Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2011
Without a doubt: Fantastic documentary including in-depth interviews with both Roger en Brian covering every possible angle of their career. Very much worth watching. However: don't be fooled with the description on this item (dvd-version) - it does NOT, repeat: NOT include all the extra's as mentioned here, sadly enough. I was quite upset & disappointed upon receiving the dvd. When watching, it only has the 7 bonus-videos and the last 3 titles of the extra's (Miracle, Innuendo, Made In Heaven). Very, very strange indeed .... I'm now thinking, I only bought half an item ..... because I know there's more out there. Upon investigating the release on the web, I discovered that the dvd is (only) 160 minutes and the blu-ray is 221 minutes, so I'm guessing that only the blu-ray has ALL the extra's as mentioned in the description. Still, disappointing when buying the dvd. ;-(
33 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
nice documentary, but what i dont like, its NOT COMPLETE, there are missing sequences, that was aired on tv, but NOT on the blu.
example: for the Freddie Tribute concert Brian talked about Axl and Eltons performance on stage, like he said, they had doubts that the two can function together on stage.you dont see axl on stage when he performe and later on Elton steps on the stage and they performe together and at the end they hold there hands and rises at the sky and Walking from stage, THATS COMPLETLY CUT OUT, i dont get it, because this small story is one of the funniest that Brian explained!!
but it is a good documentary buy it !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2017
Great dvd.Any Queen fan will love it.Came on time in good condition as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Great documentary about the band's and freddie's story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
If your a fan you will like this a lot packed with info
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
The Blu-ray gives you so much more that the regular DVD.Queen is one of the all time GREATEST Bands, and this Rockumentary really gives the viewer all of the insights into the band throughout there career. It's a must have for any QUEEN Fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
Days of our lives by Queen,is a must for all queen fans,it is a very good documentary about the worlds top group,some of the parts are dated now,but then again it has too be that way to tell the story of their lives and the sad demise of one of the greatest performers the world has ever seen Freddie!It does have some sadness in it towards the end,when Freddie announces that he is HIV positive and Roger and Brian show there sadness,still even after all these years,I always have found it hard to watch when things come up about Freddie and always end up with a lump in my throat and a tear in my eyes.Even in the show "WE WILL ROCK YOU"which i've seen many times,when they sing about only the good die young,they mention Buddy Holly and Freddie hairs go up on my neck and sorrow remains.
I would recommend this DVD to anyone that wants to know the true Queen as a group and individuals BRILLIANTLY put together.
Thank you
Graham R Croft
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Great DVD, I could watch it again and again. I would probably eventually get a bluray player to see all the extras that the bluray version supposedly has on it but to be honest what was on the standard DVD version was all material that I had not seen before and I thought it was great.

I don't know why people give it less than 5 stars just because of this. I highly recommend this DVD if you are a Queen and Freddie Mercury fan. Brilliant from start to finish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 January 2012
Queen 40 years, that was 2011, the reissues, the box sets, books and documentaries, all flooding the market.

Among them this little documentary gem, released in the UK (Mid January release date set for here in the US) on region free Blu ray disc.

There has been some consternation about the fact that the BD runs longer than the trimmed DVD release, and I can offer no insight. The BD has nice picture and sound, but is by no means stunning, most of the footage shown in the documentary is old and not restored, or upgraded to HD, so it's a good picture, not a stunning one.
The main feature is a two part documentary charting the beginnings of the band, through to their last live performance in 1986, and then what came next.
Most of the footage is narrated in interview style with Brian May, and Roger Taylor mostly. John Deacon (the bass player) seeming to have disappeared intentionally from the public eye, is not seen much, and the footage of Freddie is obviously old.

There is quite a bit of new footage, some unseen screen tests for videos, and the unseen live aid practice, all padded out with a chronology of hits, shows, ups and downs.
It was interesting to learn about some of the inner turmoil, the quiet solo attempts, not only from Freddie, but Brian and Roger also.
There are many interesting interviews with the likes of Paul Gambucinni, long time roadie Peter Hince, and their former manager, as well as news reports, clips covering the highs and the lows.
The immense crowds of South America, the mistake of Sun City, the long time break through to the USA, and so on.

The second part of the documentary deals with the high points, virtual split and then masterful reunion for Live Aid, and the massive '86 tour.
It also deals with Freddie's health, decline and ultimate end, and though delicately handled, it is sad and very bittersweet.

So 40 years? Well yes and no, 25 years since their last live concert as a complete band, and 20 years since the death of Freddie, yet here we are - still absorbed, still watching.
Arguably one of the greatest rock bands of the 20th century, certainly one, if not THE founders of "stadium" rock, who left an endearing legacy of great music.

Much of the the footage can be seen in other documentaries like Queen - Under Review - 1980-1991 and Queen - Under Review 1973-1980 but these are mostly the ramblings of other people. This BD has probably the most real input from the band, mostly Roger and Brian as already mentioned, but for any fan, or anyone who simply wants to know more about the band, it's certainly worth the money.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This has certainly been a long time coming. An official in depth history of Queen on a pristine new format. Wonderful. Except.....its the documentary already aired on BBC2 earlier this year. Which was great, dont get me wrong but a Queen blu ray is surely a chance to get absolutely everything out there. Even allowing for the extra hour or so on this blu edition there is still loads more out there.

I still fondly remember my copies of Queen 'The Magic Years' on VHS which was a staggeringly in depth look back on the bands career at the time of 'A Kind of Magic.' This was an extensive 3 volume set with everything the true Queen fan could want. This, for me, pales slightly in comparison, even to the memory of that creaky old set.

Its now almost 30 years since that VHS set and a lot has happened within Queen. The comeback album 'The Miracle', 'Innuendo', Freddies passing, the tribute concert, Made In Heaven, Paul Rogers?!@ and now we hear access has been granted for some of the songs done with Michael Jackson to be worked on. The Queen story is seemingly neverending!

So........a really great release.......but could have been soooooooo much more.
44 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)