Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
76
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 June 2014
A good fast moving thriller that kept me guessing all the way through. The flash backs tend to be a little confusing at first as with a different actor (obviously) playing Phil Glenister's youthful character you're not quite sure it is him or not?

Some of the reviews are critical of the ending but I felt it was wrapped up adequately. However, I do accept that you have to concentrate as some of the loose ends are explained away with a casual comment which is easily missed.

Well acted, good direction and great settings.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
the ending is bit disappointing , but good drama.Just one thing a bit over priced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
These were all bought for us to take to our french house and have not been played yet. But I remember this when it was first broadcast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
There was an excellent series somewhere here but this wasn't it. It had everything going for it - Phillip Glenister in his first role after Ashes to Ashes, David Suchet, plots and conspiracies and should have been a winner.

Very quickly you move from intrigued to irritated. There are so many loose ends ( actually you could make a series about the loose ends), so many inconsistencies and it looks like someone didn't a good job with the continuity. Basicially a story about a state sponsored coup that had been long in the making you are left asking a few hundred questions including

why were the lawyers killed
why did Cockburn spend 15 years on a plot
what was the plot
why were Dutch lawyers involved

The list just goes on...

Very very frustrating. Worth seeing Phillip G and david S do their stuff but not a lot else
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The series has at it's base a lawyer or soliciter, Harry Venn, played by Philip Glenister, who starts looking for a man from his past, at the request of a beautiful soliciter, Gina Hawkes , played by Thekla Reuten. Hawkes is searching for a missing alibi witness for her client. Philip finds that he is now going back 20 years to a crime committed by his brother, Mark. Mark died in that crime, and Harry has been looked at as the driver in the get away car. Harry is not without sin, as he was in prison as a teen, he has a son who is a teen, and he has not been a good father. Harry seems to have many women and several exes. He has had success as a small town soliciter in the big murky city of London. Harry has the unshaved and unkempt look that is so popular. He has several colleagues, all hoods of some sort or another, but are good at cracking codes in computers and getting info that is needed.

Into this mess, we find David Suchet who plays Sir Nigel Fountain, a judge who seems to be politically motivated. He is the caretaker to Gina Hawkes, who went to live with him after her parents were killed. This quickly becomes a political thriller with murders amongst the daily activities. We are not sure what is going on as the tension increases, Harry and Gina start working together, but all remains murky and mysterious.

This thriller could have been so much more mysterious if it did not keep going back to the flashback of Harry, his brother killing two policemen and the drive away. This series has four episodes and there were at least five of these flashbacks, all the same per episode. Very tiring and seems to be a filler. The series was well acted and for the most part well written. I just wish I knew what was going on. If this is not renewed, we may never know.

Recommended. prisrob 11-1--13
33 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
This is alright-ish. It seem to meander a bit and the conlusions are sloshed about rather than served up on a cold plate, so you have a sense of wondering if it answered all the Q's. Phil Glenister is massive as usual, but to be honest not his best work.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Whilst I think that Glenister is an excellent actor, I feel that the storyline of Hidden left a lot to be desired. Yes, it was a complicated plot, which is fine to use the brain sometimes but it basically went nowhere, which was, to me, a shame, considering all the excellent support actors.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
The first three episodes build on a tense and exciting plot. Many threads and plot lines are set up and we were very excited to see the fourth and final episode. How utterly disappointing that the fourth and final episode ended without ever drawing any conclusions, without ever explaining what had happened. It felt as if the series was originally meant to be twice as long but funding was cut and the writers and director had to cut off in the middle of the story.
11 Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
As I think another reviewer commented it is a little complicated at first and it certainly requires your full attention. By the end of the first episode I guess I wasn't hooked, and it took me about week before I got round to watching the second one. However I then proceeded to watch the remaining three episodes back to back, I just couldn't stop watching. Phillip Glenister is as great as always, I'll admit he is the reason I watched it in the first place, and once again he did not disappoint.
Overall a highly recommend series!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)