Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
227
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2012
Thought the first two were awesome but thought the third noticeably drifted away from what made the first two special.

For American Pie 4, saw it last night and the viewing I was going to see was sold out abuot 45mins before the film started so got tickets for a later viewing. Even at the last viewing the screen was still busy.

I was excited to see them all back together, but I didn't know what to expect. I know Hollywood loves destroying sequels and I didn't know how they were going to create a story line out of characters that really haven't been together in forever.

Fear not. I though this movie was almost as good as the original. Two hours of non-stop cracking-up, but none of it was forced. They brought back all the characters, but in a way that didn't seem thrown together or in-genuine. It was about 2 hours long, but not once did I think this was dragging. They did a nice job explaining where everyone has been and it didn't really seem awkward.

The best part of it is, the story is about all 5 of the original guys, and their relationship with women and sex at their current juncture (31 years old). Each have their own issues (too married, have kids, hate their jobs, hate their lifestyle, etc.) and the movie is kind of about them all resolving their that over the course of a reunion weekend. It's the American Pie which is most similar too the first one. All the old couples from high-school (Oz/Heather, Kevin/Vicky, Jim/Michelle) re-hash their past feelings.

Another great thing about the film is that Stifler's character is written back in the style of American Pie 1 and 2, which I loved. His part is not over bearing like the Wedding. Kevin, Finch (and Oz) play much bigger roles than they did they did in the third.

There a couple new characters but none of them are annoying or take up too much of the story, all those parts are well cast. Jim's Dad and Stifler's Mom are hilarious on screen together. Jim's Dad is the funniest he has ever been- but again- not in an over the top way. All in all, it's a well-written, well-rounded film with some good plot twists. Tons of references too the old films. Literally, all of the obscure characters from the first two make an appearance at some point.

If you are a fan of the American Pie films (especially 1 & 2) your going to LOVE this movie.
11 Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
Now, you have probably read other reviews about this film but I have to say this, it really is a great film.
Whatever you do, do not think this is another stand alone " American Pie Presents " film because it is not, it is a true sequel to the original trilogy and one thing that stood out was the cast, not there acting or anything like that, just the cast. Every main and side charcter with any relevance to the series was there, I was happy reading the cast list because there were a few members of the cast that were absent in 2 and 3, which kind of made this film feel like a true reunion and what a reunion it was.
Stifler was still the moronic jock he was in highschool and in a way, hadn't changed, he truly was the Stifmeister which really made the film great for me.
Jim was still his..... well, to be honest, he still is that awkward guy from the originals that usually gets into some kind of mess the guys need to help him with [ super glued hand to balls in 2, try's to get a drunk, naked 18 year old girl back to bed with her father downstairs ] which is always funny.
Kevin is a stay at home dad/architect which means he gets ribbings from the guys about being the wife of the house because his wife brings in the money and obviously he has to deal with Vicky, his ex, who is quite nice.
Finch plays himself out to be a man of culture and knowledge who travels the world with adventure in site but actually is just a guy who steals a motorbike from his boss at staples.
Oz is a rich sports telecaster with a promiscuous model girlfriend and doesn't know waht to do with is life and his ex.
So, the main guys are great as always, married life is really portrayed in the films openings with a more than teasing starter of a bouncing bed which is basically just Michelle rocking the baby in her arms with Jim next to her doing work on his computer and it goes on to show the guys lives now.
I can't do this review without mentioning one of my favourite couples in the film, is it Jim and Michelle, Kevin and Vicky, Os and Heather, Stifler and Finch's mum [ yeah, thats right, PAYBACK ] Well, it is none of these, it is the Milf bros, they had an argument and lost contact but in this they rekindle their friendship whilst chanting milf with tears in there eyes hugging as they watch Stifler and Finch's mum on the football field going at it.
The film was great and really showed how they had grown at the start of the film and regressed into their former teenage selves.
Sadly, there time had to end, but with this Blu-Ray, you can relive the reunion of the decade that is, American Reunion [ or American Pie : Reunion for those who never knew this film was being made last year and has just jumped on the bandwagon and has never seen any of the original trilogy ]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Surely no-one goes into the cinema expecting this movie to be as good as the original, (because obviously it isn't). That said if you enjoyed the first three instalments you should still enjoy, "American Pie - Reunion."

Its caught pretty much all the original cast, (that I can think of anyway). They mostly look the same, (I won't be rude here) and the majority of the gang have settled down except for Steve, "Stiffler," who perhaps has even regressed! (He is still behaving like a high school student and perhaps in some respects hasn't sold out).

There are, (of course) some funny threads, one such involving Jim and his former neighbour, (now aged eighteen) who he used to babysit. (She takes a particular shine to him).

It doesn't waiver much from its proven formula and there's a lot of misunderstandings and wrong goings on!

Perhaps its a film for younger people now, (the cinema was full of young people) but I'm sure people who watched the original will still enjoy this part of the franchise.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2017
Being an American Pie fan since the beginning, I was excited about American Reunion. The boys are back for another crazy, sexual, and over- the-top adventure.Since the last film, I thought they wouldn't be able to perform as well together. But from start to finish, they played their roles as if they never left.

This movie will definitely keep you laughing, especially if you are a long time fan. Not to mention Jim's dad finally got the screen time he deserved. Now, I don't think it was as good as it could have been. The plot, as mentioned in other reviews, was plain. But all in all, It was an amazing sequel to the series. Better than the first? I don't think so. But as good as the first? YES!

I do recommend watching the last three American Pie movies before going to see this. You will understand the movie much clearer, and not to mention the little surprise(s) will have you rolling on the floor laughing.

The only negative is it wasn't dirty enough. The jokes were hysterical, but I wanted more! I wanted more F bombs, sex jokes, and pie humping! But I guess that is what the previous Pie films were for ;)

If you are a fan, you will enjoy this film. You will NOT be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I love the first 3 Pie movies with the Wedding being my favourite one . I never got round to seeing The Reunion at the pictures and I have only just seen the film for the first time. The film it self is ok and it is good to see all the real cast back and to have a proper American Pie film. However the laughs are tame and few and far between. The plot is easy to understand and something that happens . However it reminds you that when you grow up the things you did at School were childish and immature but funny back then. I guess what I am saying is that the cast have all grown up but the jokes have not. Jim and his dad are provide the best of the laughs and The stifmeister is a welcomed return as well. The film was needed to tie things up with everyone but for me it really was a trip down memory lane rather then the path to new ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
At first I thought this was going to be an attempt at making some more money and getting the very most out of the characters, but it turned out to be an extremely hilarious slice of pie!

Enjoyed every second of it and was hurting with laughter by the end of it, if you enjoyed the first few you might just consider this one even better, a must see!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Great film. This review is not about the film. The Blu Ray has not been sold as advertised. Firstly, the images clearly show a cardboard cover, this was missing upon delivery. Secondly, the title clearly says "+ UV Copy" however upon opening the case the in case leaflet with the code on is missing. I suspect that this was a second hand blu Ray sold as new. This is therefore false advertising and misleading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
America Pie: Reunion moves forward 13 years later to celebrate their college days of 99. Our favourite characters return in another hilarious and entertaining instalment. Do you remember Jim, Stifler, Myers, Oz and Finch? The characters have settled in their careers and cannot resist rekindling the good old days. The characters are probably in their late twenties to early thirties. We do have an idea of each individual character's life at present. Have they matured as individuals? Do they return their old ways?

The film is filled with plenty of laughter. The cinema hall erupted in so much noise, as there was a hardly a silence moment. The humour is direct, but can be described as vulgar and surreal. We all appreciate a bit of humour in life. Some of the sequences show high sexual contents, which may put some viewers off. The sex and partying theme forms the bulk of the film. It is not a film to be taken seriously, as it shows a funny outlook to life. It is meant to be a bit of a laugh, but nothing great that I personally would watch again. I enjoyed the previous instalments of American Pie in the late nineties through early noughties.

On fair reflection, American Pie: Reunion should be awarded four stars taking into account the genre of the film and the success of the franchise. It leaves a comedy brand name in the cinema -making.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
This film is funny along the lines of the first two. If you love American Pie like I do, you must see this, it's great. If you didn't like the first two then stop wasting your time here, go back to your local library and get a herbal tea on the way home to your one bedroom flat and pet cat. This is a sequel rule breaker, laugh out loud funny. Well worth the wait.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Now that the gang are older and have had some experience in the real world, their characters have also slightly changed, though not dramatically. Instead of being all about the humour and crude jokes, this film does try to add in something a little more meaningful throughout. Unfortunately though, this does take away from the smooth running of the plot and makes it feel a little disjointed at times. The more dramatic moments take away from what this film should have been - a pure comedy. I didn't mind these moments too much though but I don't think that they were particularly needed.

Although the characters are older, some of them are still as immature, Stifler in particular. Where the other characters have grown up, gotten real jobs and lives, Stifler is still the same man he was thirteen years ago. Many of the jokes in this film do revolve around Stifler and his 'I can do what I want and get away with it' attitude and while they were funny, there didn't need to be as many. I do love Seann William Scott as an actor though and he is really funny in any role that he takes on so it was nice to see him go back to one of his most famous roles.

When it comes to the rest of the cast, I was slightly disappointed with some of the character development. Kevin, played by Thomas Ian Nicholas was seriously disappointing. Kevin is now a stay at home architect that is devoted to his wife and watching girly TV shows. Honestly, his character was so boring that I wish he hadn't been included in the film again. I didn't particularly like him the first time around though as he just wasn't as fun as the other characters and this hasn't changed over time. However, it was nice to see him and Tara Reid on screen together again. Jim and Michelle, played by Jason Biggs and Alyson Hannigan respectively, will always be my favourites of these films. In reunion, they are obviously married but now with a child. I loved the different situations that these characters found themselves in and they were just as funny as in previous films. Both actors do a fantastic job in reprising their roles and I am so thankful that they both signed on to do this film.

American Pie - Reunion doesn't really bring anything new or original to the big screen but it is still really, really funny. The gags are somewhat predicable for the most part but that doesn't take anything away from the humour. It takes quite a lot to make me laugh out loud at the cinema but this film made that happen numerous times and the other people in the cinema joined me in doing so. I think, for fans of the series of a whole, then this film will be a hit. If you didn't like the other films too much then you are probably not going to like this one either. I loved it though and was really glad that I went to see it instead of waiting for it to be released on DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.83
£1.27

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)