Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Enjoyed this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
I have not really used this yet but it seems ok on reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have a passing interest in cold reading and have read several books on the subject. This rates as one of the best but with a couple of caveats. This book gives you a way of quickly organising and memorising a framework for readings using a characterisation, the author's example is James Bond. This is a genius way of thinking about cold readings because it is really quick to learn. I had half of it down just reading through the book and the rest came with less than an hour of working with the material.

What makes this even better is that you can and the author suggests this, replace the character with ones that have more meaning to you. I've played a little with the idea and using different characters changes the quality of the readings that you are doing.

This is a brilliant system because it is quick and easy to learn. It is easily adaptable to use the way that you want and it creates a great framework to hang your reading on.

Now the caveat. You really need to know some basics about cold reading to get the most from this book. Take this the right way I am a novice and have only dipped my toe in to doing readings before reading this book. I think this book is a little beyond a complete beginner. But if you know the basic ideas around of cold reading this will give you a great framework to start and will get you doing readings in no time at all... hence the book still deserving a five star rating.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
I loved this book. It teaches you Cold Reading using a very similar method to the memory technique in my book The Memory Palace - Learn Anything and Everything, and I am now a BIG FAN of Julian Moore.

Cold Reading came alive!

Instead of teaching you what to say and when to say it, it instead teaches you how each Cold Reading step relates to James Bond and his character. You can run through a little scene in your head, of Bond planning a mission and walking round a bar with Bond Girls, and simply describe the personality and decision-making you see. Reading the "example reading" had me identifying the fundamentals which I had just learned. It turns out, you don't have to read a 400-page dusty tome to learn how to cold read convincingly. I already knew how to do it; I just didn't understand the fundamentals!

This is a great foundation in cold reading. I've read bits of many other books on cold reading but found them quite dry and dull and I just couldn't get into them, but this was a fun read and a great concept.

Bond is the example, but almost any tv or movie characters will work just fine.

Buy this book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
If you do any magic or readings including psychological readings, then a little Cold Reading can spice things up. Tell someone about themselves and they'll be intrigued and you'll be remembered. The classic cold reading lines are often difficult to recall and Julian Moore provides an excellent and coherent mnemonic structure. If you can remember a story, whether you are visual, auditory or Kinaesthetic in learning style, then you can remember all of these points with ease. His engaging style makes for easy reading and hits the goal he sets out with very little work.
Recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This was passed to me by a fellow entertainer who thought i might benefit from it, the cold reading world has always been somewhat shrouded in mystery UNTIL NOW. the metaphor used i nthis book makes perfect sense and is totally memorable. the structure of the book means that the mind retains the information very quickly and it is easy to recall, no hard mnemonics, or complx things to recall instant imaginc in an easily recountable way,
im now working this into my general acts and it is paying huge dividends .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
The twelve lines of the "Classic Reading" are powerful, universal truths that apply to everybody - but having the statements memorised and ready at your fingertips, primed for use in a reading situation is very challenging. Or at least it was until now.

In this excellent book, Julian Moore not only teaches the lines of the "Classic Reading", he provides an incredibly accessible mnemonic framework that enables readers to commit the lines to memory. The book also includes flash cards that aid in learning the lines.

But the book goes beyond simply teaching the words in a parrot fashion. The author goes on to teach the reader how to adapt the stock lines to make them sound fresh and new for each sitter. He also devotes a large number of pages to teaching the reader how to apply this knowledge in the real world, in both a psychic reading situation and a lighter, magic effect scenario.

Based on solid psychological and mnemonic techniques, yet taught in an easily accessible manner, this book is worth way more than the author is charging and will give anyone interested in this field a solid foundation in the art of cold reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This is a great place to start to remember the 'classic' aspects that make up cold reading. Plus, most importantly, it makes learning them fun! Who doesn't want to be James Bond, right? There's a lot of content out there on cold reading, but this is one of the most practical. From here though you'll want to dig into the other texts as you'll have a good foundation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Very interesting book. I don't give readings or anything like that but I am interested in how these techniques work. The book is really informative. It's amazing to see how easy these techniques can be and how easily they can be applied to make it sound like the reader knows quite a bit about you when really they are using one of the 12 concepts taught in this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
Cold reading is not an easy thing to do. Trying to remember the stock lines can be quite a challenge. Julian has come up with a great way to remember the stock lines. While you will not learn word for word the original stock lines you will understand the concepts of them by utilizing his method.

But that is the whole idea. You don't want to quote them exactly as memorized. You want to have your own touch and description. It makes what you are doing so much more believable than just spewing out what you memorized. If you are into mentalism, palmistry or anything similar this book will be a great aid and will take your readings to the next level.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)