Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
97
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2011
This is a high quality recording from Decca and the Band of Her Majesty's Royal Marines. Over the years they have played their music in the service of their country. Their fabulous marching displays are well known. We see them on television. We all know they regularly put their instruments aside to serve in the field. At last these superb musicians are being seen up front on the commercial market.

The sensitivity with which they always play the simple hymn tune "Eternal Father" is their trademark. I am glad they have included it on the cd to accompany the moving King's speech, along with some of their great marches, notably "The Captain General."

The title track "Summon the Heroes" immediately does it for me, but there are so many other marvellous tracks as well. Try their new version of "Ashokan Farewell" or "Home Away from Home." The inclusion of the fine voice of Alfie Boe and the unexpectedly moving HMS Illustrious ship's choir at the end provide still more uplifting seasonal touches!

All in all a great cd - better still, proceeds go to Royal Marines charities.
22 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
What a cracking DVD this would make with their marching and countermarching. OK it's a CD but with the wealth of film and tape that must be available, how much more great it would be to see a full perfomance. The all too short trailer we were given with the CD shows just how great it would be! Maybe it's not a review of the actual product, but it does give me a platform to air my views, and a lot of people I know think the same.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
It's about time the Royal Marines Band released an album with a proper record company. This is a great album made up of some real classics.

We've all seen this Band on the TV before with their iconic white helmets and are probably guilty of taking their 'background music' for granted. Well, here they star in their own right and show us all what first class musicians they really are.

The Alfie Boe track (which was played live at the Festival of Remembrance at the Royal Albert Hall this year) is a definite highlight.

A real bargain and a great Christmas present at a very reasonable price!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
very prompt and efficient service. (next day would you believe). I heard a melody perchance on Classic FM, looked for it on their web site and was given the opportunity to order there and then! INCREDIBLE!!
I still listen to it often, it reminds me of my eighteenth birthday, during WW2, joining HMS St. Vincent Gosport and Sunday Divisions. Best damn thing I ever did!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Ah, the Marines band. No-one does it better. Their saying is, It's a state of mind. Well they should also say it's a state of brilliant musical talent. Carried out with exact precision they are masters of their trade. Not only that, they are amongst the elite of our armed forces. Amazing men doing an amazing job. Amazing music which makes you feel proud and inspired especially when listening with the volume on high.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
50% OF DIAMOND JUBILEE WAS MATERIAL PREVIOUSLY AVAILABLE ON OTHER ALBUMS. THIS IS WORSE WITH TWO REPEATS ON THE SAME ALBUM. THIS IS NOT A CRITIC OF HE QUALITY, PURELY THE CONTENT. ONLY 4 TRACKS WERE NEW TO ME. OVER THE HILLS WAS USED IN SHARP TV SERIES, GREAT TO TO HAVE A FILM SCORE INCLUDED. NIGHT AT THE MOVIES 2 OR 3, OR EVEN 4 LONG OVER DUE.
SEA SONG FANTASIA AND SAILING ARE IN THEMSELVES GOOD PIECES, BUT NOW NEED TO BE TIED UP ALONGSIDE, AS THEY ARE PAST THERE 'SAIL BY 'DATE.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
This CD was bought as a gift for Christmas for a friend who had specially requested it. They were extremely pleased with it as it had a very good mix of songs on it plus it is a way of contributing to the Help for Heroes Fund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
My Star Rating is down to the fact that I have 25+ CD's by the Marines, if I only had 1 or 2, it would have got 5Stars. This CD has a good selection of Music which shows off the multi talents of a Royal Marine Band and is ideal for the casual collector of Military Band CD's, but not a collector of Bands such as The Marines, as the Tracks on this CD are duplicated on their other Albums. In a comment about another review of this Album, I mentioned that the CD with the same name, by The Band of The Royal Marines School of Music, on their own label is better and can still be purchased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
Once again Amazon have come up with the goods on a very quick delivery turnaround basis. Looking forward to listening to the CD in the car on the way to work tomorrow. Some uplifting music to get through the fog! Recently saw the Royal Marines Band and expect this will be just as good as the live concert.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
This album is spectacular! Each brass instrument is played to perfection and, as if that isn't enough, the musical arrangements are original and utterly matchless. Congratulations to the wonderful team of musicians who put together this beautiful and fitting tribute to our brave and selfless armed services!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£4.89
£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)