Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 24 October 2016
This is one of my sons favourite films, he's only two so does like to go between watching different things but he often asks to watch this as he loves the song at the beginning! He dances and sings and just gets so excited about it but then he will sit down with me and cuddle in to watch the rest of the film, that meaning I too have seen this film way too many times!

~ What is it? ~

This is a film based on Dr Seuss book The Lorax.

It begins with an introduction to the film by the Lorax and then opens into a musical beginning. The song is really upbeat and pretty much shows us the town - Thneedville that the film is set around. It's a town with no trees, where the residents have to buy fresh bottled air from Aloysius O'Hare who has become a Zillionaire from this!

As the film moves on we see Ted who wants to find out about trees and the story carries on from there with Ted defying Aloysius O'Hare to find out everything he can about trees.

~ My thoughts ~

This is quite an enjoyable film I will admit. It's nice and bright and has lots going on to keep you interested throughout, my son love the songs although my 10 year cringes now as soon as the Lorax starts to speak and exclaims with exasperation ' Not again!!!' (how does he think I feel!)

There's a little love story going on through the film and I just find it all really lovely.

I quite like this film, not as much as my son of course but it is a good watch.

It has a good star cast and you can tell as it comes across very well, it's well portrayed and well played out.

~ The cast ~

Zac Efron as Ted Wiggins
Danny DeVito as the Lorax
Ed Helms as the Once-ler
Taylor Swift as Audrey
Rob Riggle as Aloysius O'Hare
Betty White as Grammy Norma, Ted's grandmother
Jenny Slate as Mrs. Wiggins, Ted's mother
Nasim Pedrad as the Once-ler's mother.
Stephen Tobolowsky as Uncle Ubb, the Once-ler's uncle.
Elmarie Wendel as Aunt Grizelda, the Once-ler's aunt.
Danny Cooksey as Brett and Chet, the Once-ler's brothers.
Additional voices were provided by Jack Angel, Bob Bergen, John Cygan, Debi Derryberry, Bill Farmer, Jess Harnell, Sherry Lynn, Danny Mann, Mona Marshall, Mickie McGowan, Laraine Newman, Jan Rabson, Claira Nicole Titman, and Jim Ward

Everyone voices the parts very well and the characters come to life on the screen.

I enjoy it (sometimes)!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2012
I can not believe people have given this 5 stars! Wow.

It is an awful, colourless, bland, humourless hand-fisted attempt at capturing the book. Somehow they totally missed the point and ambiance. I absolutely loved the book- all they needed to do was to translate that story to the screen. But no they have to add in a story about some annoying lead character whom you have no apathy with.

Pleased when it was over. Awful, awful attempt.
33 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
This review is based on a rental of the movie, and not a purchase of the DVD.

The Lorax is based on the Dr. Seuss book of the same title. Having not read the book I'm unable to draw comparisons. The film itself is well put together with engaging animation and a witty script. The plot is simple, but effective. The story predominantly focuses on the `Once-ler', a once young man heading out into the world to make his fortune. After great commercial success but with devastating environmental consequences, the Once-ler fades into obscurity not being able to sustain a business without the materials provided by the very natural resource that has now all but gone. Cue, a love struck boy desperate to impress a girl and on his grandmothers advice, heads out to meet the Once-ler to find the last Truffla tree, which is now a thing of legends. This sub-story does help the narrative move, but can occasionally distract from the more meaningful messages.

The narrative does draw on some, now clichéd, stylistic conventions such as singing fish and squeaky nonsensical (but nevertheless humorous) characters. If you think along the lines of the slugs from Flushed Away and the yellow creatures from Despicable Me, you'll be along the right lines.

This is a film which is surprisingly complex, with messages potentially much more powerful than the glossy animation would lead you to initially believe. There are certainly some views on capitalism and the necessity of corporate responsibility, two modern themes for a story which dates back to the early 1970s.

The over laden message throughout the film is that one should take more responsibility to ensure that society and our natural environment is sustainable. It takes a sideways glance at how consumerism is fuelled by social expectation and the need to retain a status through trend setting and moreover, conformity. Although these messages have a lot of value and ones we'd all do well to follow more stringently, it can feel a bit like a sledge-hammer by the end. Nevertheless, a feel good film which offers an opportunity for self-reflection and an encouraging (almost) educational message for younger children which may spark their curiosity of how they might help protect their environment. Surely, this can't be a bad thing. At its heart this film has a good message of hope and redemption.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 April 2013
I have liked Dr Seuss stories from a young age and have been drawn to every adaptation based on his many creative tales. I tend to prefer the animated ones over the live-action ones, and very often the sheer peculiarity of the stories and their characters makes the choice of being animated almost default.

Fortunately, The Lorax is an animated adaptation of Dr Seuss's tale about a town that had all-but forgotten what actual trees were, and were living out their lives in an almost Orwellian bubble of plastic existence and buying bottles of 'air' from an overbearing corporation. Granted, the 'trees' in the story don't visually resemble what we know as trees, but you get the point. The lead character ventures out to try to find out what went on, and in doing so learns about how previous generations exploited the trees and didn't value their worth to both to nature and the environment as a whole.

Ultimately, the story ends nicely, and you are left with a feeling that very often occurs with most Dr Seuss stories, in that in reality this is a fable not just a story, in that there are moral lessons to be learned. We do need more trees and shouldn't take this planet's natural resources for granted. The Woodland Trust ran some Lorax promotions during this film's launch to try to encourage more tree-planting and increased awareness, but I wonder how many people just view films such as these as pure Hollywood fantasy without realising the connection to the real world and the differences we can each make to the environment.

A great film which the family will enjoy, but remembering the lessons that fables try to teach us would stay true to Dr Seuss's philosophies, and that can easily get lost under the Hollywood sheen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
I ordered the blue ray for the kid's as it's a cracking film the only down side to this was the case was all smashed at the bottom,but apart from that the price was fantastic as was the time it took to arrive
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 December 2015
I watched this film when it was on T.V. recently. To be honest, I wasn't expecting very much from it. I certainly didn't expect it to have a strong moral message at the heart of it.
The synopsis is that Ted, a young boy who is in love with a beautiful girl, lives in Thneedville, a town where everything is made out of plastic. Ted's object of affection would really love to see a real tree, rather than the plastic remote-control trees that line her town. So, Ted decides that he is going to make her dream come true. In his quest, he learns how all of the trees disappeared, and the long-term repercussions that this brought.

As you would expect, the film is really rather beautiful to look at. Thneedville is bizarre and pretty, in its own peculiar way. But, as Ted listens to the story of when there used to be trees, the true beauty of the film really comes into its own. There is enough comedy and cute little animals to keep youngsters entertained. The comedy should also make adults raise a smile too. But, the real strength of this film is the message that it sends out to us. In fact, the message, is a two-headed thing. One message is about taking care of your environment, rather than destroying the beautiful place that we live. And the second message is that, things won't change unless someone cares enough to do something about it.

All in all, a lovely, charming tale with a strong message at its heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2014
In the town of Thneedville, a walled city, everything is artificial even the trees. And the air is provided by the O'Hare Corporation for a price.

Ted, a young man who likes a girl named Audrey, wants to see a real tree. And thinking that if he can find it will win her affections.

He is told to seek out someone called The Once-ler, who tells Ted what happened to all the tress and that it began when he wanted to create something he called Thneed.

He comes across a forest with trees with the most beautiful leaves and he chops a tree down, but then The Lorax who says he speaks for the trees tells Ted chopping down a tree is wrong.

But he ignores The Lorax.....

The film is quite stunning to look at, but sometimes the preaching can get a little bit too much, despite the best intentions of the cast and the animators.

I think we all know, even kids my daughters age, know that killing wildlife is a bad thing, and mentioning it once in the film is fair enough. But the fact that it's rammed down out throat almost every ten minutes, really grates, and then there are the songs, which basically say, save the trees, save the trees!!!

If the makers were any less subtle about their message, they would have had Zac Efron pop up subliminally every ten minutes holding a sign reading 'plant more trees!, love mother earth'

My daughter enjoyed it though, and that was really the main thing, but it would be nice for the makers to appreciate the adults, not reference Despicable me, and play a song during the final that sounds like an X-factor winners song.

I would have rather have spent my money on planting a tree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2014
Too much of moral message and little of overall script quality. Quite boring and way too appealing to moral guilt. It's not a good movie.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2012
So we went to the cinema, with nothing on that we wanted to watch. Dr Seuss' The Lorax looked like an alright film, although the trailers and the title didn't appeal to us. Nevertheless, we went to watch it anyway.

At first, I thought it was going to have an extremely poor storyline that would drag on just to use up the 90-minute norm length for films these days. However, it was quite interesting. A boy, trying to impress a girl who wants to have a real tree (sorry, I forgot to explain that they are living in a highly polluted town where they have machines that produce clean air and where all the trees are either inflatable or mechanical). To get a real tree, the boy needs to go and find the only man who knows what happened to them (yes, I know, doesn't sound the best).

As the story develops, we learn more about just what happened to everything. It all builds up and the pieces of the puzzle slot together until you know the truth. It is entirely true that this story could be told in under 10 or 15 minutes, but the full 90 minutes include the tiny details. The town is very much alive and living, with song and dance throughout, but the people living there do not understand the importance of trees (as they follow the manufacturer of bottled air who is totally against the things that 'stick out of the ground, with no purpose and leave messy leaves all over the place').

The film also contains an aspect of humour - not too cheesy, just enough to keep you interested in the film whilst thinking about the true seriousness of it. Entertaining and well-thought, this film is great for the whole family, so see it now! Forget about the title that puts you off and the poor trailers. 9/10 and a big moral. Remember - UNLESS.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2012
Soulless, humourless, witless and slight. Looks fine but is artistically and creatively bankrupt - there is not enough story to base a feature film on. My 5 year old - and all the other kids in the cinema by the look of it- were mightily underwhelmed. The worst children's film I've seen since Pokemeon - the Movie.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse