Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
I can listen to this over and over. The Porcupine Tree sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Steve Wilson's first solo album after disbanding his superb band Porcupine Tree.
Very dark, menacing but superb musicianship, he really is a master of progressive music.
Please check out his other three solo albums and ten Porcupine Tree records as well, he hasn't released a bad album.
Stunning and highly recommended, a five star definite purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2009
I bought the limited edition version of this album in November, on the strength of being a big Porcupine Tree fan. I was not disappointed. I agree with nearly everything Fletch has said in his review, the only things I would add are that "Salvaging" and "Only Child" should be added to his list of stand out tracks. I would rate this album as Wilson's best work since Porcupine Tree's "In Abstentia", and I would say it is easily among the top 5 albums released this decade. Anyone who like Porcupine Tree, modern prog music, or wonderfully textured production should buy this album you won't regret it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
This solo release from the frontman of Porcupine Tree is everything you could expect and more. Unsettling and introspective, it's bleak soundscapes ooze out of your speakers and immerse you in Steven Wilson's dark world. It is a good place to be. From the first dischordant notes of 'Harmony Korine', through the throbbing dronework of 'Abandoner' to the final brooding notes of the title track this album is a coherent work of pure dark beauty.

It is as you can imagine from these descriptions not an especially heavy album, in fact it is much quieter than Steve Wilson's recent releases with Porcupine Tree. That is not to say that it doesn't occasionally have its moments of metal glory however; Gavin Harrison, Porcupine Tree's remarkable drummer joins his bandmate on most of the tracks and whilst he mainly provides a backing beat rather than taking centre stage, he does manage to pound out some double bass on 'No Twilight Within the Courts of the Sun' to rock up proceedings somewhat.

It is hard to pick standout tracks as the album is especially involving when listened to as a whole. Yet if pushed I would say that after the five or so listens I have given it, the best three tracks are:'Harmony Korine', 'Venemo Para Las Hadas', and 'Insurgentes'. Oh, but then I miss out, 'No Twilight Within the Courts of the Sun', and 'Get all you deserve'. In truth there is not a bad track on the album. At present I am restricted in that as the album has not yet had its physical release, I am relying only upon the free download of the album offered by Headphone Dust (SW own label) when you preorder the album from their website. I feel it will become even better when the actual CD and DVD-A arrive in the post and I get to listen in full 5.1 surround mix, a format Steve Wilson was nominated for a Grammy in last year for his work with Porcupine Tree, such is his consummate skill as a producer as well as a musician.

I would heartily recommend this album to any fan of Porcupine Tree, or any other of Steve Wilson's many side projects. It is like all of of his music in so many different bands, from the first note, unmistakably Steve Wilson. If you have not listened to any of his work before take the plunge and enter his dark world, possibly with this album, possibly with In Absentia by his main band: Porcupine Tree. But beware, once you start listening to him you will buy everything he has ever produced. It is inevitable.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 January 2009
This is the commercial release of the deluxe album Steven Wilson released at then end of 2008.
The albums is a CD and DVDA package as has become the custom with his releases recently. The music is dark absorbing and at times intense. The music is played by a host of Steven Wilson regulars and as you come to expect from Any Steven Wilson project the playing is tight and punchy. My favourite songs on the album are
'Harmony Korine', 'Abandoner', the epic 'No Twilight Within the Courts of the Sun', and the title track ' Insurgentes'.
The DVD contains a 48/24 5.1 MLP (DVDA) track for playing on a DVDA player and DTS 5.1 track for ordinary DVD players as well as stereo tracks for those who don't line surround music.
The surround mix itself is pretty spectacular not active but discrete and involving, without distracting the listener.

I still don't know how Steven Wilson finds the time to make music as good as he does as part of his many groups and this album contains hints of Blackfield, Porcupine Tree, No-Man Bass Communion.
Great album, plenty of what Steven Wilson does best only this time in his own name.

Highly recommended
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 October 2009
The wonderful thing about solo albums is that they're often made purely for the indulgence of the artist, which means it's less about selling records and more about creative freedom. That's exactly what you get here, Insurgentes is an album that sounds like someone has set out to make music using only one rule: do I like this, if so, let's use it. Consequently the record is full of all sorts of strange sounds and arrangements, and in my opinion they're rather brilliant! The melodies are of Steven's usual high standard, but what separates this album from most others is the actual sounds used to construct the songs, it's almost as if the music is a texture, like a landscape painting, and the songs themselves are painted over the top. I'm sounding quite pretentious now so I'll put it a different way, it's almost like film music in the way that it moves you simply because of the atmosphere it creates. There are all sorts of unexpected combinations of sounds that are blended expertly and that's what makes this album different to Porcupine Tree and Blackfield (Steven's 2 main band projects).

Be prepared for some slightly experimental production. The songs are still beautiful, but they're often shredded to bits with noise and distortion for example. To me this is a beautiful album with all kinds of crazy textures and unusual sounds which make it a 5 star record. I'd have to concede that to some, however, perhaps all the unusual noises might detract from the songs themselves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
This collection of songs falls under the rather unfortunate category of interesting rather than inspiring. It is almost as if Mr Wilson is seeking rather than finding a new direction. Perhaps, with the sweet sounds of the the two ensuing albums fresh in my ears, it is easy for hindsight to suggest this, but I do think even if I had not witnessed the emergence of a powerful new voice in Grace and Raven, I would still have heard Insurgentes as experimental; an album of moments rather than achievement. That said, Steven Wilson as experimentor still leaves a good many of the also rans far behind and suggests that this musician at least, is still far from done tinkering with music and sound, remaining courageously right at the front of the 'new prog' revival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
A singular work of poetic sensitivity. I wonder if Steven Wilson is familiar with Bela Tarr's Werckmeister Harmonies? Or is it an extraordinary coincidence? Listen to the title track and then the opening sequence of Werckmeister Harmonies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
This album contains some wonderful pieces of diverse music as he starts his journey recording under his own name. He retains his ability to write lovely ballads, such as the title track, “Only Child” and “Significant Other”, whilst expanding into heavier Crimson jazz rock influences on “Abandoner”, “No Twilight Within The Courts of the Sun”, “Salvaging” and “Get All You Deserve”, all of which are preceded by the anthemic opener “Harmony Korine” which is a favourite staple of his concerts to date. A sterling first solo effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£5.94
£6.79

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)