Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 April 2017
Very poor, could not read more than first quarter. The principle character is not just ruthless but is really selfish and unpleasant. As far as i reached the book appears to be nothing more than a feminist rant against primogeniture with periodic chunks of lady porn and a bit of incest thrown in to liven it up. Even free as a Times offer it was not value for money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I have read some of the author's books before but not this one. I found the story line interesting and compelling. I came to care what happened to the main character in this book. I will go on to read book 2 and book 3 in this trilogy. Interesting historic information about what happened in England with the landlords (owners) selling wheat in London and not locally. I recommend this book to anyone with an interest in history especially when English owners (landlords) became more interested in profits than their tenants.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
I loved Wideacre, It was so compelling, I just didn't want to put it down. I am so looking forward to reading The Favoured Child which is the second book of the series but I am making myself save it for a holiday.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
I only gave this one star because I couldn't give it none. Very disappointing after reading her later works. I couldn't enjoy reading this at all and don't want to read the rest of the trilogy. The main characters are disturbing with incest sado-masochism and murder in a plot which was unrealistic, surely no one could be so easily hoodwinked
Wondering why they decided to promote this
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I've read lots of Philippa Gregory's historical works, and so I thought I knew what I was getting. I realise this was her first novel, and therefore, might not measure up to her later works. However, I found some of the scenes describing the main character's sexual exploits distasteful; there being 'far too much information' which didn't add to the progression of the story, but simply seemed to be there for titillation. Gave it up as a bad job. Will stick to her later works from now on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
I sometimes find the story repetitive and long. It obviously describe an obsession and they effect it has on everybody's life. However there are times when I skip whole paragraphs...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Having read about 20-25%, it hadn't even grabbed attention and was 'put down' for good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Appalling. From the first page when a 3 yr old child described in great detail the plants and trees on her estate (really?) I thought this book tiresome. the incessant shagging, murder and incest only cemented my view that the main character was completely hideous. I'm a third of the way through and will skip read the rest just out of interest to see how much worse it can get. Can't believe this is the same author as The Other Boleyn Girl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
After reading her later excellent historical novels, I found this much inferior. Yes, she writes well, but after reading on and off for several days and not finding any incentive to read on, I found I had only read 31 per cent, and gave up. It's just a bodice-ripper, basically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
I think her mother should have been alive when she turned up back at Wideacre. I got bored about a third of the way through, even though I loved the other books. It all seems a bit of a mish mash! What bugs me most is that they keep saying Celia was her mother and she wasn't! I wanted her to know her real parentage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse