Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2012
For any serious Cure fan this release is, as any other release, a must have.

However, this show is far from being the best live performance ever released. Shows like Concert - The Cure Live, Entreat, Show or Entreat have far better sound quality.

Also, the fact that the lineup lacks of Porl Thompson's guitar, is incredibly evident in this recording in particular.

As previously said, a must have only for serious Cure fans. The rest of you can skip this one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
An Absolute fantastik double live CD, from start to finish.. Having seen The Cure many times, this brings back many memories of so many gigs, having to hitch-hike back home. Collecting as many "Robert Smith" photo's, so as to copy and the 'The Look' just right, from the hair, make-up and even the boots!!... fun Times!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
I've been a Cure fan for a while now and when I saw that they were headlining Bestival this year I pretty much ordered my ticket there and then.

They were by far the highlight of the festival for me and this lets me relive a superb live experience. A two and a half hour set was put on by Robert and the boys and they went through a bit of everything from their long and incredible career. All the hits and singalongs were there and also some of the more obscure tracks that aren't as well known.

This album is well mixed and the production value for a live release is superb. For anyone who got to experience this brilliant set by an iconic band this is a must. For those who missed it I would strongly recommend buying this as it shows that The Cure have stood the test of time and can still belt out a truly fantastic set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
A good song selection to satisfy almost any Cure and non Cure fan. Two CDs full of hits like Lovesong, Just Like Heaven, The Walk, Push, Inbetween days, a forest, primary, lovecats, close to me, boys don't cry, etc! (of course hardcore fans would like to hear Siamese Twins, Charlotte Sometimes, Secrets, Faith, Sinking, Torture, etc).
My complain is the sound and the mix. I find them dry and with almost no stereo panning reminds me of Entreat Plus that was a huge dissapointment. The sound of the drums still leaves much to be desired. A big deep snare drum is needed in many songs of the back catalog but instead, a thin high pitched one is heard.
Anyway, considering the price and that is for a good cause, it's a must have in our collection.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Fantastic live album from the almighty Cure. Only disappointment was that Mr Robert Smith has succumbed to the pressures of PC!!! CD2 track 16 - Killing another! WTF??? Madness!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
As a life long cure fan and not having been at bestival I relied on BBC coverage to see this great band seeing as they very rarely pop north of the border, in fact last cure gig I was at in Scotland was during the disintegration tour!
Anyways Tv coverage of the cure was fairly limited which was a shame as I think the full benefits of this particular package would have been better as an audio visual experience in the vein of "festival" which was superb! and a must buy for any cure fan, the cd only version of bestival is good, not great as audio quality is not the best and as stated would have been perhaps enhanced with the live footage DVD/B- ray audio visual version, don't get me wrong it is worth buying considering the price but just feel it would have been way better in this day and age as a DVD /CD package.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
I'm a Cure fan for decades, and i will always be. Unfortunately this record is not a good surprise for old time fans.
Years a go Cure live albuns had a special energy on the songs that make then simply great. This energy is not in this double disc. Sometimes it seems that Robert is feeling completely bored by singing always the same songs for year and years. Listen to the way he sings «The Lovecats», and you will understand what i mean.
The only good moment on this poor live compilation, is «Primary», this is the only song that still captures the old and good Cure if you know what i mean.
99 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
The Cure performing in front of an excitable crowd. Great sound on the CD. Play it loud.Go on buy it. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
A great band.Great songs.A great festival performance.A good cd only spoilt by a bad sound mix(the drums sound awful)Still as so cheap worth a listen if only for the sublime outing of CATAPILLAR.
It is a good not perfect document of a great night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
better than i expected, good packaging and beatiful records... live for pop-rock cure fans! the return of o'donnell to keyboard is really good, however porl (and second solo guitar) left, so the cure remains four members...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)