Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2013
Another interesting addition to DMG's large, if inconsistent, budget-priced series. The slightly misleadingly-titled 100 Hits: Punk & New Wave bears some similarities with EMI's popular, but predictable, Teenage Kicks 1977-81. That can be seen in the fact that songs from Buzzcocks, Department S, Ian Dury & the Blockheads, The Knack, The Members, Public Image Ltd, The Ruts, The Selecter, The Skids, Stiff Little Fingers, Tenpole Tudor, and The Vapors, feature on both titles.

But, I prefer this plainly-presented 5CD compilation of 1970s and 1980s tunes to that slightly flashier-looking 3CD one. Why? It is more diverse; it swings comfortably from the agit-prop new wave rock of the Tom Robinson Band to the austere electronica of D.A.F. The track selection is also more daring; quirky stuff that doesn't normally get exposure, like The Flys' 'Love And A Molotov Cocktail', Silicon Teens' 'Let's Dance', and Scars' 'They Came and Took Her', is included here. And at 5-and-a-half hour's duration it is noticeably bigger than its 60 song counterpart. Whilst powerful contributions from Devo, Magazine, and The Saints also provided me with a welcome reminder of how good these groups were when they were at the peak of their powers.

That is not to say it is without its faults. Firstly, the inclusion of too many offerings from artless second division punk bands like UK Subs, Angelic Upstarts, 999 and The Cockney Rejects almost had me yearning for a triple LP of prog-rock. Secondly, it fails to feature some of the heavy hitters of that period of time such as The Clash, the Ramones and Talking Heads, who you would expect to be there.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
this box set is full of great tracks but i don't call ub40 or bebop deluxe punk or new wave don't get me wrong i love bebop deluxe.
this is a good buy it's true most music collectors will already have most if not all the tracks but it's still worth buying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Good selection of various types of punk and new wave and at such a good price - few curious omissions - but hey I'm not complaining , the rest of the tracks are good to very good.

Five CDs in a reasonably robust jewel case with an embossed card cover - so well packaged for a 'general' compilation and the reproduction of the CD's is good with decent thickness disc's - not the cheapo thin disc's used in some compilations.

The icing on the cake was discovery on side three of a track by Killing Joke that I have been searching for 22 years to find - so all the rest of it is justified by finding this one track - happy days.

Would I recommend this product - absolutely - yes - good value - good service - KMS
66 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
If you buy this to fill a few gaps in your collection or a varied compilation for the car it's well worth the money. This collection shows the wide variety of music that was around back then from punk to electro dance to ska.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
This has some good songs on it although as per usual with these kind of pile them high compilations there are a few duds on it like modern eon, silicon teens and scars! Since when have Be Bop Deluxe been punk or new wave? However, there are some crackers on here like shot by both sides, babylons burning, alternative ulster and this perfect day to name but 4. Not sure about the inclusion of the specials, fun boy 3, the beat, bodysnatchers and ub40 though. Not bad songs but not for this compilation. Good to hear songs from the old days though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Although most of us will have these tracks umpteen times this is well worth the money, a bargain for a fiver.

Still wish all these punk compilations would put the correct single version of The Members "Sound Of The Suburbs" on the CD though rather than the album version!!!
77 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I play this in the car and having 100 songs to get through means that I can just keep it in the player for weeks without getting bored with it. There are some of the better known tracks, mostly on the first cd, but there is a great variety of songs here which, after a few listens, you will appreciate and enjoy. Good value to get so many obscure songs and hits for the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
An excellent collection of tracks for the price. There are some notable acts missing - The Clash in particular - but overall this offers a good mix of material, though some of it does stretch the definition of 'new wave' a little.

If you have fond memories of the era or you're looking for a punk primer it's a worthwhile buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
one of the best compilations i have purchased has a bit of everything where else will you find the silicon teens sharing a disc with magazine the rich kids the motors and pil to name but a few well worth what i paid 10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
There are many compilations like this sharing many of the same tracks. Look. I could nit pick. This one contains fifteen or twenty songs you can't find elsewhere. It made it worthwhile to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)