Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Troll Hunter [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 12 January 2012
I won't repeat the whole of my original review of this film - it's so bad a film it's not worth the effort - just a few lines;

"What can one say about this film? Brilliant. Superb. Entertaining. Must see. Yeah, non of these!
An over hyped, thrill starved, adrenaline dry, slow ride to inanity"
and whilst someone commented on the films humorous aspect;
"There is some humour in that the front cover states "The best monster movie since Jurassic Park". Whoever wrote this certainly had a sense of humour!"

Rattled a few cages - mainly those who like to throw personal insults or attempt to bully other reviewers off the site. Sorry guys, failed miserably and I still advise potential purchasers to give this a wide berth.
2727 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2012
I have sat through this Dross TWICE,once on my own and again with a few friends,and i can certainly say this Film is certainly unworthy of the Hype surrounding it.The Film is made on a shoestring and it shows,the acting is awful as are the low Budget effects.The Film itself is very slow moving and tries to imitate the Blair witch type of Filming.The Trolls had me in stitches,they looked very much like Dr.Teeth from the Muppett Show.Sorry to say but this Film is certainly plumbing the depths of Low Budget production.I honestly expected more from this Film and i was sadly let down.The Box cover is very misleading.If you are expecting decent Monsters forget it..the whole Film looks like it has bee put together by a bunch of Students for rag week.To sum up this Film is total Garbage..AVOID.
77 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 August 2011
A film which has already gained a following due to word of mouth and I really don't know why. Remember the blair witch project? It was a horrible film but received plenty of hype etc and this falls into the same catagory. The film follows three young and idealistic film-makers who seek out a legendary troll hunter who may or may not be a total loon. At first he is reluctant to let them tag along but eventually gives. The first encounter with trolls is fairly lame with plenty of camera shaking, shouting and running away. The trolls do exist (despite members of the norwegian environmental agency saying otherwise) and at least four different types are present in the film. The problem is that they reminded me of fraggle rock. The cgi effects are perfectly fine but the film on the whole is rather boring and laborious whilst the trolls themselves can be defeated with simple bursts of uv light. I'm astounded at the praise and quality reviews the film has received as its fairly bland and vastly inferior to "monsters" which is a much, much better film. Don't be taken in by the pr machine for this mess.
77 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2012
1 The troll hunter has devoted his life to his work, but decides to blow the whole thing wide open because he doesn't get paid extra for night work (and they only come out at night!)

2 It's blindingly obvious the camera man is a Christian, so how come they wait to cop on to that until they're in a troll cave?

3 And anyway, "fairy tales are for children" but we're supposed to believe that your belief in JC changes the smell of your blood? Based on Jack and the Beanstalk?

4 The Norwegians allow complete idiots to run their power grid?

5 Nobody in Norway looks out the window? Even if there's a 200 metre tall troll walking around? They just wait until morning, survey the damage, and think "must have been a tornado".

6 A vet, presumably an educated woman, is prepared to divulge state secrets on camera, on the basis of her colleague / boyfriend saying "I take full responsibility".

7 Trolls only give birth once? So their population halves every generation? How come they haven't died out.

8 A government official passively allows some scooby-doo kids to film troll-related conversations and walk away with the camera and footage. Then later assaults (and apparently murders) same kids to get the footage off them.

9 A camera woman with BBC experience gets on a train at a moments notice at the request of two amateur film-makers (who clearly have no experience or skill)

10 Didn't he get a tetanus shot? Doesn't tetanus work against rabies? By the way, why was the troll hunter supposed to get that blood sample anyway - how did the vet know to look for rabies?

11 What's the point in going troll hunting if you're going to run away in terror every time they appear?

12 Why didn't they run to a TV station with the first night's worth of footage?

Even if you can swallow all of this for the sake of entertainment (and if so, you'll probably find the new Muppets movie to be a work of gritty social realism) the movie itself is visually dull (as someone else said, the Blair Witch style should come with a health warning), despite their small number the characters have virtually no personality, and the final joke interview with the Norwegian prime minister might be funny to Norwegians, but I somehow doubt it. I quite enjoyed the heavy metal song over the closing credits, but that might just have been relief!
55 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2012
Hated this film it was absolute drivel. Unbelievable story, poor filming and direction and lack of real content, disliked the over dubbing from Scandanavian to English. About as true as the Yeti!
That's all I have to say about it!
77 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2014
When bears are found dead in Norway, the students of the Volda University Thomas, Johanna and the cameraman Kalle decide to investigate.

They stalk the trailer of mysterious hunter Hans expecting to find an explanation for the killings.

The reluctant Hans tries to flee from the youngsters, but he agrees that they film him in action provided the follow his orders.

Sooner the trio of students learns that Hans is actually a troll hunter that works for a secret government agency.

Several dangerous trolls have escaped from their territory and Hans is assigned to eliminate them...

First off, I didn't think that this was a guy looking for every Blu Ray copy of one of the worst films ever made, and secondly I didn't think for one moment it would be as god as what it's been made out to be.

How wrong can I be? From the upstart, this film is probably the most fun 'found footage' movie mad since the first one, and for me, it's more entertaining than the Blair Witch, because the film isn't out to be the scariest movie ever, it wants to be the Spielberg of Found Footage, and almost manages it.

The cast are all having a ball here, and once we finally see what we have been wanting to see, it doesn't disappoint, and turns it into one of the greatest movie events of 2011.

It's as if the director ups the ante for the trolls each time we meet a new one, like a video game, they get that little bit more difficult as the film progresses.

There are sub-plots to do with rabies and the government, and a brilliant nod to the 'The three Billy Goats Gruff', but then there is the ending.

Once the crew venture into the little cabin, it all reminds me of 'Saving Private Ryan', the scene where we can hear the tanks coming for a while but not seeing them? They do exactly the same with this, but it's a Troll screaming. and every time the camera zooms out of the window, you look as far as the eye can see, and hope to see the giant Troll from a long way off.

The film doesn't disappoint, and you may even find yourself feeling a little empathy for the final Troll.

See the film, believe the hype.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2012
I'd have had more fun chewing on a rancid shank of Troll stench. This 'film' is abysmal truly missable.
Glad I only spent £3 renting it. If I'd payed to watch this at the cinema I would have topped myself in my chair in protest!
66 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2012
this film is the biggest pile of rubbish i had to endure watching total utter rubbish and not worth the money being charged for it and the conversion to english is terrible out of synch
55 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2012
Don't be put off by the first 10 or 15 minutes of this film, or the Cloverfield/Blair Witch "reality style" Steadicam presentation. This is actually a fascinating and absorbing story which gets its hooks into you, once the student (?) investigative reporters hook up with the eponymous "Troll Hunter". The special effects are excellent, the trolls being a combination of what you might remember from childhood fairy tales and real animals - without giving anything away they do save the best for last, utterly awesome.

The Blu-ray transfer shows off the stunning Norwegian landscapes in all their glory. The sound mix is there when it matters, though being presented in documentary style there is no music score to accompany the action.

The UK disc comes with a choice of Norwegian with English subtitles or English dubbed DTD HD Master. Unfortunately the dubbing is a bit poor in terms of synching and largely consists of American voices, a shame really the film was shot in Norwegian rather than English and given 95% of Norwegians speak English, they could have got the cast to do their own dub.

However thoroughly enjoyable and after watching the rental version, defimitely one to buy.
44 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2011
Just received this edition of Troll Hunter via Amazon as a Christmas present from my partner. She doesn't understand region encoding or locking and it wasn't obvious on the advert that it was a region A US only playback edition.

I'm not quite sure why anybody would want to purchase US Blu-ray discs as modified players are few and far between from what I can see.

Luckily I noticed before breaking the seal on the top of the box. Hopefully it can be returned as its pretty useless for my PS3 region B (UK) player.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)