature of the wrap means it sticks very well to itself but also means to the work surface and therefore holes can be torn. If this is going into a deep fat fryer, its game over as the contents will burn long before the wrapper has turned crispy.

Perhaps easier, is to make wonton style bundles/parcels. with one palm hold the limp wrapper, place filling in the centre, then close palm and twist the excess wrapper(it sticks nicely). then pop it straight into the hot oil. this negates them sticking to the work surface and therefore tearing.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
Lots of fun creating different spring rolls. My trick is to hold the sheet under the tap briefly until each side is wet, then place on a plate. It will still be hardish but by the time you have put your ingredients on top it will have absorbed the water and you can roll it up as usual. I've tried dunking them in a bowl of water until soft as it says on the packet but once soft the paper sticks to itself and becomes much too difficult to handle..... for me anyway!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
My first attempt to make spring rolls with these was a disaster, but I wanted to persevere and I managed to get good results after a few tries. I found it a very delicate food to work with, which didn't particularly suit my ham-fisted approach... but here is my advice:

1. You can't use these to make Chinese-style crispy spring rolls, so don't try to deep fry them.

2. Don't use boiling water; they will instantly curl up into a gloopy mess. Immerse them in hot water, but cool enough to dips your fingers in.

3. Put the hot water on a large plate so it's shallow. Put your wrapper into it and it will start to soften. If the edges curl, use your fingers to smooth them back out. (You could even use cold water but they will take longer to rehydrate, like rice noodles.)

4. When it has softened, use both hands to carefully lift it out and spread it onto you worktop/chopping board, carefully smooth it out. It will be naturally sticky, so wet your fingers if needed.

5. If using raw veg, slice it very finely or even grate it. if it's too chunky it will tear the wrapper.

6. Don't overfill or it will fall apart when you start eating it. Use a modest amount of filling - ideally just enough so you can double wrap it - and wrap as tightly as you can without tearing it.

Hopefully this will help you get good results.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Yes they are flimsy, yes they take a bit of effort and practice, but even so I still think they are very good value.
I have made two lots of spring rolls so far and they were both tasty.
Yes they can fall apart if you over-stuff them, wait until they are properly cooked on one side before turning them very carefully, also make sure your oil is very hot before you try to cook them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Note: You need to soak these in warm water so they become pliable and they go semi-translucent. I bought these along with the Blue Dragon rice flour pancakes and are similar (just larger). Quite tasty if you 'nail' the cooking right but they take some practice before you get proficient and careful you don't overfill them!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
After Visting Vietnam we wanted to try and in some small way recreate some of the dishes we had there such as Nem Lui in Hue.. These "fresh" style spring rolls can just easily be rolled with any filling you want such as cooked meat, lettice, cucumber and dipped into a nice peanut sauce or sweet chilli dipping sauce. Can also be fried to make the sturdier cooked style spring rolls. Overall very happy and a good quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Blue Dragon Spring Roll Wrapper 134 g (Pack of 12) This product is straightforward to use and makes delicious spring rolls. The beauty of this product is that left overs can be transformed into an interesting meal in just a few minutes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
These are the best wrappers on the market.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
i would not recommend these to anyone after reading instructions on how to cook /steam i tried all the ways and they just ended up like silicon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)