Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.98+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2011
I bought these thinking they were the original CD masters. I'm a massive fan and I had given the original CD away when The re-mastered series started to unfold. Unfortunately, the re-mastered version of The Top didn't feel right for two reasons: Shake Dog Shake's start was slightly cut and Bananafishbones sped up. I was therefore hoping that these would be the original CD releases the way Rhino releases cheaply packaged albums of the old masters (thin sleeves, no booklets) after re-mastered work is released (original album series). These are in fact the 2004 - 2006 re-masters including 8 pages booklets with lyrics and pictures packed in very attractive gatefold LP-like sleeves and as such I was pleasantly surprised.

As for The Top, well, Bananafishbones is still OTT whilst Shake Dog Shake has been "fixed" with the sound of the drums starting naturally without the odd "cut". Amazing value.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
In response to the review by PM Clark/RE Clark (21 April 2012) "Killing an Arab" never was on the first album, "Three Imaginary Boys".
The first four albums IMHO are classics ( I'm not much into anything later by The Cure).
Five stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Bought this for my son's birthday who asked for one Cure album ,as i'm not familiar with their work this seemed to be the answer.My son was very pleased with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
This set of the first 5 proper albums (plus the Japanese Whispers compilation not included here) covers my favourite era of The Cure before the more upbeat Head on the Door album and ensuing commercial succes. A good price for such a great body of work that in the main was written and recorded at a time when Robert Smith was dealing with personal grief and demons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
5 remastered early Cure Albums in a bare bones box, no extra tracks but at this price it's great.

Good value for money and the music is great too!

Highly Recommended, superb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
brought it for my brother for Christmas present, he was over the moon with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Great stuff. Missed it first time round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
great albums nicely packaged
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
My son happily spent many hours listening to music and will continue to do so. He was delighted to get whole set all at once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Why (oh why) has "Killing an Arab" been excised from the first album? PC gone mad - clearly based on the Camus novel, which, of course, is still (rightly) freely available - neither song nor literary work are racist .. loses a star for this alone
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)