Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2011
If you like the Rare Mod series that Paul "Smiler " has been part of , then you will want to buy this CD as well. I saw the vinyl EP versions released but wanted to wait for the CD version, and here it is, the tracklisting is:-

1. The Richard Kent Style - Im out
2. Steve Marriotts Moments - You Really Got Me
3. The Muleskinners - Need Your Lovin
4. The Clique - Ooh poo Pah doo
5. Donnie Elbert - This Old Heart Of Mine
6. The Richard Kent Style - You Cant Keep A Man Without Love
7. The Fleur De Lys - Yeah I Do Love you
8. James Patterson - Silent
9. Sharon Tandy - Daughter Of The Sun
10. The Clique - Pretty Thing
11. The Fleur De Lys - Gotta Get Enough Time (Feat Sharon Tandy)
12. The Richard Kent Style - Marching Off To War
13. Maxine - A Love I Believe In
14. Sharon Tandy - Walk From Here To Mexico
15. The Clique - See That MY Grave Is Kept Clean
16. The Muleskinners - Why Dont You Write Back To Me
17. Sharon Tandy - Roundabout
18. The Fantastics - We Got Good Lovin
19. Sharon Tandy - Somebody Speaks Your Name
20. The Muleskinners - Backdoor Man
21. The Clique - She Aint No Good
22. The Fleur De Lys - Circles
23. The Muleskinners - Untie Me
24. Steve Marriots Moments - Youll Never Get Away From Me

The best part of this CD for me was the Muleskinners tracks, storming R&B (except Unti Me) although familiar with Back door Man, this is a different version to the one i have on another compilation. And the Richard Kent style tracks are fantastic. Unfortunately unlike the Small Faces, Steve Marriots early efforts into music did not have the same prescence, however nice R&B on Youll Never Get Away From Me. The Sharon Tandy and Fleur De Lys tracks - to me dominate the CD, as Sharon sings on the majority of the Fleur De Lys tracks.

On my copy of the Cd the Fantastics (track 18) finishes, but all of a sudden you get a blast of some frantic R & B playing (approx 15 seconds),before the Backdoor Man starts - so not sure who this is? Couldnt see anything in the booklet. The one negative thing with the whole CD was the quality of the Clique tracks, however rare they are , the quality of these tracks are below the standard of rest of the tracks, but they are rare so you have to be grateful you other Clique tracks other than the "We Diddnt Kiss, Didnt Love But Now We Do". The "She Aint No Good" version here is also different to the one previously comped. On The whole i have given 5 stars but this is more for the collector than the casual buyer - Here you have some quality Mod bands that delve into the tracks you may not have on previous released CDS or have only seen on You tube!!
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Some great stuff lead me to buy all the vinyl ep's from this and volume 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Superb , rare soon to be classics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)